? 2/28 Viamo AMPS=451, yesterday we had first blue BGs. What if he bounces today?

Teo

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's post here

So, at the beginning of Viamo's eigth cycle of 3.5u dosage, I've decided to hold on again and not increase his dose. Yesterday he had his first blue values in a while, which was really satisfying, but at night he had a zenith of 511 mg/dL. This suggests he might be bouncing today. I'll know on the next few hours.

How does one manage a bounce? Is it beneficial to increase the dose or not? If his values today are high again, should I increase to 3.75 right away?

I still feel that what I've done complies with the TR protocol as I have read that doses could be held still for as long as 10 cycles. This is Viamo's eighth cycle, so I should change the dose today or tomorrow... right?
 
Good morning Teo and Ana,
I did not realize you had a new thread post for the day.
I already made some comments in Viamo's post from yesterday.
2/27 Viamo AMPS=423, +5=199, +6=128 Back in the blue range! Should we hold dose?

You have done what complies with the TR protocol.
Yes, you should change the dose for this evening.
At least, that is my recommendation until we have more data from this AM cycle.

I gave you some examples to look at in Yesterday's post.
Examples of the pattern to look for when a bounce is breaking.
How does one manage a bounce?
You have to hold the dose steady and wait for the bounce to clear.

Is it beneficial to increase the dose or not?
No, it is not beneficial to increase during the bounce. Only after the bounce has cleared.
If his values today are high again, should I increase to 3.75 right away?
If his values remain high throughout today's AM cycle, then I'm not sure what you should do.
Let's see what Viamo's BG levels do today.

I know you live in the Argentina Time Zone. So when it its 11 am your time, it is 9 am my time.
So you need answers a lot earlier than many other members here do.
What time your time, do you measure the blood glucose for the pre-shot test?
 
Our injection times are 9 am and 9 pm, so 7 in your timezone.

We'll have to wait a few more hours to see what his BG is at +6 or +7, which is roughly the time at which he had his nadir yesterday.
 
Could you please note than usual injection time on your spreadsheet Teo.
At the top would be fine.

I'll try to look in at Viamo's SS this afternoon.
Or you may always tag me. I don't mind.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Teo
Excellent advice from @Deb & Wink! Try not to get too worked up over the high numbers...it's a natural response to those beautiful blues he got to yesterday. His liver is just trying to protect him from a perceived 'low blood sugar' incident. It's going to take time to get him used to lower BG numbers...and in the meantime...his body is going to try to protect him and will unload the stored glycogen into his blood stream to do that. Eventually that will level out.

Since you're on TR it's time for an increase of .25. Keep doing what you're doing...he'll get there.

Have a great day!
 
Back
Top