2/17 Edward AMPS-288, 84@+6, 80@+7.75

SnowKat

Active Member
Yesterday

Oh, Mr. Ed, what is your pancreas doing? It's been two nights in a row where he appears to have nadired above 200. Makes me a little sad.

Tonight will be our 10th cycle at .75u. I wonder if we should hold steady for a little longer? Or maybe think about increasing a wee bit to .875u or 1u? He has had some greens, and he's had some pinks. If I do increase, maybe it would be wise to wait till Thursday when I can monitor him closely over a 3 day weekend. Just thinking out loud...

Hope you all have a great day!
 
It can take six cycles to resolve a bounce. Today is cycle 5 after the last greens so lets see if he finds greens by tomorrow morning. Those earlier greens on this dose could have been influenced by the 1.0 unit depot. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Anyway, if you don't see green before tomorrow, you can increase back to 1.0 units by TR. The greens he saw on 1.0 units wouldn't have earned a reduction if you had been following TR then.
 
Ooh, nice... I love seeing a nice green nadir. Hopefully he doesn't bounce yet again. Steady as he goes...
 
I wish it was easier for me to get +5s and +7s during the work week, but I am kind of "sneaking out" for that +6, and I don't want to press my luck and end up not even able to do that much :( I will, however, be able to grab a +7.5-ish. Thankfully, he free feeds and grazes all day, so I think he'll be OK even if he drops a bit lower.

My work schedule (as flexible as it is, there is 1 person here who would make my life hell if he knew that I was running home multiple times a day) is another reason that I think that I should reserve any possible dose increases until I can monitor more often over a weekend.
 
On the bright side, I just want to note that Edward is acting more and more like his old self! He hasn't been this spry, playful, active, and mobile in AT LEAST a year. Before his diagnosis, he was barely walking... taking a few steps, then laying down wherever he happened to be. He was quite weak in the hind legs - not walking on hocks, thankfully, but he had trouble with jumping. He had stopped sleeping in bed with us. He protested being picked up. No playing. Since starting the insulin and Zobaline (only 32 days ago?? Feels like years!), all those symptoms have pretty much resolved themselves.

EDITED TO ADD: I just wish I'd put together all those clues earlier. I wish I could have caught this awful disease a year or two ago. It's all so clear in hindsight, but at the time I just thought he was getting "lazy" in his old age :(
 
Last edited:
@Christie & Maverick some people get Presidents Day off today too.

Piling into talk about nadirs, Neko’s nadir was reliably between +3.5 and +13 when she was on Lantus. :p Later in bounce breaking cycles or if she was getting good duration, earlier if she was thinking about a reduction.

Kat - it’s awesome news you are seeing the old Edward back so soon. That makes all this so worthwhile. :)
 
Edward is acting more and more like his old self! He hasn't been this spry, playful, active, and mobile in AT LEAST a year.

It IS amazing what a little insulin can do for these kids isn't it??? And don't blame yourself for not noticing as the changes are gradual and they don't have a way of telling you they're feeling off.

Just be so glad that you're treating him! And that you found this group of wise ones who can help and support you and Edward on this journey.

Have a great evening!
 
Back
Top