2/24 Carbon 96 AMPS 31 +3 ? question

mialia

Member Since 2018
Well this sucks. I'm leaving in about 4 hours for work for five days. I've given him gravy food and will test him up to the point I leave.

I have just changed needles based on yesterday's thread (haven't used it yet) so trying to figure out what to tell the cat sitters to use. Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-23-carbon-amps-588-dosage-5.211112/#post-2341021

I was using U40 but I went out and bought the U100. I've been doing .5 on the U40 so that should be about 1.25. I'm debating going extra low as I'd rather he be high than low while I'm gone, so maybe .75 on the U100? Thoughts? I'll keep you updated on the emergency as well. My last ditch is to board him while I'm gone. I've spent over $5,000 in two months on him and can't make my rent next month as it is, but I certainly want him ok. If I can "board him" and not "medically board him" that will save me a lot so even if I can get him ok first then take him in, it's better.
 
Note: I revised the spreadsheet so the shot numbers are equivalent to U100 instead of U40 to avoid confusion. This makes some of the steps look really weird.
 
31 is a hypo situation and far too low.
Can you test again right now??

Do you have high carb gravy food or honey in the house? Immediately give a tsp of the gravy with a bit of honey - or just honey. Then test again 15 minutes after that.

Also, please change your thread title to 911 to get more experienced eyes on the situation (because of the recent switch to Lantus and the needle confusion. (I'm on meds that make me less clear headed than I like and I do not feel at all comfortable walking you through a hypo.)
 
I've had too many a hypo at this point. He tested at 79 at 20 minutes after just gravy food. Absolutely appreciate your feedback! I didn't do 911 as there may be real 911s that need attention and I'm sadly too well versed on dealing with this. I have the karo at the ready but he rapidly responds to just gravy food and I don't get as severe a bounce. I'm watching him very closely. I probably should have included all this so no one panicked :)
 
Ugh annoying. Walmart here will only give me three bags at a time. And I can't order online. This situation has given me so much compassion for those dealing with human diabetes (my dad is one)
 
The 31 today earned him a reduction to 1u.

When we do a vacation dose we usually leave the pet sitter with an on the line dose.

I would take him back at least to 0.5u.
Will they be testing at all? Will carbon have food available?

Additionally leave a sample syringe filled with colored liquid so they can see the dose we've had a pet sitter shoot 5u instead of 0.5
 
Wow, I'm glad you said that. I pulled out a needle to make a sample and realized *I* don't know what the proper mark is on the new needles. *(see photos)

They will test. Sitter one was a vet tech but she only has two sittings. I've trained the other to do it, and she's had many a health issue cat so she's well versed. She knows the importance. She's my closest friend in palm springs and cares for my cats as I do. They are both provided with a waiver and cat carrier to take him to the vet if he hypos. As in "give him karo, take to vet". They aren't expected to do more.

Carbon has food and his hypo kit is on the counter with full instructions. I'm luckily in ground school right now which means generally I'm not on a plane, and can be reached.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190224_125335.jpg
    IMG_20190224_125335.jpg
    53.3 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_20190224_125343.jpg
    IMG_20190224_125343.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 43
Count the number of lines between 5u and 10u,
If you only have 5 lines then you haven't got the syringe with the 1/2 unit markings
If you have 10 lines then you have the correct syringe.

here's a picture of a typical scale, the one on the left is the one that you need.
syringe-scales1-jpg.34899

the pic below shows a 0.75u dose, a 0.5u would be a little to the left in line with the second line from the left of the syringe.
5e86c3d4.jpg


Does any of this help?
 
THANK YOU that is perfect. it has the half markings. Wow, that is so fine a detail. Ok. I can at least tell the sitters what to give. The vet is calling me back. I might just board him and have them start with the hyperthyroid stuff while he's there.
 
It is a TINY amount. I made the sample syringe with notes. You can barely see the colored liquid (I used soy sauce, because it's all I have - so very dark, still hardly visible.)

Thank you!
 
Just a thought about your ss, insert a line and not that you were using the U40 syringes above the line, and that consequently dose changes look odd because the incorrect syringes were used, and that the numbers now reflect the actual amount of insulin Carbon got.
 
Just a thought about your ss, insert a line and not that you were using the U40 syringes above the line, and that consequently dose changes look odd because the incorrect syringes were used, and that the numbers now reflect the actual amount of insulin Carbon got.

Donezo! thanks.
he's at 290 now. +6 two cans of gravy food
 
a little tea is what a lot of us have used:)
I used a fine-tipped permanent marker to make a very visible red line on the syringe where his dose should be. I did so on all of the syringes the pet sitter would be using. Another option I suppose is to pre-fill them yourself before you leave.
 
Another option I suppose is to pre-fill them yourself before you leave.
I seem to remember reading that it wasn't advisable to prefill syringes that far in advance. There was a paper I read somewhere. I'm just heading to bed I'll look for it tomorrow.
 
I put out a marked and sample filled syringe and printed out the images above of .5 (and .75 with notes). My two sitters are pretty good. The one a former vet tech and the other one with many a sick cat in her day. I feel good about them doing it. Also, carbon is doing very well. he wasn't low long at all so I don't think I'll board him. I'd have to medical board with the emergency vet since it's sunday. I think it will be ok.
 
They have a no shot number and if he's under 100 they are supposed to message me. I can't wait to get my new roommate moved in and her trained so I don't have to do this every week. The new one will overlap slightly with the old one so they can train
 
They have a no shot number and if he's under 100 they are supposed to message me. I can't wait to get my new roommate moved in and her trained so I don't have to do this every week. The new one will overlap slightly with the old one so they can train
Ha--I wish my roommate was willing to help! She refuses to be any help at all.
 
Ha--I wish my roommate was willing to help! She refuses to be any help at all.
I very specifically sought out roommates in exchange for help with him. They pay almost no rent so they get a pretty good deal. It's still a pain in my butt though :-) Maybe I should change my dating profile to say I'm seeking a vet or someone in the vet field :-)
 
I very specifically sought out roommates in exchange for help with him. They pay almost no rent so they get a pretty good deal. It's still a pain in my butt though :) Maybe I should change my dating profile to say I'm seeking a vet or someone in the vet field :)
Max was diagnosed only a few months ago so I was stuck with the roommate I had. I'll be getting a new one this summer though and helping with Max is definitely something I'm going to talk about, lol.
 
Max was diagnosed only a few months ago so I was stuck with the roommate I had. I'll be getting a new one this summer though and helping with Max is definitely something I'm going to talk about, lol.
I lived alone when he was diagnosed and just about to start a new job where I'd be away for most of the month. A coworker at my last job was looking for a new home, was type I diabetic, and didn't make much money but was responsible. So it worked well. She paid very little for rent, I got a roomie that REALLY understood diabetes. She's been great but she off and found a new job. The jerk. :)

So I sent out a call, interviewed some people, and then chose none of them because a friend's boyfriend had been abusing her and she reached the point of leaving him - so she's moving in! :) But seriously, offering reduced rent in exchange for assistance resulted in far more replies than I expected, and not all of them nutters! (though I really liked the one that wanted to have full access to my swimming pool in exchange for watching a cat one day a week....)
 
Back
Top