2/18 Noodle AMPS 432 +3.25 318 +3.5 331 PMPS 402 +3 270 +5 218 +6 195

Status
Not open for further replies.
Come on Noodle - slide on down a bit. At least into yellow! Yellow's much prettier than pink or red.
 
I wish she would! My patience is wearing thin. I have a long work day tomorrow, so I can't do it in the morning, but I'm tempted to try another dosecrease during her Thursday PM cycle if these high numbers stick.
 
I'm not sure - hopefully someone else can give an opinion. I think it's meant to be at least 6 cycles between increases but at this point it might be more important that you're around to monitor than it is to wait an extra cycle. I agree though - those high numbers after the greens when she was coming down fast must be very frustrating!
 
Yeah,Thursday PM would be a cycle I'm able to monitor and the 6th post-increase. Friday gets tricky with work again. I'll probably have to skip or shoot late Friday PM. I'm just so frustrated and discouraged right now. I feel like I'm screwing up every time I have to make a call to skip because of work. Clearly, we missed a good dose in her big dive and I so wish she could get back on track. I'm testing whenever I can and she's getting mad at me, but I feel like I'm failing her whenever someone says "well, you don't have much data..." or points out I've had to skip doses :( It's hard to do this completely on my own. /vent.

At least she's testing negative for ketones and seems much better physically: affectionate, jumping, and playing, etc. Not much excessive peeing either, just very hungry. Fingers crossed my vent is a moot point and I come home to a blue PMPS.
 
You can't do everything all the time, especially on your own. I'm lucky - I've got hubby here as backup and for help when I need it which makes it a little easier for there to be someone about when it's needed. Not everyone can rely on someone else to help like that. The important thing is you're doing the best you can - it's not as if you can just not go to work or only do part of your job. And having to skip the odd dose or shoot late because of work isn't screwing up - it's being busy and keeping Noodle safe when you can't monitor all day. She'll get back on track and you're doing the best you can to get her there as quickly as you can, but more importantly safely. I can't imagine how I'd manage on my own - it was difficult enough for me to do that just for a week and that was when Rosa was in high numbers so didn't need huge amounts of monitoring.

And it's not all entirely about numbers - a cat is more than a set of numbers on a spreadsheet. If she's feeling better in herself, then that's a very positive sign. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you that she manages a nice slide into blue by tonight. :bighug:
 
Aghhh, PMPS 402

Maybe she will finally slide down tonight?? It will be the 4th cycle of her dosecrease. Any others have thoughts on increasing at cycle 6 tomorrow night if we don't see a break?

@manxcat419 Thanks for the kind words, April. I thought those dive cycles were bad, these high numbers are so much more demoralizing!
 
Looks to me as though she is coming down slightly overall - just very slowly. Maybe she does need a touch more insulin to get her back on track. If she could just give you a few blue numbers I'm sure you'd feel much better about the whole thing. I'm sure I'll be just as frustrated if Rosa starts going back up - it's not easy when they look like they're doing so well and then it just doesn't work the same any more.
 
I would wait the 6 cycles before increasing. You're seeing some cycles where the nadir is in the 200s which merits a full 6 cycles at this dose.

By any chance, do you have a friend or is there a vet tech or cat sitter who could give a shot for you?
 
@Sienne and Gabby One vet tech at her vet mentioned she has "clients," but at our first training on insulin she seemed to brush off the idea of home testing when I brought it up. I have a roommate, but she's BRAND new (less than a week!) and not great with needles, don't feel comfortable asking her yet. I have one friend who may be able to try, I just don't have many chances to show how before Friday night. Noodle is also not the best with new people... I feel like I just made a whole lot of excuses! I'm also scared to trust someone else to do it.

Also: When I was putting away her insulin, I noticed an air bubble in my Lantus pen. Is there any way that could make the insulin bad? There have been a few teeny tiny bubbles for the past week or so, but this one was bigger and floats around when I turn the pen over. Googling it, plenty of human diabetics use pens with air bubbles, but I've noticed on here people are much less likely to assume the insulin is ok still. Thoughts?
 
Noodle & I are studying her spreadsheet. She's learning what greens are and why she should go back to them. :D
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 43
You can't do better than your best Patricia :bighug: and you probably couldn't afford to treat her without work so there's a trade off that has to be made there. I know how hard it is doing it by yourself. I was very blessed that my work situation gave me flexibility

A late shot is always going to be better than no shot but then you have the issue of getting back on schedule. I was reading in Gadget's condo today that Dr Pierson (who we all have a lot of respect for around here) advised Deborah to give a reduced shot at the regular time following a late shot on one occasion. Sorry I don't have more detail than that - except Deborah said it seemed to work well. If this is going to be a regular issue for you perhaps it's something worth considering.

Perhaps @Sienne and Gabby will have some comment on the idea upon her return.
 
What a great picture. That expression sorta says, "I don't know mama; I'm trying."

And she is. And so are you. That's all we can do, you know. Oh sure, high numbers are demoralizing. Egads, I know that first hand! And I remember how hard this dance was when Polly and I started back in April. And how I felt everything was my fault.

It wasn't. And it wasn't Polly's fault. It just was. All we could do was keep plugging along. And that's what we did. Followed the protocol as well as we could; sought advice from the experienced people here, and kept plugging along.

FD isn't linear. It's terribly unpredictable at the beginning. Sometimes it seems we're just throwing spaghetti at the wall and waiting for some of it to stick. Then some of it sticks and we get so excited. 'Til that lonely little strand starts sliding off the wall and we have to start throwing spaghetti again.

Yes, it is hard to manage this disease alone. I know that, too. But I'm lucky. My work takes me out of the house only about 5-6 hours a day. Sleep is something I come by when I can. Several others here manage their cat's diabetes on their own, too. Yup, makes it harder in many ways. But it can be done.

Again, all we can do is the best we can.

Bring your questions here. Vent your frustrations here. We have your back. We want to help.

Lots of hugs. I so remember how it was. More hugs.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks, everyone :bighug:

It's just been a rough day. With her being high and lots of things coming up soon, I took a look at my calendar and am just feeling quite overwhelmed. I'll bookmark this condo and reread everything when I'm feeling like this again.

@Vyktors Mum I'm definitely interested in Dr. Pierson's recommendation of a reduced shot on schedule after a late shot, I'll take a look at that condo and delve into it more. Thanks.
 
+3 - 270, Feels like shes *this close* to coming down into better numbers. FWIW, this is the lowest shes been at +3 in days. Good sign?
 
I'd have said so - all improvements in numbers are good. And it looks like she generally nadirs a bit later than +3 - she might come down a bit further yet :)
 
Go Noodle!! :D At this rate, you'll be able to join Rosa in the blue zone as she starts coming back up if you keep sliding down gently :D
 
Well done Noodle!! :D :D :D And well done to you too Patricia for hanging in there and waiting for her numbers to improve! :D :bighug:
 
Patricia

I know this seems so difficult starting out with numbers so high. Doing it alone is definitely hard. Heck, Mike and I have been doing this dance with Gracie together and it was still stressful when we started out. Our moods reflected her numbers. If she was high, we were both down in the dumps. If she was green, we were ecstatic. If she was low, we were both :nailbiting::nailbiting:. I don't know at what point we started relaxing a bit in the way the numbers controlled our emotions.

Glad to see Noodle coming down! :cool::cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top