2/28 Silver AMPS 212 PMPS 230

Status
Not open for further replies.
Unfortunately insulin is a hormone and it's not consistent. What numbers you get on a dose at one time may not happen the next time. Hopefully you'll see some green soon. :bighug:
Well I hope we are regulated when I go away as my pet sitter won’t be able to adjust dose. I’ll likelt have to give him no insulin for two and a half weeks or half his usual dose.
 
Shooting a reduced dose while you're away if the sitter can't test seems like a reasonable option.

And yes, it's quite annoying that the effect of insulin is not that predictable. There are so many different variables in a living organism that you can never really know them all :-/
 
Shooting a reduced dose while you're away if the sitter can't test seems like a reasonable option.

And yes, it's quite annoying that the effect of insulin is not that predictable. There are so many different variables in a living organism that you can never really know them all :-/
Well I’m hoping to try again for the testing but she won’t be able to make judgement calls re reducing if she sees a low number.
 
Well I’m hoping to try again for the testing but she won’t be able to make judgement calls re reducing if she sees a low number.

Hi Juliet, Hopefully you can get your petsitter to test & if you can you can set out guidelines for her. Things like if Silver is higher than this number give full dose, and if he's between this number & that number reduce the dose to this dose. If he's below this number than skip the shot, feed HC food Etc. So she'll have some basics to follow at least. When I was petsitting for a diabetic dog that's what his person did for me, she typed up as many possibilities as she could think of so I would know what to do depending on his BG (that was before I had Merry when I didn't know anything about diabetes). Maybe you can put her in touch with one of the more experienced members in this group via email as a back up as well, just in case something comes up that wasn't expected?
 
Hi Juliet, Hopefully you can get your petsitter to test & if you can you can set out guidelines for her. Things like if Silver is higher than this number give full dose, and if he's between this number & that number reduce the dose to this dose. If he's below this number than skip the shot, feed HC food Etc. So she'll have some basics to follow at least. When I was petsitting for a diabetic dog that's what his person did for me, she typed up as many possibilities as she could think of so I would know what to do depending on his BG (that was before I had Merry when I didn't know anything about diabetes). Maybe you can put her in touch with one of the more experienced members in this group via email as a back up as well, just in case something comes up that wasn't expected?
Thanks. But she won’t be able to draw up doses either. I will either have to prefill or have another friend (not asked yet) come in and prefill a couple days at a time. And es I know we are not supposed to prefill but sometimes you have no choice. I do all the time anyways as I can’t see straight to draw at 5:30am so I do it the night before. I don’t think she will be able to test as she couldn’t last time. Thanks for the advice but it’s either no insulin or shooting half dose blind.
 
Dunno what he is doing tonight. Numbers are awful since failed reduction and went back to usual dose.
 
And es I know we are not supposed to prefill but sometimes you have no choice. I do all the time anyways as I can’t see straight to draw at 5:30am so I do it the night before.
Could this be an explanation of some of the unexplained variations you're getting? It might be interesting to keep track of which doses were predrawn and which ones weren't. I've heard that you don't really have a choice, but if I recall what I've read predrawing might really change the potency of the insulin. So if you're doing that it's important to take it into account, I'd say.
 
Could this be an explanation of some of the unexplained variations you're getting? It might be interesting to keep track of which doses were predrawn and which ones weren't. I've heard that you don't really have a choice, but if I recall what I've read predrawing might really change the potency of the insulin. So if you're doing that it's important to take it into account, I'd say.
No choice. Prefill daily. Not much point tracking as this won’t change. I really don’t have the time for all the tracking. Only doing three tests a day now and posting rarely. Life is busy and I can’t be on here daily.
 
No choice. Prefill daily. Not much point tracking as this won’t change. I really don’t have the time for all the tracking. Only doing three tests a day now and posting rarely. Life is busy and I can’t be on here daily.
I said I heard you had no choice, and wasn't questioning that. Even if it won't change, tracking it might help you understand how it influences Silver's numbers. It's another variable in the mix.

That said, track what/how you can/want. It was just an idea, in the hope you might find it useful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top