2/14 Bert PMPS 330 Dosecrease 1.75 +2 361 +6 360

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kathy, Feb 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kathy

    Kathy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
  2. Kathy

    Kathy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370

    I am at a loss with this cat confused_cat
    Yesterday was a good day for Bert and now this.
    He is acting thirsty this morning too. :sad:

    I am frustrated as we do not seem to be making any progress in regulating him.
    Does he need another increase?
    Does Lantus not work for Bert?
    Should I take him for another vet visit?

    I think I am doing all the right things, but he is still yo yoing....
     
  3. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370

    good morning Kathy!

    thirsty is the norm at the beginning, this will pass.
    when ur uncertain of the current dose, just add something like "Dose Q's" to ur first subject line(the title line)
    we'll get some eyes to look over your spreadsheet today ok?


    You are doing everything right! cat_pet_icon
     
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370**Dose Q**

    Seeing pinks can indeed be frustrating! Although, I don't think I'd call Bert's numbers "yo yoing." My impression is that Bert may need a dose increase. He's been at this dose for a while now and despite his efforts to give youa tiny bit of blue and some yellow, he's still mostly in the pink numbers. Let's see what some of the others have to say about increasing the dose for tonight.

    When you have a chance, could you create a Profile? The profile will give us background about Bert -- his medical history, what you're feeding him, etc. Otherwise, we will end up asking you those questions on a fairly regular basis.
     
  5. Kathy

    Kathy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370**Dose Q**

    I have tried to make a profile and I can never get the code that is suppose to pop up confused_cat
     
  6. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370 + 4 381 **Dose Q**

    kathy, it looks like there's plenty of room to increase the dose to 1.75 unit based on the tight regulation protocol most of us use.

    "Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose)."
    (link in my signature)

    just a suggestion... post on the Tech Forum for help with your profile. there are some pretty savvy folks over there who will be happy to help.
     
  7. Kathy

    Kathy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370 + 4 381 **Feeding Q**

    OK...I had to run out and get groceries or my family would disown me :lol:

    A question that has been rumbling around in my head.
    I am not sure if I am working against the lantus with our feeding schedule.
    I give him about 1/2(of a 5.5) can in the morning with his shot.
    I then feed about1/4 of a FF mid morning and mid afternoon.
    He gets 1/2 can(5.5) at PM shoot time.
    then if he is acting hungry he may get 1/4 can of FF before bed.

    I just wonder if this is the best thing for Bert?

    He at least has a 5 to 6 oz. of food a day.

    i am going to look into the timed feeders also.
     
  8. Kathy

    Kathy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370 + 4 381 **Feeding Q**

    OK...I had to run out and get groceries or my family would disown me :lol:
    I am going to get a BG at +10.

    A question that has been rumbling around in my head.
    I am not sure if I am working against the lantus with our feeding schedule.
    I give him about 1/2(of a 5.5) can in the morning with his shot.
    I then feed about1/4 of a FF mid morning and mid afternoon.
    He gets 1/2 can(5.5) at PM shoot time.
    then if he is acting hungry he may get 1/4 can of FF before bed.

    I just wonder if this is the best thing for Bert?

    He at least has a 5 to 6 oz. of food a day.

    i am going to look into the timed feeders also.
     
  9. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/14 Bert AMPS 350 +2 370 + 4 381 **Dose Q**


    Kathy - good luck with the dosecrease for Bert. Hope you get some lower numbers for baby Bert :mrgreen:
     
  10. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page