2/18 Stormy AMPS 140 +1 169 +2 111 +3 150 +12 111

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning. I won't be around to help you, as I am West Coast and just heading to bed (don't ask :p). But I think, if you can monitor and have supplies, you should go for it. There will be others coming online if you need help - just holler. I recommend you start with a +1 and +2, just to get a feel for where she is headed. I hope you get a good cycle today with lots of healing numbers!

BTW, have you decided whether you are following TR or SLGS? It's helpful if you put that in your signature block, as the guidance may be different, depending on which you are following.
 
So I went ahead and shot because I didn't want to get too off schedule. So the next question is: I wanted to do a curve today anyway. Will testing every 2-3 hours be enough when monitoring for a hypo episode?
 
Since it's the lowest you have shot, start by getting a +1 and a +2. It will give you an idea where the cycle is headed and if you might need to steer with food. The earlier you catch it the easier it is to steer. Please keep the title updated and change it to AMPS 140 etc. I'm around for a most of the morning to help.
 
It depends on the numbers you are getting. Start with a +1 and a +2 test today to see how the cycle is playing out, since it is the lowest BG you've given insulin.
 
I think I probably got a fur shot :facepalm: I could smell insulin on her when I did her BG test and is has risen to 169. I'll keep watch just to be safe though.
 
169 is just a food spike. See what the +2 is and go from there. A tiny drop on the fur can smell so certainly don't count on a FS. Also, often times when you shoot lower they stay lower and just surf.
Good to know! I would love to see her surf. Yesterday was the first day in a month that we've been anywhere close to a flat cycle.
 
She's making great progress! Before yesterday there were many skipped shots and hardly any mid cycle tests so I wouldn't expect to see flat/good cycles.
Yes, the vet had us doing once a day instead of twice a day so we were only doing PM shots for a while but then her numbers would head back up after 18 hours. This is our first week back on twice a day and again we started seeing PMBG too low to shoot. So I was really excited with yesterday's progress and did not want to mess that up by skipping this AM!
 
She's 150 @ +3. she's a bit of a grazer with her food. She likes to eat in small snacks throughout the day so I think that keeps her numbers fluctuating. I noticed she was eating one of those snacks in the last hour.
 
That's fine she grazes but you do want to pick her food up 2 hours prior to shot time so her bg is not food influenced. Think you're good to test at +5
 
Ok, back in a quandary! 111 at PMBG (fasting). It's been just short of 12 hours since her morning shot. I started to feed but took the food up to ask what I should do...skip, delay or shoot?
 
It's 105 -- no way we can shoot tonight :( No matter what we do it seems like twice a day just doesn't work for her! So frustrating...
 
Last edited:
Just a maintenance thing. When you get a question answered it's best to take the ? Mark down this way if you have a question later in the day like today others might notice quicker
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top