2/22/15 Mikey PMPS 254,, +3 143, +3.5 115 +4 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-21-mikey-pmps-516-3-292.133522/#post-1376660

Can anyone tell me why Mikey's had 3 mainly yellow cycles with high PSs on a dose that took him to the 30's? I feel like I should increase, but that's not possible until next weekend. I will be lucky to get any AM tests in this week, other than PS.

I'll post some pics of the loom and scarf soon. I only have a small ridged heddle loom at this point. I'd love to have a bigger one. And a floor loom. Or two floor looms. And a studio to put them in. And a yarn stash that's bigger than Webs. :)
 
Hi Mary,

That is my problem I don't have a studio to put all the equipment I want. I am even getting rid of my LadyBug Spinning Wheel because it just takes up too much space.

Thought you might want a little distraction this evening, so here is a video of me reorganizing my yarn stash.

 
Insulin needs change, or maybe Mikey just thought you were bored with rainbows ;)

I see you found de new way to confound da bean Mikey, you so good at dis, you be makin all de kittehs proud as well as your mommy!
 
Oh Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!!

You is driving your bean crazy you know?

We wouldn't increase yet anyway Mary....when they start getting blues, we usually hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles. The only reasons I can think of are 1. the last time he'd been on .75 for 15 cycles before getting the 37, so it's possible the depot "got ahead of him" then and after more doses at .75 this time, he may do the same. 2. insulin needs change all the time...just because a particular dose did "X" before, doesn't mean it won't do "Y" this time. 3. Mikey is a cat and the "Cat Handbook" has "Never be predictable" as one of it's core rules...LOL

Are you using the vial or pen? While 4 months isn't overly long, you might want to consider a new one and see if it makes any difference.
 
The good news is that he's not diving into crazy low numbers. just trying to add some perspective.

He's got 7 cycles at this dose and it's only getting him into the high 100's. I'd probably give him 8 cycles total, then increase.
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
I don't think he's "new to numbers under 200" although he does bounce from them, he's clearing the bounces fairly quickly. So . . . i think i would increase as soon as you feel like it's safe to do so, according to your life/schedule.
 
OK, at this point, I need a plan for the week. This is going to be a very busy week at school. It's Spiritual Emphasis Week, so we have a team in town to do special chapel services. That means I may lose a lot of my prep time. I also have the dreaded morning duty, so I have to get to school early each day. There are several days that I may not make it home until +11 or even PS. Just for a topper, Mikey has a vet appointment Thursday at 4:30. Since shot time is 5:30, there's a pretty good chance we'll be shooting a bit late that day, so we'll have adjust his morning shot time to make up for it. So here's the plan:

1. We hold the dose steady (unless he goes too low) and reevaluate on Friday. If we're not seeing decent numbers by then, we increase.

2. Since we're still using our original vial of Lantus from October, I'm going to ask the vet to write a script for pens and order them from Mark's. That will take longer, but money is an issue, so we'll have to deal.

3. The purpose of this vet apt. is actually to see if Mikey needs a dental. If the vet feels he needs one, we'll schedule it ASAP. If his bw isn't current, and I don't think it is, we'll also check his thyroid, if the cost is not prohibitive. The other possible number-messer-upper that Julie mentioned is p'titis, but I don't intend to pursue that, as he's feeling and acting way too health for that. I have to add that there had better NOT be a sn*wst*rm this week that messes this up.

It also occurs to me that stress could be an issue in the numbers we're seeing. Since Mikey doesn't do vet stress, we have no way of knowing how he responds to stress. I do know that he had a stressful experience yesterday, because he had a matt on his leg, which I had to take out. He HATES that and gets very upset about it.

So, do we have a plan?
 
I think those are all good ideas. I'm not an expert on cats and blood sugar responses to stress - punkin didn't show any stress in his blood sugar, but i know some cats do. Jill documented Alex's blood sugar at vet appoints and it would soar with each appointment. You could look at her ss to see how long it lasts. I'm not sure if a matt would induce the same kind of stress as a vet visit - might be one of those ECID things.
 
That's a borderline length of time on the Lantus. I know a few people who've used it a full 6 months, but there are also folks who think it doesn't last nearly that long. Pens are a good idea for Mikey.

Most of the time vets can't really see much in the mouth of a cat until they are under anesthesia. Like Marje just found with gracie - thought her mouth was fine and found a tooth hanging by a thread at the back of her mouth. If only kitties would say "AHHHH" for us! If there is any sign at all of anything, any red spots on the gum, any tartar build-up, anything, then there is likely much more when the vet has a chance to really look under anesthetic.
 
I think those are all good ideas. I'm not an expert on cats and blood sugar responses to stress - punkin didn't show any stress in his blood sugar, but i know some cats do. Jill documented Alex's blood sugar at vet appoints and it would soar with each appointment. You could look at her ss to see how long it lasts. I'm not sure if a matt would induce the same kind of stress as a vet visit - might be one of those ECID things.

In Mikey's world a matt is far more stressful than a vet visit. When he had those two curves run, the vet had to wake him up to tell him it was time to go home. He was flopped half in half out of his bed. It was hysterical. On the other paw, matts are THE END OF THE WORLD!!!!!!!
 
the way to know if it increases his BGs is to test him before, then immediately after working on a matt. That will tell you if it bothers mikey's blood sugar or not.
 
That's a borderline length of time on the Lantus. I know a few people who've used it a full 6 months, but there are also folks who think it doesn't last nearly that long. Pens are a good idea for Mikey.

Most of the time vets can't really see much in the mouth of a cat until they are under anesthesia. Like Marje just found with gracie - thought her mouth was fine and found a tooth hanging by a thread at the back of her mouth. If only kitties would say "AHHHH" for us! If there is any sign at all of anything, any red spots on the gum, any tartar build-up, anything, then there is likely much more when the vet has a chance to really look under anesthetic.

I've been wondering about Mikey's lantus, since we've been using it since Oct. The vet has only found that people get three months from a vial. I think it's wise to get the ball rolling on getting some fresh pens. Of course I'll need help learning how to draw down the insulin from the pen to the syringe, but I'm sure I can get that help here.
 
Insulin needs change, or maybe Mikey just thought you were bored with rainbows ;)

I see you found de new way to confound da bean Mikey, you so good at dis, you be makin all de kittehs proud as well as your mommy!

Yep, Vyktor, I am da king of confound. I make mommy proud. I make all the kittehs proud. I can teach the kittehs to make their own bean proud. I still have lesson times available . Just let me know!
 
It's in the video on the sticky about how to take care of your insulin. I used both a pen and a vial. There can be some negative pressure in new pens, so you don't want to let it suck the insulin back in from the syringe.
 
Hi Mary,

That is my problem I don't have a studio to put all the equipment I want. I am even getting rid of my LadyBug Spinning Wheel because it just takes up too much space.

Thought you might want a little distraction this evening, so here is a video of me reorganizing my yarn stash.


I'm now drooling all over myself at all that yarn! I'd like to roll in it lol. I added you to my friends over at ravelry. Give me a heads up if you seen anything cool over there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top