2018.04.09 | Emmett | AMPS - 362 | +11 - 193 | PMPS - 175 | +1 - 155 | +2 - 99 | +3 - 68 | +4 - 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob W. & Emmett

Member Since 2018
Previous (April 7)

Hello all,

PMPS 175

So Emmett is looking not too bad today. Had a high morning number and very weird injection last night. Tented the fur like I always do and when I pulled out the needle there was a drop of blood in the barrel. I let the skin settle while the needle was in it...perhaps it scraped a capillary or something?

Anyway, PM shot was a fur shot. There was a lot of insulin on his fur. Against what I read here, I shot again :eek:. So I WILL be watching him carefully. But I'm quite certain he'll be fine as there was 98% chance it was all the insulin on his fur (and my fingers).

Anyway, I'll check back in within the hour or so and give an update. Does anyone shoot after a fur shot or just me?

@Wendy&Neko
@Stacy & Asia
@Bobbie And Bubba
@carfurby
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Tracey&Jones
@Christie & Maverick

Rob
 
Never shoot again after a fur shot. You will be amazed how many times some insulin got in, and you never know how much. People will swear there was a fur shot, but the cat's BG goes down. Safety first. They recover from a fur shot. Glad you are going to be vigilant. I would put on a pot of coffee. :coffee::coffee: Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food?
 
Never after a fur shot! I have done maybe two or three and just left it as be. Out of those, most times the cycle was pretty good even if not a full dose.

You just never know how much was injected and how much not.


I would be a hawk tonight and do a +2 for sure. The potential extra insulin could also affect other cycles. So this isn't the only one to watch.
 
Last edited:
No, we advise against shooting again after a furshot. There is just no telling how much insulin got in and any amount over his dose is risky as he could go too low. Emmett is decently low and his dose is decently high. Just for comparison sake, I have given Asia half of a .25 unit increase and she’s tried go below 50. There are cats on this board that are on 1 drop doses. It’s a hormone and not a drug. Please don’t ever do that again for Emmett’s safety. I’ve thought I’d given a furshot before and the numbers went down plenty, so obviously enough insulin went in. Partial shots are fur shots.

Do you have everything you need to handle low numbers? Test strips, high carb food, karo syrup or something similar? Please monitor him very closely, you’ll need to test hourly st least until he is safe and on the rise.
 
Oh no :(

I guess I wasn't thinking clearly -- there was so much insulin I was just so sure it was all there. I've had a few fur shots before and I've never reshot, guess I shoulda stuck with that.

I do have everything and about test 200 strips (I think that will be enough). I will check him in 15 mins. He usually starts dropping at +2 though.
 
Yes, to echo others , don't shoot again after you have a FS. There were times I was SURE I had a fur shot and the cycle did not reflect that. Even the time I had insulin on my finger from going all the way through the skin, it was still a decent cycle and had I shot again it could have been a very lllllllong night. Just be vigilant.
 
Oh no :(

I guess I wasn't thinking clearly -- there was so much insulin I was just so sure it was all there. I've had a few fur shots before and I've never reshot, guess I shoulda stuck with that.

I do have everything and about test 200 strips (I think that will be enough). I will check him in 15 mins. He usually starts dropping at +2 though.

I think you can wait until +1, you’ll only have to test more frequently than every hour if he goes below 50 because you will have to bring his numbers up and see how he responds to that. I’m glad you have a lot of test strips and all the supplies, hopefully he will stay above 50, but like Wendy said, looks like an active cycle, so keep your eyes peeled.
 
This is all I see, but as long as it works for some of you and there are Canadians in the house who don’t need to look up those mmols to convert. :p

16A30CDD-C936-4455-B11B-EBB41B8D3A10.png
 
+5 — 72

He seems like a happy cat. Just finished prepping his claws. He works on them quite a lot.


I’ll check him again, not sure when.

Now it also sucks cause I don’t know if he had greens cause he got more than 3.75 or if he just got 3.75. But as one of you said, it may in fact affect tomorrow’s or the next cycle.


R
 
Yes, trust me, never again will I dose again after a fur shot. He seemed okay but way to nerve-racking!

You kept him safe, that's what matters. :) I had a sleepy morning not too long ago, I always draw up more than enough insulin because I have to waste a bit to get air bubbles out. I drew up the more than enough and for whatever reason, got distracted and never measured it with calipers and worked out the air bubbles. I had no idea how much I shot her and literally caught my mistake as I completely depressed the plunger! :nailbiting: Was pretty freaked out, and she did go below 50, wasn't as bad as I anticipated, but I was on edge all day and it continued to the night cycle. It's 3/13 on her SS.

What's his number this morning? Hope he behaves today. :cat:
 
You kept him safe, that's what matters. :) I had a sleepy morning not too long ago, I always draw up more than enough insulin because I have to waste a bit to get air bubbles out. I drew up the more than enough and for whatever reason, got distracted and never measured it with calipers and worked out the air bubbles. I had no idea how much I shot her and literally caught my mistake as I completely depressed the plunger! :nailbiting: Was pretty freaked out, and she did go below 50, wasn't as bad as I anticipated, but I was on edge all day and it continued to the night cycle. It's 3/13 on her SS.

What's his number this morning? Hope he behaves today. :cat:

That would be very tense! I only see 42 on the SS though. It's so easy to get distracted. I've shot without testing too! Only happened once, and not as tense as actually injecting, but still like "oh sh*t" goes through your mind.


R
 
I got distracted last night and didn't even give him his shot. Noticed 2 hours late but with the work schedule.....I just missed his shot. Now I have to start all over with his depot.

Not a bad cycle considering.
 
That would be very tense! I only see 42 on the SS though. It's so easy to get distracted. I've shot without testing too! Only happened once, and not as tense as actually injecting, but still like "oh sh*t" goes through your mind.


R
That 42 was the after effect in the pm cycle, I shot too much in the am. :smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top