2/12 Willows pmps 241bg

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi James I can understand your frustration - it looks like she was recently having nice numbers then the yellow and pink started. I can so relate. Looking at your previous threads, did the "marks" on her CXR look like pneumonitis or did they think it was asthma? Not knowing her history well, but it sounds like she should not be on tuna (it is a big no no for Murphy as well)
 
Hi James I can understand your frustration - it looks like she was recently having nice numbers then the yellow and pink started. I can so relate. Looking at your previous threads, did the "marks" on her CXR look like pneumonitis or did they think it was asthma? Not knowing her history well, but it sounds like she should not be on tuna (it is a big no no for Murphy as well)
Good morning great questions
The x-ray showed she either has an infection or something long-term effect like asthma going on.
This could be caused by an allergic reaction, has asthma or some sort of infection. The antibiotics was to take care of the infection.
Willow was doing great we had reduced her from 2iu to 1 iu twice a day within a 5 day period.
Her coughing I just gotten way too bad, I took her back into the vets again and this is when we decided to change your food. As a result of changing her food you can clearly see her numbers went off the chart.
So I'm back to trying to figure out the correct amount of insulin for the food she's eating. It appears Willow is allergic to tuna and or fish.
Some of the other members like you posted saying their cat was allergic to tonight as well. Go figure right ?
 
So I'm back to trying to figure out the correct amount of insulin for the food she's eating.
That is a quest that eludes so many of us
Several of us have had the Immune IQ test done - click on the hyperlink to Murphy's Immune IQ in the signature line and you can see what kind of information you get. I'm not sure of the scientific validity - but I've had luck trying to eliminate the foods in the red column, and I know @Doodles & Karen has had great luck as well. Something to think about or others might chime in
 
Willow has had 6 different doses in 5 days which will cause wonky numbers. Some of the dose changes have been in .5u increments while here we only change doses in .25u increments. She saw green in 1u which was held the longest. Then there is a few 1.5u doses, a 1.25u dose, 1u, 1.5u again and yesterday you went to 1.75u. There is reason to believe her numbers are a result of the dosing and not the food she's eating.

I'd encourage you to drop her back down to either 1.25 and hold that dose for a good 6 cycles. If she doesn't see green then bring her up to the 1.5u dose. I feel bringing her to 1.75u in 5 days of the longer term 1u dose is at risk for too much insulin and certainly the risk of missing a good dose for her.
 
I agree with Karen. It's best to stick with a dose for 6 cycles to see how she reacts to it. Then you'll know if it's the food or the dose.
 
Willow has had 6 different doses in 5 days which will cause wonky numbers. Some of the dose changes have been in .5u increments while here we only change doses in .25u increments. She saw green in 1u which was held the longest. Then there is a few 1.5u doses, a 1.25u dose, 1u, 1.5u again and yesterday you went to 1.75u. There is reason to believe her numbers are a result of the dosing and not the food she's eating.

I'd encourage you to drop her back down to either 1.25 and hold that dose for a good 6 cycles. If she doesn't see green then bring her up to the 1.5u dose. I feel bringing her to 1.75u in 5 days of the longer term 1u dose is at risk for too much insulin and certainly the risk of missing a good dose for her.

Hi

I understand your concern, did you read my food notes? We have been switching her food a few different kinds over the past week due to her coughing for the past few months. We have her on antibiotics.
We had her on BFF tuna, was advised by the vet to try a different food, tried the Science diet and that sent her into high red danger numbers, risking keystones.
We then tried Nulo and that was still too high of carb. We ended up back on fancy feast tuna. The fancy feast fish food was our food to bring her numbers up when she dropped too low.
The fancy feast turkey acts like MC on Willow and if you looked through all of my notes you would see this. Since willows cough came back we pulled the fancy feast tuna because it seems that she is allergic to it. We put her on fancy feast turkey and this is MC. Since we pulled the tuna she stopped coughing.

The reason she was in the blue on the 10th was due to the other cats eating all of her food.
With Willow when her numbers are above 200bg she is always hungry and this becomes a cycle that has to be broken.

Once she gets back into blue numbers she will stop eating as much food and we will be back to doing reductions. I know this cat better then anyone. Tonight her pmps +3 was less than her shot number, this could be a problem during the night to where I have set my alarm to wake up and check her during the night.
Again I completely understand your concerns however since we have no ideal about her current curve I need to figure this out and it is a process.
 
I understand what you're wanting to do and yes, food will contribute to high numbers. She's your cat and of course you know her best. However when it comes to the dosing in the last 5 days you're risking and overdose...too much insulin. It takes at least 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill to see what the dose will do. So the blues and greens back on 1/30 and on 2/2 were because other cats ate her food? She did need an increase from that 1u just not 6 different doses in 7 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top