2/4 Bella AMPS 321 Urine ketones negative!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JanetMR, Feb 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Miss Bella was AMPS 321
    +3 377
    Urine ketones negative!
    She dropped down to 224 at + 2 PMPS last evening and then climbed back up.
    ??
    :banghead:
     
  2. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    WooHoo! That makes 4 consecutive days!

    What’s the WCR (whole cat report)? All Ps in place?

    It looks like she ate well during that blue streak yesterday AM. ..is that correct?
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  3. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    She did eat fairly well during her “ blue period”
    Which was surprising.
    All P’s in place
    She feels as if she’s gained a tad of weight.. o_Ounless it’s just my tired arms.
     
  4. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    It’s wonderful ...and noteworthy.

    Be on the lookout for the current bounce to break. From the ‘hindsight is 20/20’ department- 02/03/AM the +2 was significantly lower than the AMPS. That’s a heads up. Being that onset is generally around +2 to +3 for most kitties, there’s potential for some strong downward momentum to build, which in this case did, in spite of the 2T 6% food at +2:

    2/3/AM
    AMPS - 321 >>2T 6%
    AM+2 - 246 >>2T 6%
    AM+5 - 124

    Food for thought:
    Was this too fast a drop for Bella, enough to trigger another bounce?
    Maybe a slightly higher carb meal at +2 would have slowed the drop?
     
  5. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yeah for no ketones! Way to go.

    Here is yesterday's thread so everyone can follow along. When you start a new thread each day, give the link to the previous thread. It helps peeps here help you better.

    Yesterday
     
  6. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Ok. Thanks.
    I do notice a difference in Bellas activity level today. She has more pep than I’ve seen in a long time.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  7. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    So... if she drops
    So... if she drops more than 75 points at a time give a teaspoon or so of higher carb food?
    Last evening 2/3 she dropped from PMPS of 392 to + 2 of 224. Then...+5 back up to 327
    Can’t tell if she’s heading up or down sometimes...
     
  8. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    That's wonderful news :cool:
    This, combined with 4 consecutive days of negative ketones and the fact that she ate quite well during yesterdays mid blue streak is awesome progress.
    Well done!


    Keep in mind a bounce is generally not a smooth trajectory in either direction. you have to consider the context of the drop. What preceded it (previous cycles) and where in the current cycle you are.

    This is when you have to step back and look for patterns developing over several days, the larger picture.
    You can see how the first run of 0.25u went before Bella saw green.

    Cycle 1 of .25u was 1/31/AM; cycle 3 was all yellow with the yellow continuing into cycle 4. She likely saw green during the bottom half of the 4th cycle at the end of which you woke up to a green AMPS -the reduced dose starts the cycle count over.

    So 2/2/PM cycle 1 of .25u - recovering from bounce, reduced dose and stall.
    By cycle 2 (2/3) AM+5 saw a nice stretch of mid blue which triggered a bounce. A higher carb meal at the +2 may have slowed the drop to mid blue and lessened the counter-regulatory system freak out. Maybe not. Something to be mindful of as you go forward.

    Tonight will be cycle 5 and there is potential for the bounce to break.
    Lets see what Bella has up her sleeve.

     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  9. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Congrats on the negative keytones! Bella has come a long way!
     
    Stacy & Asia and JanetMR like this.
  10. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    If she drops... I’ll post for advice.
    I’m sure this is second nature to you. This is still confusing to me.
    I don’t want her to drop to much too fast and I can possibly offset this with high carb food... right?
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  11. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Awesome news, more pep, eating well and negative keytones! :woot:

    Really good stuff, keep up the good work Bella, and lots of praise your way, Janet for helping with that. :)
     
    JanetMR likes this.
  12. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    That's lovely to read. She's a good girl.
     
  13. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Correct, however you dont know how heavy or light-handed you need to be-ECID.
    I personally didn't have to do much in the way of using food to guide a cycle. It was a year before BK got his first taste of HC.
    There are plenty of folks here with tons of experience using food to slow down a dive - posting for advice before feeding HC to guide a cycle (not to be confused with bringing up low numbers) is a good idea.
     
  14. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    What is HC? High carb?
    What is classified as a dive?...
    As opposed to bringing up low numbers.?
    What exactly is a low number?
    I need to understand what I am doing.
     
  15. JanetMR

    JanetMR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Bella dropped to 235 @ + 2
    From 324 @ PMPS
    I gave her 1 tsp 15% carb food plus her regular % 6 carb food
    I hope this is correct
    When should I re check?
     
  16. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Checking at +3 would be good.
    If you have not yet checked, grab a test. You want to see what effect the mix of 6% and 15%.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page