2/23 Mandarin AMPS 309 - back on the juice, dosing question

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mandarin'sMom, Feb 23, 2019.

  1. Mandarin'sMom

    Mandarin'sMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Last condo

    I think Mandarin is just not meant to ever come off the juice permanently. :arghh: I already figured that this would happen when I started seeing more blues, but yesterday's and today's numbers made it crystal clear that I need to put him back on Insulin.

    I gave him 0.25 units this morning, but I am not really sure if that is a good starting point. Since he hasn't been without Insulin for very long, should I just count this as a failed reduction and start super low? Or do I base the starting dose on his weight? He weighs about 13 pounds (and could stand to lose a pound or two)... or do I just do something like 0.25 or 0.5? I am home to monitor today and tomorrow.

    ...and I think I am just going btb to feel sorry for myself. After 4 years of organizing my life round insulin and testing schedules, these last few weeks have been amazing and it was so nice to finally be able to go out to dinner at normal times and not have to worry about running home in between classes every day. :arghh::arghh::arghh:
     
    Giomax likes this.
  2. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Oh Mandarin what happened? Maybe he doesn't want you to have a life without worrying.
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  3. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Mandarin! Now Walter won't have a buddy at the falls.

    I'm sorry to hear this. How is he, health-wise?
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  4. Tasha & Darwin

    Tasha & Darwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Aww sorry to hear that Mandarin is back on the juice - hope he is feeling well!
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  5. Mandarin'sMom

    Mandarin'sMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    He seems to be feeling just fine. He is active and playful, has a good appetite and is not acting like he is in any pain. In other words, I doubt that there is a medical reason.

    Walter has been having some hairball issues the last few days, so I am still hopeful that his higher numbers are connected to that and that he is not planning on following Mandarin's example.
     
  6. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Oh no, sorry to hear that he's back on the juice.
    I'm guessing you're certain he's not got into any contraband?
    He may need more, I don't really understand how to work it out when kitty is coming back on to the juice.
    But you could see how the 0.25u works out and fast track him if necessary. That's what I did , I probably started a bit low, but just watched the numbers and fast tracked until he got moving in the direction I wanted him to.
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  7. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm sorry Mandarin needs insulin again. I don't know what the best starting dose it. I hope he won't need it very long.
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  8. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Oh no Christina! So sorry to hear this!
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  9. Jill & Scooter

    Jill & Scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    So sorry Mandarin had to get back on the juice! It must be very disappointing!
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.
  10. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Mandarin, did you miss the juice? Christina: I'm sorry that he is back on the juice. I think the .25U is a good place to start. It's more than the drop he was on before OTJ, but it will take a few days to rebuild the depot and by then you should be able to see whether it is too much or too little.

    I'm sorry you have to modify your new-found freedom. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Mandarin'sMom likes this.

Share This Page