TanyaG
Member Since 2016
Hi all so Tinka has been on insulin (Lantus 2 weeks now), we reduced her to 0.5u twice daily as she came off steroids and her BG was dropping quite low early in the cycle when dosing both am and pm and other days we were struggling to get in 0.75u twice daily without skipping her am shoot as she was quite low. Coming off the steroids I think made it a bit inconsisten but I think that should be out of her system now as we stopped them on 12th Dec? She's been on the 0.5u twice daily for 6 days now and we have only seen a green value once and blue's only 4 times. The rest of her values are mostly yellows and then purples. She has improved a lot in behaviour though, she's eating well, putting on some weight as she lost a lot of weight, still has neuropathy though, not drinking much water, but more social and playing a bit, but still sleeping quite a lot and struggling with atopic dermatitis.
My concern is one we are not seeing much of a pattern or any consistency? Some days she seems to be reaching lower numbers at +6, other days they are high on those days. Can anyone tell me if there is a pattern or what her nadir is? On the 27th Dec and tonight after her PMPS her numbers are just going up since shooting and we even shot a lower number than most days this evening. I wrote fur shot? on the the 27th Dec however my husband believes he did not fur shot then or tonight. Tonight was 9 mmol/L or 162 at PMPS and she's just going up since then and is now 351 at +4 which is really high for her. My husband says he's sure he did not do a fur shot as he knows he got it in and didn't retract when shooting. Could we be doing something wrong with shooting? Isn't it strange to have values increase that much after insulin. We are struggling with air bubbles often and have watched one of the videos and following it but we still get air bubbles in our syringe, our vial doesn't contain any air, its pretty air tight. We always do our very best to remove the air bubbles by extracting more insulin to begin then flicking the syringe and trying to push out the air bubbles with some of the extra liquid. Sometimes I use three syringes though and have to throw out the insulin because I can't remove all the airbubbles without loosing too much of the required insulin so then I to throw it out and start with a new syringe again so I don't contaminate the vial. This is costly and a waste of time but I don't know how to improve this. Im wondering is it normal to see a BG go from 162 before shooting to 351 +4 hours later? Should we increase her dose to 0.75 going forward to get some better values? I am following TR method. I test min 4 times a day, often more if needed and she is fed only LC food and currently just one brand and protein type. Thank you!
My concern is one we are not seeing much of a pattern or any consistency? Some days she seems to be reaching lower numbers at +6, other days they are high on those days. Can anyone tell me if there is a pattern or what her nadir is? On the 27th Dec and tonight after her PMPS her numbers are just going up since shooting and we even shot a lower number than most days this evening. I wrote fur shot? on the the 27th Dec however my husband believes he did not fur shot then or tonight. Tonight was 9 mmol/L or 162 at PMPS and she's just going up since then and is now 351 at +4 which is really high for her. My husband says he's sure he did not do a fur shot as he knows he got it in and didn't retract when shooting. Could we be doing something wrong with shooting? Isn't it strange to have values increase that much after insulin. We are struggling with air bubbles often and have watched one of the videos and following it but we still get air bubbles in our syringe, our vial doesn't contain any air, its pretty air tight. We always do our very best to remove the air bubbles by extracting more insulin to begin then flicking the syringe and trying to push out the air bubbles with some of the extra liquid. Sometimes I use three syringes though and have to throw out the insulin because I can't remove all the airbubbles without loosing too much of the required insulin so then I to throw it out and start with a new syringe again so I don't contaminate the vial. This is costly and a waste of time but I don't know how to improve this. Im wondering is it normal to see a BG go from 162 before shooting to 351 +4 hours later? Should we increase her dose to 0.75 going forward to get some better values? I am following TR method. I test min 4 times a day, often more if needed and she is fed only LC food and currently just one brand and protein type. Thank you!
