2/19 Buzzy AMPS 139 = 1U; +1 178; PMPS 88; 87; 95; 102 = 1U; +1 123; +2 106; +4 106 - NEW LOW SHOOT

toomanycats

Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-18-buzzy-amps-208-1u-pmps-152-1u-2-182.225827/

Planning to hang back for a +1 today before work. And it's our first day using the auto feeder lol.

So, pre-emptive question: Assuming Buzzy's numbers remain about where they're at the last couple of days, it looks like we'll be due an increase. My hope is to plan increases around when I am home, of course.

I'm not home today/tomorrow (or yesterday) to capture a nadir - should I be planning to keep him at 1u on Friday when I CAN catch a nadir...or should I be planning to increase to 1.25u on Friday or even Thursday night?

I will be home Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday to catch nadirs.
 
For me personally, I like to wait until I'm going to be home to do an increase. Buzzy's numbers aren't bad - it might not take much to give him the little nudge he needs to get to the lagoon (green) and when he does you'll want to be there to supervise his surfing. I'd do the increase Friday morning unless you think you can get up a couple of times on Thursday night to see if the increase hits quickly - it's based on how full the depot is - which since we don't have a little gauge on the side of our kitties - somewhat difficult to determine.

He is looking much better these days overall! Great job you two!!
 
When you increase depends on which dosing method you're using. Could you make a note in your signature regarding whether you're following TR or SLGS?

With TR, because you're seeing those lovely blue numbers, you would be holding the dose for 5 days/10 cycles. With SLGS, you would hold the 1.0u for a week. Either way, it would be the PM cycle on 2/21 at the earliest (i.e., if you're following TR) that you would be increasing.
 
When you increase depends on which dosing method you're using. Could you make a note in your signature regarding whether you're following TR or SLGS?

With TR, because you're seeing those lovely blue numbers, you would be holding the dose for 5 days/10 cycles. With SLGS, you would hold the 1.0u for a week. Either way, it would be the PM cycle on 2/21 at the earliest (i.e., if you're following TR) that you would be increasing.

Added :)
I'm doing TR, which is why I mentioned Thursday evening as Thursday AM will be the 10th cycle of the 1u dose. I'm doing TR "to the best of my ability," though - given that I work in an office Tuesday, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, I am NOT comfortable increasing his dose when I will not be around to test. There are 2 cycles per week when I am NOT able to get 2 tests in (Tuesday daytime & Thursday daytime; I've modified my schedule to grab a +1 on Wednesdays).

So, @Sienne and Gabby (GA), would you suggest Thursday evening or Friday morning as a 0.25u increase point?

We have little historical data to show how quickly he responds to new doses other than when I increased from 0.75 to 1, he did not respond immediately, so it's possible he would show no response Thursday night. Regardless, though, I'd expect (although who knows with cats/bodies) to start seeing nadirs below 100 for the first time with this increase, which would mean holding for at least 10 cycles --- point being, given my schedule, I would not be able to adjust up (if necessary) again for a full week. So kinda 6 in one, half dozen in the other really I guess.

Worth noting that he is a 12.something pound cat, so he is currently still below TR's typical "starting dose." We started at a lower dose because we started with SLGS & only moved to TR this week.
 
Hey y'all
Buzzy's PMPS is lower than anticipated at 88.
We're stalling - he did have about 1/3tsp food as a treat or he'd kill me.
I know the drill - test again in 15 min - just posting the bat signal for help at that time
 
Thanks. I'm also looking at the sticky. I can be kinda flexible if need be, so still just on the stall train
 
He's at a 95 now
It is nerve-wracking so I cannot give advice; since I am still trying to figure out TR. I shot Zoot! at 84 last night - but he has relatively flat curves; we are at 75 at +10.5 and I am planning to do the full dose (1.5 units Lantus). wish me luck and I hope you get an answer soon.
 
I shot full dose but also gave him 1T MC food with his normal LC...I hope that was the right call...guess I'm staying up late
 
I'm keeping the question mark on this bc I could reeeealllly use someone to sit by me this evening as I've no idea if I did the right thing at all.

I do have all supplies. I'm just scared.
 
I'm keeping the question mark on this bc I could reeeealllly use someone to sit by me this evening as I've no idea if I did the right thing at all.

I do have all supplies. I'm just scared.
Don't be scared. While I am not an expert, I will be around, I am shooting low so will be testing a lot. What I have been told is to test at +1 and +2 (so for you +2 and +3) to get an idea of where Buzzy might be heading this evening. @carfurby is sometimes on and I don't know what i would have done without her when I am nervous. Hoping someone does respond - they must be really busy tonight. Hang in there!
 
Sorry I missed the tag, I was on the road. Glad he was moving up a bit when you shot, hopefully that means he'll stay out of trouble tonight! Very shootable numbers, but since it's lower than you've shot before, I'm glad you'll be able to monitor tonight to see exactly what he gets up to.

Congratulations on your first green pre-shot!!!!!
 
I mean I'm still going to test at +1 it's just that +1 is now 6:52 heh....
Trying to breathe. He was 102, so we WERE in the blue before I shot & rising (though he had had 1tsp of LC food)...it's just still a 30-point decrease from my last lowest shoot.
But I have all the things...
 
Sorry....I had an appointment to talk to hospice about signing my mom up and just got back.

Will try to keep an eye on you too!

Congratulations for shooting your first green!! You've earned our special BOS award!!
Balls of Steel fist.png
 

Attachments

  • Balls of Steel fist.png
    Balls of Steel fist.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 96
Last edited:
so sorry @Chris & China (GA) I know that is a really tough time in life

I'm not planning on her going anywhere just yet....she's been "graduated" off hospice twice before for not declining fast enough (no money to be made on patients that refuse to die quickly)

But she is 90, with 18% of her heart working, in stage 4 kidney failure and has alzheimers/dementia so realistically, I know it's coming
 
Looks like he might be on the up-swing from your tests...with only a tsp. of LC - it's not too likely that that increase is food influenced.

However, if his depot is full you may need to be extra vigilant tonight - and you're lucky to have @Chris & China (GA) - she's a late-night gal whereas I'm all done by 7:30 or 8 p.m. and need to remove myself from this screen - since it's all I stare at all day for work...

I hope Buzzy will be good and surf like a good boy tonight! No shark chasing now Buzzy! Be good for your mama!!
 
I'm not planning on her going anywhere just yet....she's been "graduated" off hospice twice before for not declining fast enough (no money to be made on patients that refuse to die quickly)

But she is 90, with 18% of her heart working, in stage 4 kidney failure and has alzheimers/dementia so realistically, I know it's coming

That's frustrating that they won't help longer term.
I wish I had help to offer - I was on my grandmother's home hospice team til she passed from cancer & am hoping to become a hospice volunteer when my kids are older - I consider it a very very important part of life that is so often overlooked.
 
Looks like he might be on the up-swing from your tests...with only a tsp. of LC - it's not too likely that that increase is food influenced.

However, if his depot is full you may need to be extra vigilant tonight - and you're lucky to have @Chris & China (GA) - she's a late-night gal whereas I'm all done by 7:30 or 8 p.m. and need to remove myself from this screen - since it's all I stare at all day for work...

I hope Buzzy will be good and surf like a good boy tonight! No shark chasing now Buzzy! Be good for your mama!!

yeah good thing I slept last night :rolleyes:
 
Looks like a nice little rise after his PMPS...could be a little food bump...and it could just be he's rising...the Lantus may help him back down to the lagoon in a little while...

Have a great evening you two!
 
Looks like a nice little rise after his PMPS...could be a little food bump...and it could just be he's rising...the Lantus may help him back down to the lagoon in a little while...

Have a great evening you two!

He typically rises at +1 & sometimes even +2, so thus the smile lol - "things are going as expected." I'd be scared if he was going lower already.
He did get a good tsp of LC food at the +1 and he will keep getting food as I test to prevent him murdering me in my sleep ...(oh wait...what sleep)
 
Last edited:
He typically rises at +1 & sometimes even +2, so thus the smile lol - "things are going as expected." I'd be scared if he was going lower already.
He did get a good tsp of LC food at the +1 and he will keep getting food as I test to prevent him murdering me in my sleep ...(oh wait...what sleep)
Hi Looks like things are a bit calmer for you! Yay! I am glad that the real knowledgeable folks chimed in. I ended up stalling too - he was 52 at PMPS! recheck 20 min later was 74 and I shot a reduced dose, so I may be hanging around all night with a spoon of LC in one hand and a little honey in the other ;).

Have a peaceful rest of the night with Buzzy!
 
Hi Looks like things are a bit calmer for you! Yay! I am glad that the real knowledgeable folks chimed in. I ended up stalling too - he was 52 at PMPS! recheck 20 min later was 74 and I shot a reduced dose, so I may be hanging around all night with a spoon of LC in one hand and a little honey in the other ;).

Have a peaceful rest of the night with Buzzy!

I'm so scared of when we start hitting those numbers!
Good luck to you! I'll be here right alongside you with absolutely zero advice lol
 
Back
Top