2/21 Silver +9=286 AMPS 227 PMPS 199

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not a huge bounce though, so that's nice. Good job keeping Silver safe. :cat:
Thanks. Not sure how I’m going to function at work today. Crawled out of bed two hours after the last test.
 
Last edited:
That's not a bad bounce after the 50. I hope Silver will clear it today. Hopefully your day goes by fast.
Hope so. I reduced dose last night. Will that take six cycles to see effect or should I see that sooner? How will I know if failed reduction?
 
Each cat is different on how quickly you see results from a dose change. If he clears the bounce and doesn't get back to green, you probably have a failed reduction. Some cats start to clear a bounce and go back up and then come back down. Furball does that sometimes. I'd give it a couple of days to see what he does. You should have an idea by the weekend.
 
Each cat is different on how quickly you see results from a dose change. If he clears the bounce and doesn't get back to green, you probably have a failed reduction. Some cats start to clear a bounce and go back up and then come back down. Furball does that sometimes. I'd give it a couple of days to see what he does. You should have an idea by the weekend.
I hope he holds it. Want to start going down the dosing ladder. Stinks that he is blue during day and green preshots tho. Would rather it was other way around.
 
Thanks. He better not be low tonight. I’m almost walking into doors am so tired. Not good for a bookkeeper doing year end financials!

Eep! I hope you get some more rest soon. I think he just may be green again tonight, he seems to be quick at the bounce clearing. :facepalm:
 
Eep! I hope you get some more rest soon. I think he just may be green again tonight, he seems to be quick at the bounce clearing. :facepalm:
Still bouncing but just made it to blues. Think this momma bean might make the PMPS the before bed test too as I’m heading there right after grabbing dinner. Zzzzz. Think he is safe for this cycle.
 
I see Silver is shaking things up around here.:cool:

I just caught up with yesterdays condo and have some comments.
We’re all here to support each other and we’re in it for the kitties. Do what you can do, take the advice for what it’s worth, keep what you like and toss what you don’t, but know that anything people take the time to offer or suggest is coming from a good place and we all just want to help.
Truth.
My goal is remission not even green all day.
If its in the cards, healing must come first.
The concern for me is if he should switch things up and decide to be a normal cat who comes down after preshot in a normal curve. Then we are in trouble. If he keeps doing what he is doing then an increase is safe. But what if he doesn’t .....?
Healing brings change. What is normal now was likely not 3 weeks ago. Count on him to switch things up.
Juliet:
With regard to the PM cycle on 2/20, I suspect that the 50 at PMPS may have been when numbers were on the rise. Unfortunately, when we have to work in order to afford strips, there's no way to know just how low numbers go when we're not home. As others suggested, what you saw may have been a bounce.
I agree.
The other possibility was that Silver happened to have a late nadir. It can help to remember that while a cat's nadir may routinely be at a particular time, it may not always be at that time. Gabby's nadir was typically at around +3 -- except when it wasn't. Our kitties tend to like to keep us guessing!
Truth
Actually his preshot is his lowest. I already know this. He won’t have gone lower than 50.
Your comment quoted below suggests 50 was a surprise-
This is a scary low and lowest I have ever seen (even when he was in remission).
whats to say he didn't go lower?
The only reason I can’t do TR is because I can’t get a daytime test in during the working week.
Have you read the sticky on TR with a full time job?
Well read it again.

When I look at your ss, the area I see currently as in need of having some light shed on it is the bottom half of the PM cycles. Most all of us had no PM+10 or PM+11 data, until we came to a point on our journey when it became clear that without it safe forward progress was not possible.

A few +10s and +11s, both PM and AM, placed strategically will help determine if Silver is indeed a very late nadir kitty right now. You need to know, for sure, because if he is, you will have to learn to shoot low. However the only way to safely do so is to have enough recent data, no older than 2 weeks back, to support it.

You have to figure out how to make that happen. Otherwise you will continue to be frustrated.
I don’t have high carb in the house.
Get thee to the store and stock up!
When we are in a pinch, you'll have people here to help.
Truth.
It may seem like folks are not paying attention but we are.

When the student is ready the teacher(s) will (once again) appear. :cool:

 
I see Silver is shaking things up around here.:cool:

I just caught up with yesterdays condo and have some comments.
Truth.
If its in the cards, healing must come first.
Healing brings change. What is normal now was likely not 3 weeks ago. Count on him to switch things up.
I agree.Truth
Your comment quoted below suggests 50 was a surprise-whats to say he didn't go lower?Have you read the sticky on TR with a full time job?
Well read it again.

When I look at your ss, the area I see currently as in need of having some light shed on it is the bottom half of the PM cycles. Most all of us had no PM+10 or PM+11 data, until we came to a point on our journey when it became clear that without it safe forward progress was not possible.

A few +10s and +11s, both PM and AM, placed strategically will help determine if Silver is indeed a very late nadir kitty right now. You need to know, for sure, because if he is, you will have to learn to shoot low. However the only way to safely do so is to have enough recent data, no older than 2 weeks back, to support it.

You have to figure out how to make that happen. Otherwise you will continue to be frustrated.
Get thee to the store and stock up!
Truth.
It may seem like folks are not paying attention but we are.

When the student is ready the teacher(s) will (once again) appear. :cool:

I already responded to this but you deleted your post. You clearly do not know anything about Silver as this shows. If you did you would know that there is a very valid reason why TR is not possible for me. You would know I already shoot as low as SLGS allows. You would know there is also a very valid reason I cannot set alarms for the middle of the night to get +10 and + 11 readings and, I am out the house immediately after AMPS and not back until PMPS on daytime cycles so +10 and +11 is impossible except on Saturdays and even then, not possible on the pm cycle. You have the nerve to say I am not ready to be taught. Well not by people who have not taken the time to understand. Commenting “Truth” to other people’s comments is not in the least bit helpful. I find your comment irrelevant, uninformed and unhelpful. I will listen to those who have taken the time to understand Silver’s and my situation and offer relevant, helpful advice. You are not one of them.
 
Last edited:
Juliet:

Next to one of the moderators (Jill & Alex), Sandy is probably the person who's been here the longest and has exceptional experience when it comes to managing a cat with insulin resistance. I'm probably the next most experienced person here.

None of us are on the board full time. We're all volunteers. Like yourself, I work a full time (and that means more than 40 hrs/week) job and did so throughout Gabby's lifetime. In addition, none of us can mind read nor, speaking only for myself, do I remember the unique circumstances of every member's life. This is why we ask that if there are issues peculiar to you, that it's noted in your signature or on Silver's SS. (Signature is better, though.) So if you're gone for the 12 hrs between shot times, it's helpful to know that. Although, I do find it curious that on the one hand you note that, "...I cannot set alarms for the middle of the night to get +10 and + 11 readings..." yet you were able to get a PM +9 test on 2/20. No one is suggesting that you do this every night. However, given the manner in which Silver's cycles are playing out, it's looking like he's dropping during the PM cycle (i.e., the later nadir as I previously suggested or a bounce may be breaking) resulting in a lower AMPS. The only way to know why the AMPS is lower than expected would be to grab a test later in the PM cycle. If you don't feel the need to have that information, that's up to you. You do, however, risk shooting a dropping number.

I would also point out that you have observed that there aren't a large number of members who will stop by and offer any input. I would suggest you step back and read through some of your comments. If you take an aggressive stance with those of us who do take the time to read your condo and study Silver's SS, fewer people will risk commenting because they don't want to be the subject of your wrath. All of us are attempting to help. You may not like what you're hearing. There may be a miscommunication although I would not attribute this to your not speaking US English. (We manage to communicate with people from all over the world including those members for whom English is not their native language.) Calling comments "irrelevant, uninformed, and unhelpful" is probably the best way to insure that an experienced member will not drop by again as there are many other people who are more generous with their comments even if they disagree. It may also scare new members away. You may feel exactly the way you noted but there is likely a better way to express your frustration.

That's my 2 cents. I've probably ticked you off. If you choose to explode in my direction, that's fine. I'd rather you give my comments due consideration since it's really all about Silver. That's who we're here to help. If you keep alienating experienced people, you will likely be even more frustrated.
 
Juliet:

Next to one of the moderators (Jill & Alex), Sandy is probably the person who's been here the longest and has exceptional experience when it comes to managing a cat with insulin resistance. I'm probably the next most experienced person here.

None of us are on the board full time. We're all volunteers. Like yourself, I work a full time (and that means more than 40 hrs/week) job and did so throughout Gabby's lifetime. In addition, none of us can mind read nor, speaking only for myself, do I remember the unique circumstances of every member's life. This is why we ask that if there are issues peculiar to you, that it's noted in your signature or on Silver's SS. (Signature is better, though.) So if you're gone for the 12 hrs between shot times, it's helpful to know that. Although, I do find it curious that on the one hand you note that, "...I cannot set alarms for the middle of the night to get +10 and + 11 readings..." yet you were able to get a PM +9 test on 2/20. No one is suggesting that you do this every night. However, given the manner in which Silver's cycles are playing out, it's looking like he's dropping during the PM cycle (i.e., the later nadir as I previously suggested or a bounce may be breaking) resulting in a lower AMPS. The only way to know why the AMPS is lower than expected would be to grab a test later in the PM cycle. If you don't feel the need to have that information, that's up to you. You do, however, risk shooting a dropping number.

I would also point out that you have observed that there aren't a large number of members who will stop by and offer any input. I would suggest you step back and read through some of your comments. If you take an aggressive stance with those of us who do take the time to read your condo and study Silver's SS, fewer people will risk commenting because they don't want to be the subject of your wrath. All of us are attempting to help. You may not like what you're hearing. There may be a miscommunication although I would not attribute this to your not speaking US English. (We manage to communicate with people from all over the world including those members for whom English is not their native language.) Calling comments "irrelevant, uninformed, and unhelpful" is probably the best way to insure that an experienced member will not drop by again as there are many other people who are more generous with their comments even if they disagree. It may also scare new members away. You may feel exactly the way you noted but there is likely a better way to express your frustration.

That's my 2 cents. I've probably ticked you off. If you choose to explode in my direction, that's fine. I'd rather you give my comments due consideration since it's really all about Silver. That's who we're here to help. If you keep alienating experienced people, you will likely be even more frustrated.
I have already explained countless times why I cannot get late nadir tests. The ONLY reason I got one the other night is because I had a bad night and did not sleep. It has take me two days to recover so it’s not a case of “not feeling the need” but not being possible. My stance is not aggressive but neither will I act grateful for silly suggestions. I am not going to read anymore comments in this condo. Rules state not to comment in previous day’s posts. I will respect and heed advice given in a kindly non aggressive manner and only those.

Such as I receive from @PussCatPrince @Stacy & Asia and @carfurby

You say I am aggressive? Re-read some of your posts to me. Being here the longest means nothing to me. Newbies seem to have more grace.
 
Last edited:
Time out!
I feel the frustration on both sides of these issues, but a few things are begging to be said here.

Juliet has certainly been very clear about any limitations she may have when treating Silver. These circumstances are unique to her and have to be considered when offering advice. I'm not sure why it's necessary to re-hash the subject over and over again... unless, of course, one is new to Silver's threads. If that's the case, asking the same questions is understandable. No harm. No foul.

Juliet, if there's anything you take away from this experience, it's my hope you understand all suggestions offered to you come with the very best intentions. Sometimes advice may sound short or terse. The tone could be misinterpreted or it could simply be coming from a person who's not a hearts and flowery type person like me... I've always been matter of fact & to the point... and there's plenty more like me around. And then there's those who could wallpaper a room with the most gorgeous verbal hearts and flowers you could imagine. The trick is to cut to the chase. Ignore the tone and look to the meat of the advice. Is it good for Sliver? Will it work for you? Take what works, smile, and ignore the rest.

A comment about following the TR Protocol... there are requisites (taken directly from the TR sticky):

REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

  • Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
  • Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
    More monitoring may be needed.
  • It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
  • Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
  • Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
  • Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
  • Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
  • Feed small meals throughout the day. Although, some kitties will adapt well to free feeding.
I'm unclear why anyone is encouraging the use of the TR Protocol in this case given Juliet's unique circumstances. For reasons previously given, she's unable to satisfy the requisites I've emphasized in bold print even if she'd like to follow the TR Protocol. Under the current circumstances, following TR and/or encouraging shooting on lower and lower preshot numbers could prove harmful.

We have a pretty cool and to the point document that was written many years ago by Janet & Binky (GA): Suggestions for Advice Givers. It was written specifically for advice givers, but much of it can also benefit the person looking for advice. Please, everyone, take a minute or two to read the document whether you've read it before or not. Actually, it's a good read even for those who have been around for what seems like forever.


My comments today are simply food for thought. As such, I'm closing this thread to further comments.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top