? 21 Oct | Girlie | AMPS 583; +4=410; +5=430; 486@+7; 515@+11: PMPS 488 Dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...364-blood-ketone-monitor.185637/#post-2061355

Did she drop a lot while I was away, I wonder? :confused: She bounced to high blacks by the time I got home and stayed there all night. I left some a bit of MC 13 and HC 22 food when I left for work, as she was still dropping a lot, and the HC was just barely stalling her; also, I don't stop feeding her until +8, so I assumed that was the cause for the PMPS of 40.3, but she just stayed in black. I know from previously that a higher MC/HC won't keep her high for 24 hours, though.

We'll see how she goes the rest of the day. Today I'm not trying to steer: I'm just giving her the FF LLC1 Savoury Salmon.
 
I hold for a quick 10-count.

A new trick I am using - when I go to give the shot I hold the syringe like a dart between my thumb and middle finger (no finger near or on the plunger). Once I know I have the needle in and Gizmo isn't moving I push and hold the plunger (hard) for a quick 10-count. I count silent to 5 and then out loud to 10 (trust me, Gizmo know's what the #10 is - lol) and hold the plunger down hard unti it is out. Knock on wood, anit-jinx and all that but so far so good using that technique. He has moved and jerked and I have almost dropped the syringe but I have not given a fur shot!

Thanks for those tips, @LizzieInTexas :)

Once you've got the needle in and started to depress the plunger, what do you do if Gizmo starts to move? I keep her skin tented up in my left hand while I depress the plunger with my right. Do you let go of the tent once you've given the shot? The art of giving an injection! :)
 
430@ +5, so going up a bit. What's she doing? :oops:

She had 94 two days ago in the AM, and 97 in PM three days ago, so I assume I shouldn't start thinking of a dose increase. Or could she need a dose increase? This is cycle 7 of the 0.75, but just cycle 4 since her last green. I assume I start counting the cycles from the last green again, not from when I increased the dose: is that right? I'm just dreading a possible second run of blacks. :woot:

She poo'd, so all good on that front.
 
I'm still so new to TR, but I wonder if the mid-90s are just ok, but not great, being that they were 4-6 cycles ago... curious to see what more experienced folks say, but hey, glad there was poo...omg, I can't believe I just said that lol :p
 
Well I'll give this a whirl...please correct me if I'm off.
I would increase. :bookworm: You're on the 8th cycle of this dose and Girlie didn't earn a reduction. Her lowest was 94 so there's room to sneak down a bit from that number if you're using the AlphTrack. I count from the start of the new dose when counting cycles.
So so glad there's no poop issues. Next to FD the second most discussed topic here is constipation and liquipoo. :facepalm:
 
Well I'll give this a whirl...please correct me if I'm off.
I would increase. :bookworm: You're on the 8th cycle of this dose and Girlie didn't earn a reduction. Her lowest was 94 so there's room to sneak down a bit from that number if you're using the AlphTrack. I count from the start of the new dose when counting cycles.
So so glad there's no poop issues. Next to FD the second most discussed topic here is constipation and liquipoo. :facepalm:


Thanks, Beenie. But liquipoo? Ewwww! :woot:
 
I'm studying her SS now, but I'm thinking I'll increase her dose to 0.1 tonight. I can monitor closely tonight, tomorrow, and Monday morning. If anyone thinks this would be a really bad idea, please let me know. :nailbiting:
 
Up again: 515@ +11: she's back to only high numbers day 2. Since we increased (8 cycles ago), every AMPS and +2 has been a high black number, then a dive down the ladder.
 
what do you do if Gizmo starts to move?
Use a death grip - lol. He is pretty good about standing still when I tell him to "hold still" - the counting out loud helps too - he knows that when I get to 10 he is getting his FD duck liver treat!. I am pretty stern with him when I tell him to "hold still" especially if I have told him once and he continues. I usually give him lots of kisses and scratches right before I shoot and then tell him to hold still and he will. I shoot in the same place every time (different from testing area) so he also knows that when he is in that spot it is shot time. The place is on a hutch and the height is good (he stands higher than my waist so I don't have to lean or bend over and he stands at normal height) so I can put my arm around him on one side and pinch (tent) with that hand and shot with the other. Cats thrive on consistency and routine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top