2/12 Mikey PMPS 521 +2 285 What is this??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...27-10-522-pmps-378-3-211.132989/#post-1370805

I had da best cycle evah today! After mommy went to bed last night, I came down, so I was a the perfect number to make her wonder if she should shoot. She did, 'cause she said she wants me to stay on track. So I stayed on track, 'cause I a verrry good kitteh. She camed home to test me at +4, even dough she knew she didn't relly hab times, so I came down to 49! Den just for funs, I decided I don't like HC fud anymore. She put honey in my LC, but I only had a little, 'cause I wasn't dat hungry. I don't usually eat at +4, ya know. So she put some honey on a dish and started scooping it in my mouth, which was pretty gross. So I stuck my fluffy tail in it! She had to call school and have someone take her class, and they were not happy with her. But that's ok, because she was super happy with me. She kept calling me all these words I've never heard before. She sounded kind of mad, but I'm pretty sure she was telling me how proud she is of me and what a great job I'm doing. She left lots of fuds for me, and I very considerately spread dem all over the hardwood floor. You know how much she enjoys cleaning! I knows she be a little tired of green, so I went up to black for some variety. You sees what a good, considerate kitteh I am!!!!! I am available for lessons too!

Just shoot me.
 
It must be the day for it - Rosa just threw me a 40 too after starting out in the 300's this morning. She and Mikey need to stop taking lessons from each other!!
 
In other news, Mikey's liver seems to be working in tip-top shape!!

Sounds like you've had one heck of a stressful day Mary....One nice thing about that bounce....maybe you will be able to have a few adult beverages and get some sleep tonight!
 
Oh dear, What an awful day for you Mary but Mikey tells it so well I am in fits of laughter. The neighbours must think I've gone (more) nuts cackling away to myself out here.

I'm wondering whether Mikey might be better off taking a shave rather than the full .25 reduction this time but don't take my word for it. If you think it might be a good idea post for some other views.

Hey Mikey I heared sum of dem words before and dey is not what u think! Way to make da bean stay home wif you though I think I sign myself up for sum of your classes, in exchange I teaches you dem words - Vyktor
 
Oh dear, What an awful day for you Mary but Mikey tells it so well I am in fits of laughter. The neighbours must think I've gone (more) nuts cackling away to myself out here.

I'm wondering whether Mikey might be better off taking a shave rather than the full .25 reduction this time but don't take my word for it. If you think it might be a good idea post for some other views.

Hey Mikey I heared sum of dem words before and dey is not what u think! Way to make da bean stay home wif you though I think I sign myself up for sum of your classes, in exchange I teaches you dem words - Vyktor

I'm not even sure if I'm going to reduce at all. If I can make it through tomorrow morning, I'm off for a week, so doing the 3 times below 50 thing might be doable, although he cut it awfully close to under 40. What does everyone think? Also, what the heck is this bounce and dive tonight??? He's down like 250 from PS to +2. I am speechless and confused.

It's a deal, Vyktor! I teach you everything I know, and you teach me the words! This is going to be great. I will be able to tell my mommy what I think of her care of me with those words! She will be so proud of me. Oh and I decided to be considerate and remember that she hates to be bored. So I giveded her a nice pretty yellow. Can't decide what color to do next. Pink or blue. Or green. Or back to black. Or red. Decisions, decision. She will be so happy, I'm sure.
 
Wow is all I have to say! It's a good thing that you live close enough to go home I assume on your lunch break. I don't know what I would do if I was still teaching. Now Mikey, be kind to your mama.
 
Looks like he's clearing the bounce already!

I would definitely take some reduction. He's still a newly diagnosed kitty (less than 12 months) and that 40 was as close as you can get to a reduction for a long term diabetic. I think the 3 times under 50 may usually be for long term diabetics too, although I can't find anything that says so right now. Don't forget that the TR protocol is already an aggressive protocol so you don't want to be even more aggressive, safety first :) If you edit your subject line to request dose advice we will see what others think. They may think that I'm too aggressive in suggesting the shave!

You will luv my vocabularary Mikey I will even teach you sum words your mommy hasn't heared before so you can give her de suprizes, Ize an expert in dis area ;)
 
I did start the three times under 50 with Max but only after over six months of not holding reductions. It is not the norm. I would not do it in your case as Mikey has only been on insulin for four months. That is just my opinion and I defer the the pros.
 
I'm about to give Gracie her insulin and then I'll check in and see if I can put my "very wise" ;););) (thank you, Serryn!) noggin to use.
 
hehe i might have thoughts, but i think i'll wait til marje puts her wise noggin to use and see what she says first. ;):smuggrin:

crazy day for you mary. Mikey did crack me up with his wonderful storytelling skills! i especially liked the addition of the fluffy tail and the food all over the floor . . . punkin had a primo fluffy tail and fortunately it didn't get into mucky things most of the time. He was mighty proud of his tail. Fluffy = majestic, only not if there are "things" stuck in it!:woot:
 
Here goes my two cents worth of noggin and I'll be anxious to hear Julie's cuz we haven't had a chance to discuss it.

First, I think the reason he "might" have gone so high and is coming back down is possibly big insulin poop out (BIPO). When you see numbers go up that high that fast, it's usually a duration issue especially if they come right back down. Guaranteed? Nope. But that's just what it looks like to me. Why would he do that you ask? Maybe all the honey really worked against his insulin dose today. Speculation but I like it ;)

  • three times between 40 and 50 is aggressive; no doubt. We usually save it for those who fail reductions. Mikey has "kind of" a history of that.
  • if you had been home, I bet you would have caught the drop and fed it; usually I'm big on "what you see is what you get" and not "what you would have gotten if you'd been home is what you get" but Mikey is just starting to look good and you did catch him before he hit below 40. If he hit below 40, I'd be 100% for a reduction.
  • you are now home on vacation and you test a lot and monitor him.
  • he's starting to look better on this dose.
I think if your nerves can take it, I'd try to leave him at this dose a bit longer but really focus on catching those drops before they happen since you will be home and try to keep the lows a little higher.

Having said that, if you or others think he should be reduced, that works for me, too. I just know how difficult he has been to regulate and I'm thinking if we can get him in some nicer numbers for longer times, maybe that pancreas will start to work.

Julie...you're up :):):):):bighug:
 
hehe i'm glad you went first. ;):woot:

my 2 cents worth - when he gets into green, he only spends a very, very short time there. I, too, would hold him at this dose for a little bit longer in the hopes that he might stay in greens a little longer so his pancreas can heal. The very best cycle he's had on insulin was at 0.75u on 1/27. When you reduced him to 0.5u he lost all his good numbers.

I could be persuaded to shave the dose, but i wouldn't reduce by 0.25u for fear of a repeat of 1/28.

However, the reason i'm saying I'd hold the dose is specific to Mikey, not to any other cat. Another factor is that you said you'll be home and able to monitor him and you are awesome at doing that.

But you're the person there, Mary, so as always, it's up to you.
 
You will luv my vocabularary Mikey I will even teach you sum words your mommy hasn't heared before so you can give her de suprizes, Ize an expert in dis area ;)

Fank you soo much, Vyktor. I just know I make mommy extra proud wif my new words! And I help you wif your diving and bouncing. I help you get lots of pretty colors so you can have a rainbow car like mine. Your mommy will be so proud of you too!
 
Thanks for all the input wise Marje and wise Julie! I agree that it's best to hold the dose. That said, tomorrow I have to leave early for work, won't be able to come home at all during the day, and may not be home until preshot, so if he's at all low, I'm not going to shoot at all. I just can't risk him going low when no one is around. Safety first, right! Whatever happens tomorrow morning, I'll pick back up with .75 tomorrow night, and hold that for as long as I can. I feel like if we want him to have an chance for remission, we need to get more green/low blue numbers than he gets at any lower dose. I also think more time at those numbers is our only hope for reigning in Mr. Liver and his bouncing show. Of course if along the way he decided to hit the 30's or go repeatedly into the 40's, we'll reevaluate. If there's anything anyone wants to correct or add, but do so! Yes, I'm his human, but you have all the experience this human lacks! Let me also say, thank you so much for sticking with me through this. It's been rough and I couldn't be doing it without you.

One other thing I want to add here: If you are a new member or are uncertain about what to do with your cat, DO NOT follow the methods being used with Mikey. We have a boatload of data on Mikey and we know that he is a very sensitive cat who has no respect for way things are usually done. Please post a condo and get advice that fits
ts your individual cat.
 
And this is why I defer to the pros. I do use this method with Max and have since he was on insulin for about 5-6 months for similar reasons. It is not for the faint of heart or anyone that doesn't test a lot and is home a lot to see what is happening. It did help flatten my guy out until the darn dental.
 
Let me also say, thank you so much for sticking with me through this. It's been rough and I couldn't be doing it without you.

No matter how long we've been doing this, none of us could do it without each other and this board.....IMHO.

One other thing I want to add here: If you are a new member or are uncertain about what to do with your cat, DO NOT follow the methods being used with Mikey. We have a boatload of data on Mikey and we know that he is a very sensitive cat who has no respect for way things are usually done. Please post a condo and get advice that fits your individual cat.

Wise words, indeed.

Ok, Mikey....no stunts tomorrow! Then you can be be :D:D:D when momma is home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top