2/7 Doodle AMPS 134 +7/48 DOSE REDUCTION EARNED???

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's not been 12 months so he has earned the reducie - congrats

Just remember to take it straight back up if it doesn't hold
 
If a cat's been diabetic more than a year, then we use 3 times under 50 or once under 40 for a dose reduction. Looks like Doodle's been diabetic since August, which still would be considered newly diagnosed.

I think it's up to you. 48 isn't much below 50 and he's looking pretty good on this dose. If you choose not to decrease the dose, i think you really have to get pm cycle tests to keep him safe. Here are the options from the protocol guidelines:

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
You could reduce by 0.25u.
You could "sneak" the dose down by shaving it.

The goal with TR is to get all the blood sugar in the 50-120 range, so you may not want to rock the boat too much. At the same time, you want to keep him safe. The goal with any reduction is to see the all green numbers continue into subsequent cycles, so if do reduce the dose and he doesn't continue all under 120, take the dose back up asap.
 
I think I started logging him in to FDMB August but he has actually been on Lantus for almost 2 years I think. I brought him home exactly one year ago (yesterday is his gotcha day) and he was on lantus then but only once a day. He was on it before I got him, only once a day I think for 6 months or longer. I'm on the fence because of course, bad timing, my mom is visiting and it's our birthday tomorrow so we are in and out the next few days. If I do the reduction to 2.75u how fast is "ASAP" to take it back up to 3u? How many tests over 120 are "allowed"?
 
there isn't a description to answer what you're asking.

if he's been diabetic almost 2 years, that means a dose reduction needs to be him going under 40.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top