? 24-Jan Mav AMPS 491 | +8 385

Christie & Maverick

Very Active Member
Last post

It has been so very hectic, I need to spend some time updating Mav's SS. After being very boring with nadirs in the high 200s to 300s all week, Mav decided to sneak in a 61 last night at +5. He's of course bouncing like crazy today.

I thought about increasing earlier but I held off, since I finally was able to get the script for Lev. I had hoped to start this weekend when he wasn't bouncing, and up until last night's 61, he's been holding pretty steady.

So, now I need to figure out when to start, since I want to be able to monitor and get a feel how he'll respond. I wasn't sure if I should start while he's in the middle of a bounce, or if that's overthinking too much?

Having been on 1.25u for a week, I think I'll try for 0.75u to begin with, unless anyone thinks that's too high?

Part of me is excited to see what he'll do with Lev, but, I have to admit I'm super anxious. I'm hopeful the cycles will be better overall, and he'll get better duration, but after more than 2 1/2 years with Lantus, I feel like I'm relearning everything all over again :bookworm:. And ultimately I'm scared nothing will be different on Lev. I guess I'll have to wait and see.
 
Hi Christie! We waited a long time to switch over to Lev too...I do think it helped to level Luci out a bit...fewer pinks these days..although she still loves her lemon tree bookends...I'm sick of them myself and every now and then she grants me a blue or an even more rarely - a green pre-shot...but not often...she clings with every last claw to the yellows...so I guess that's how it's gonna be...but overall I think she's better on Lev...more green..less trampoline bouncing.

We transitioned over last July.

I hope the change in insulin is just what Mav needs to point him in the right direction :)

Have a great evening!
 
Hi there! Yes, if you could update the SS that would be helpful. So, I want to be sure I understand correctly. Mav is on 1.25 units right now and last night he threw a 61? If that’s correct , he earned a reduction to 1 unit since you are using the AT meter., or are you doing 3 times under 68 for a reduction since he’s a long term diabetic? I am not really clear on the criteria for long term diabetics using the AT Meter.

I think I would let the bounce clear before switching to Lev just so you know what is what. JMHO.
 
Hi Bobbie, thank you for the help, I appreciate it. Yes, I didn't take the reduction, since I've been doing three under 68... I felt the same way about letting the bounce clear, when he comes out of a bounce, it can be pretty entertaining and I don't want a new insulin in the mix :rolleyes:. The struggle is timing that when I can also monitor closely after the switch.
 
Forget about the bounce, start the Lev. The depot of the Lantus will deplete as the Lev one forms, so numbers might be odd anyway. You do want to start when you can monitor. 0.75 is probably OK to start as we 70% if the current Lantus dose.

Even the last couple weeks of data on the SS will be most helpful.

Why did you get a Lev script? In Canada you should just be able to get it over the counter at any pharmacy.
 
Hi Wendy, nice to see you :), sorry I know the SS is missing his data, I was off on vacay after New Years for a week, no one was covering for me when I was off work so I've been swamped. I wasn't sure what the bounces might do, since it might be possible the bounce break overlaps the Lev depot forming. I suppose I am overthinking things, I had just worried that some people do see an initial reaction upon switching as well.

The script issue has been a thorn in my side for over a year. You technically should be able to, but every pharmacy I went to asked for at least the initial script from the vet to fill, then they would do the refills.
 
Bummer on the script. It cost money from my old vet to get a script too. :(

Since you are starting at a reduced dose by 0.5 units from his current dose, that should build in enough buffer to stay away from an exciting switch to Lev. Most cats end up near the same dose, plus or minus. Of course, ECID.
 
Back
Top