2/24 Mandarin AMBG 62, +3 56, +7 43?!?

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

After I spent the last 24 hours being upset that Mandarin came out of remission yet again and feeling incredibly sorry for myself, I am starting to wonder if I should have given him another day or two before starting him back on Insulin.

@Gill & George Maybe you were right about Mandarin getting into contraband somehow. I didn't think that that was possible since I am also the proud mom of a dog that literally eats anything that even resembles food. But maybe Jersey somehow missed a few crumbs. The only strange thing is that his numbers had been creeping up for a few days before he spiked into the 300s.

Or maybe the 0.25 units was just too much and he dropped really low overnight (even though his +3 didn't seem to indicate that he was about to take a dive).

Either way, I skipped his shot this morning and will get a few more tests today. Meanwhile, poor Walter is still trying to hack up a hairball. He does that every couple of months and it seems like it takes him a few days to get it out. His AMBG was still a bit higher than I would like it, but I am still thinking it's the hairball.

Good thing I was planning on staying home today anyways.
 
I didn't think that that was possible since I am also the proud mom of a dog that literally eats anything that even resembles food. But maybe Jersey somehow missed a few crumbs. The only strange thing is that his numbers had been creeping up for a few days before he spiked into the 300s.
Is it possible that the formulation in their regular food may have changed? We've seen that be an issue in the past.....
 
I had no idea Mandarin was on the juice again. I was thinking the same thing as Judy, a bad tooth, or something?

Maybe he is going to be one of those kitties that need an occasional shot of insulin. I remember Jill talking about it on a thread a while back. Hope he's straightens up and flies right! :bighug:
 
Is it possible that the formulation in their regular food may have changed? We've seen that be an issue in the past.....
Hm, good question. I started giving some Tiny Tiger Pates in addition to their regular Friskies and FF (since Chewy has such a good deal on them and they seem to have much better ingredients) - but they are supposed to be low-carb.

@Judy and Boomer and @Bobbie And Bubba Mandarin used to have lots of problems with resorptive lesions at a very young age and after several dentals with extractions, his vet eventually pulled all of his remaining teeth last year. He hasn't had any problems since and his gums look really good.
 
hmmmm..... starting to look like high carbs he got into ; did you give the Tiny Tiger Pates today? Or constipation? Or he's just one of those kitties who needs an occasional shot of insulin........
 
Last edited:
Here is the link where Jill talked about an occasional insulin shot for some kitties. The thread was talking about constipation and causing the OTJ kitties numbers to rise. The if you scroll down to #23 is where she first mentions it. And I believe later down the thread she gives a SS to look at.

ETA: opps the link

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-28-how-much-can-constipation-affect-bgs.172126/

That's really interesting - I don't remember ever hearing this before. Mandarin's most recent numbers are a bit more extreme, but it sure seems like we have been going back and forth between tiny doses and no Insulin lately. That would be great if he just needs an occasional shot, that would certainly be much easier than putting him back on the juice for good.

Constipation could certainly be a part of it. With multiple cats, I have no idea who is doing what. And Mandarin in particular likes his privacy in the box.
 
With multiple cats
I know, I had the same problem until Forrest decided he wasn't pooping in the box no more......

Yes, it would be great if it were just constipation. I believe on that thread I sited some dates for Bubba too to show when he was constipated and what it did to his numbers.

It is really curious with Mandarin as he only had 2 cycles of .25 which shouldn't be enough to fill in a depot . Fingers and Paws crossed that he won't be staying on the juice.

upload_2019-2-24_14-4-43.png
 
Back
Top