2-23-18 Jones AMPS 216 +4 76 , +8 135 PMPS 209

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Ok, yesterday as he was flat during the day I thought he would drop last night. Got home from my work event and was shocked at the PMPS #. Of course with all the eating he was up at the +3. Figured maybe DH gave too much treats with his meds and shot, maybe gave the wrong ones. This morning though, he is still yellow.

I would call it a bounce but from where? Nothing else has changed except I started a new pen yesterday. It is not cloudy or any floaties. It has come from the same box as the last pen.


In other news, his sister Missy is recovering from the metacam incident. She has started to eat her regular food again and doing her regular routines again. I think another couple of days and she will be back to normal. We just need to set up the water fountain again.

His other Civvie sister who is CKD has decided she doesn't want to eat her wet food. She mistakenly got some of Jones' Friskies and now she will not eat any other wet. I even tried mixing a tiny lit bit into her regular food - nope no go. So will be searching this weekend for some new low phos foods. She will not touch the KD wet or the Fowl Bowl.

And on the bean's agenda - going for the first round of getting my crown replaced. I am going to hate paying for that!
 
Last edited:
I think Jones needed to go back to the .75u dose. Those tiny increases rarely do the trick unless you're just tweeking the dose. When Jones was on the tiny doses it worked pretty good but his needs have changed.

Cats and their food drives me crazy and hope you can get her back on CKD appropriate food. Glad to hear Missy is recovering and good luck with the fountain:)
 
Thanks Karen, I was thinking the same on the dose but I didn't want to jump the gun. So putting it out there to see what every one thinks.
 
You haven't seen any green for a while. It does look like Jones needs more juice. I'm glad Missy is doing better. I hope you can find some food his other sister will eat. Good luck at the dentist.
 
Thanks Carla.

Ok, so now I get this low number..actually DH did on his way out to the dentist. No one is home at the moment. Jones does have food but man...that drop is going to trigger a bounce.

So, I used a different pen today just to see. Can a pen just be defective?
 
Of course he would pop a green right when you talked of an increase! :rolleyes:

And Yikes on the metacam incident. I am out of the loop but so glad that she is recovering. And boo on the other kitty not wanting her low P fuds anymore. Maybe tomorrow will be a better day with that.
 
Now we are at yellow...which is not a surprise with that decent to green this morning. Think it will take a few days to see if it was the pen or not. Of course I had them separated then DH put them together. So I marked the bottom of the one I think is bad. Guess we will see if I picked the right pen.
 
Yesterday

Ok, yesterday as he was flat during the day I thought he would drop last night. Got home from my work event and was shocked at the PMPS #. Of course with all the eating he was up at the +3. Figured maybe DH gave too much treats with his meds and shot, maybe gave the wrong ones. This morning though, he is still yellow.

I would call it a bounce but from where? Nothing else has changed except I started a new pen yesterday. It is not cloudy or any floaties. It has come from the same box as the last pen.


In other news, his sister Missy is recovering from the metacam incident. She has started to eat her regular food again and doing her regular routines again. I think another couple of days and she will be back to normal. We just need to set up the water fountain again.

His other Civvie sister who is CKD has decided she doesn't want to eat her wet food. She mistakenly got some of Jones' Friskies and now she will not eat any other wet. I even tried mixing a tiny lit bit into her regular food - nope no go. So will be searching this weekend for some new low phos foods. She will not touch the KD wet or the Fowl Bowl.

And on the bean's agenda - going for the first round of getting my crown replaced. I am going to hate paying for that!

Hey,

is it a good idea for diabetic cats to have a water fountain? I've been looking at a few reviews of them https://www.tuxedo-cat.co.uk/water-fountains/ but I also read that if your cat is drinking a lot it is probably because their sugars are poorly controlled so maybe it is better to invest time in getting their sugars under control rather than spending money on a fountain.

Anyone got any thoughts, are water fountains a good idea for diabetic cats?
 
@Daniel Richardson

I have a water fountain as I also have a CKD kitty and I want to ensure she drinks enough. I have found running water does encourage her to drink. I also mix water into her food, but she doesn't like it too runny.

As for Jones, who is diabetic, he drinks out of a glass on top of the coffee table. That is the only time he drinks is if water is in glass. I have found that it is good indicator on how his body is doing. More water and more pee means his body is still coping with high glucose levels.

The two civvies - I don't see them drink much at all, from any of the bowls laid out, the water fountain or the glass.

All the cats get wet food only except for the CKD kitty who has dry food as sometimes that is all she will eat. That does provide moisture.

An uncontrolled cat needs the water to help flush out the excess glucose, it is a natural coping mechanism. And fluids are one way to help prevent Keytones and DKA (outside of not enough insulin and possible infection/inflammation) .

My thought is that water is important component to their overall health. That said if budget is tight, I would concentrate on getting the supplies and set up home testing first to get those numbers under control.

You may want to put your question out there on the health forum. More eyes will get on it and you can get direct responses that are not buried in a thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top