Zipdrive
Member Since 2017
I have finally gotten to the point where I can test Simone's BG without sticking my own finger nor making it stressful for her. Today I started recording numbers every 2 hrs after her 7AM injection and would like some advise before I give her the 7PM injection. The vet would like to see her around 7 mmol/L (126) on a regular basis.
Simone was originally given 1 unit twice a day until Feb 15, then the vet increased that to 2 units twice a day after her BG Curve showed high numbers all day. With her BG levels not going below 17 (306) when spot tested through out the day since Feb 15 I increased it to the 3 units on Feb 21. Also I have just started introducing the wet food into her diet for only a couple days now.
Insulin: SoloSTAR Lantus Pen - currently at 3 units (#3 on pen dial) twice a day (7AM & 7PM)
Meals: Royal Canin Diabetic Dry mixed with a little Fancy Feast twice a day (6AM & 6PM for 1 hr)
Please forgive the crude info but I'm still learning the numbers thing.
6AM: Meal time
7AM: AMPS - 20.8 (374.4)
9AM: (+2 I take it) - 16.7 (300.6)
11AM: (+4) - 15.2 (273.6)
1PM: (+6) - 13.4 (241.2)
3PM: (+8) - 7.3 (131.4) Quite a drop from the 1PM (+6) reading
4PM: (+9) - 5.8 (104.4) Gave a few treats as the levels were dropping fast
5PM: (+10) - 6.1 (109.8)
6PM: Meal time - ?
7PM: Next shot (+12) - 13.8 (248.4)
I'm going to check every 20 - 30 minutes or so after that +9 result as it seems she dropped really fast since her +6 reading. I'm thinking of skipping the next dose and then checking to see when her BG levels rise again and go from there. This is the first time since Feb 6 that shes had close to normal levels since being diagnosed.
Simone was originally given 1 unit twice a day until Feb 15, then the vet increased that to 2 units twice a day after her BG Curve showed high numbers all day. With her BG levels not going below 17 (306) when spot tested through out the day since Feb 15 I increased it to the 3 units on Feb 21. Also I have just started introducing the wet food into her diet for only a couple days now.
Insulin: SoloSTAR Lantus Pen - currently at 3 units (#3 on pen dial) twice a day (7AM & 7PM)
Meals: Royal Canin Diabetic Dry mixed with a little Fancy Feast twice a day (6AM & 6PM for 1 hr)
Please forgive the crude info but I'm still learning the numbers thing.
6AM: Meal time
7AM: AMPS - 20.8 (374.4)
9AM: (+2 I take it) - 16.7 (300.6)
11AM: (+4) - 15.2 (273.6)
1PM: (+6) - 13.4 (241.2)
3PM: (+8) - 7.3 (131.4) Quite a drop from the 1PM (+6) reading
4PM: (+9) - 5.8 (104.4) Gave a few treats as the levels were dropping fast
5PM: (+10) - 6.1 (109.8)
6PM: Meal time - ?
7PM: Next shot (+12) - 13.8 (248.4)
I'm going to check every 20 - 30 minutes or so after that +9 result as it seems she dropped really fast since her +6 reading. I'm thinking of skipping the next dose and then checking to see when her BG levels rise again and go from there. This is the first time since Feb 6 that shes had close to normal levels since being diagnosed.
Last edited: