2/25 Willows amps 225bg

Status
Not open for further replies.

Willow

Member Since 2016
Good morning

We have not been on here for a long time, we had a baby 2/25/18 and he has been taking up a good part of my days.
Willow has been willow, we have been bouncing back and fourth between 1.75-2 units. At 1.75 she stays pink or yellow while when we go to 2 units she will come down and head into the 40bg range. I have not posted in her condo, most days and nights when her next test shows below her pre shot number I’ll leave her some food to be safe during the night or while I’m gone. This of course affects her per shot number. Willow is now on a anti-inflammatory and high blood pressure medicine. The anti inflammatory meds worked wonders on her, she became way more active since starting this med.
she is getting old, she is now between 17 or 18 years old, yeah we adopted her when she was 14-15 years old, how time flys.
She still adores me like when we first got her, she will go down stairs to get a drink of water and than Merow nonstop for me to come and get her, of course she does this at times at 3 in the morning, we have two bowls of water upstairs in our room and she will only drink from downstairs, yes we have switched bowls and she still will only drink from downstairs. She is stuck on drinking from that location!
There are times she will be upstairs and I’m down and she will Merow for me to come and get her, this is due to her arthritis, the meds have helped her a lot yet she still looks at the stairs has a major problem.
She still sleeps with me every night, every night she will come and get on my chest to be pet and loved, she started to rub her head against my face awhile ago, marking me as hers and hers only. She is now at that age where she is sleeping through most disruption, in fact I’ll wake her to make she she has not died. I never saw a cat who sleeps with their eyes open, when I walk in I’ll call her name and no movement, my heart will skip a beat as I rush over to see if she has passed, she always wakes up with this look of wth?
Well, off to my day, I hope everyone’s kitties are surfing safely
 
Hi James! It's nice to hear from you. That is wonderful that the medicine is working well for her. She is such a character, deciding to only drink in one location. :rolleyes: Have a good day!
 
It's good to hear from you. I'm glad Willow is doing good and the meds are helping her. It's sweet how much she loves you. I hope things are going well with the baby.
 
She is now at that age where she is sleeping through most disruption, in fact I’ll wake her to make she she has not died. I never saw a cat who sleeps with their eyes open, when I walk in I’ll call her name and no movement, my heart will skip a beat as I rush over to see if she has passed, she always wakes up with this look of wth?
Ah ... Willow is old isn't she :( Poor baby... Enjoy your time with her. I had a wonderful cat, named Sam. Wasn't sure how old he was when he came to us - I rescued him from a household with 36 cats! He lived with us quite a long time ... but then as he got older I'd find him sleeping on the heated tile floor in our shower - with his eyes open. He didn't rouse easily when we came and went from the bathroom...and I'd have to reach down and pet him a bit to wake him up...always worried that the poor thing had died in the shower...on that warm floor...Sam was just getting very old and he was tired...and one day some time later, he poor old guy had a stroke. His pupils dilated completely - all the time - he couldn't see...unfortunately we have stairs and I was terrified he was going to fall down those stairs..watched him for a few days try to navigate around...but we knew it was time...we couldn't be at home all the time to watch the poor thing...

It broke my heart...no need to go further...with the details...but I cried for a long time over Sam. He has a resting place out under our huge oak tree with the other GA's - and I still have a place in my heart for my old Sam...he was the sweetest boy!

Congratulations on your new baby...enjoy your snuggles with your precious Willow...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ah ... Willow is old isn't she :( Poor baby... Enjoy your time with her. I had a wonderful cat, named Sam. Wasn't sure how old he was when he came to us - I rescued him from a household with 36 cats! He lived with us quite a long time ... but then as he got older I'd find him sleeping on the heated tile floor in our shower - with his eyes open. He didn't rouse easily when we came and went from the bathroom...and I'd have to reach down and pet him a bit to wake him up...always worried that the poor thing had died in the shower...on that warm floor...Sam was just getting very old and he was tired...and one day some time later, he poor old guy had a stroke. His pupils dilated completely - all the time - he couldn't see...unfortunately we have stairs and I was terrified he was going to fall down those stairs..watched him for a few days try to navigate around...but we knew it was time...we couldn't be at home all the time to watch the poor thing...

It broke my heart...no need to go further...with the details...but I cried for a long time over Sam. He has a resting place out under our huge oak tree with the other GA's - and I still have a place in my heart for my old Sam...he was the sweetest boy!

Congratulations on your new baby...enjoy your snuggles with your precious Willow...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for sharing your story, I started to tear up while reading it. It is wonderful to know that I’m not alone with how I feel about me fur buddies.
Willow has become so special to me, I can’t even imagine sleeping alone without her.
It is funny how they sleep with their eyes wide open. Scares the heck out of me.

Have a good night
 
Hi James! It's nice to hear from you. That is wonderful that the medicine is working well for her. She is such a character, deciding to only drink in one location. :rolleyes: Have a good day!
Hi,
Yeah very funny of her.
Have a good night
 
Congrats on your new baby boy!! Photos???

Willow is doing her same diving act.......

I see where you raised her back up to 2 units after reducing her when she hit 44 on 7/23. With her being a long term diabetic, 3 drops under 50 or once under 40 is a good plan.

I know your household is busy with a new baby and you are still juggling taking care of Willow. You rock!

Post when you need advice . It would be nice if she would reveal a pattern but she just seems to do her own thing. Glad you are on top of it.
 
Congrats on your new baby boy!! Photos???

Willow is doing her same diving act.......

I see where you raised her back up to 2 units after reducing her when she hit 44 on 7/23. With her being a long term diabetic, 3 drops under 50 or once under 40 is a good plan.

I know your household is busy with a new baby and you are still juggling taking care of Willow. You rock!

Post when you need advice . It would be nice if she would reveal a pattern but she just seems to do her own thing. Glad you are on top of it.

Hi,

Yeah, willow has always danced to who own tune and not follow any rules.
Whenever her post number are way lower than her shot number I’ll leave extra food out.
One of the days I left her a whole can of gravy food and her pmps number was still really low for the amount of food she ate. The next day she blasted into red.
Here is a photo of my wife and boy. His name is Michael, oddly enough this is no longer a common name.

I’ll post when I can
Thank you for checking in on us
 

Attachments

  • 2851BB7B-67D8-4052-95B2-94C13088BEF1.jpeg
    2851BB7B-67D8-4052-95B2-94C13088BEF1.jpeg
    62.5 KB · Views: 79
  • 3BB9F337-B10E-4EA2-A400-F3EEA967FEA2.jpeg
    3BB9F337-B10E-4EA2-A400-F3EEA967FEA2.jpeg
    70.9 KB · Views: 73
Thanks for the photos! He is so handsome and your wife looks great and all back in shape again from having Michael. Love the name and yes, funny how it isn't that common any more. I love the old names like Michael. I have 2 sons, I went with the older names with them also, Bryan and James. Timeless.

Willow, behave as Momma and Daddy have a lot going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top