? 29/12 Glen AMPS 243 PMPS 117

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here is yesterday's post. Good to see him coming down from that bounce. :)

I take it you are following SLGS for dosing? If so, it'll help us help you if you put SLGS in your signature line.
 
Not a bad start at all and I love his name and it cracks me up when pets have human names. Life Tiffmaxee said, stick to the dose and do a curve in a week Would it be possible for you to get some more test in during the night cycle? That will really help us fill in his SS and give important data that will help to understand the morning pre shot number to see how low he went through the night cycle as most cats go lower in that cycle.
 
Last edited:
Not a bad start at a and I love his name and it cracks me up when pets have human names. Life Tiffmaxee said, stick to the dose and do a curve in a week Would it be possible for you to get some more test in during the night cycle? That will really help us fill in his SS and give important data that will help to understand the morning pre shot number to see how low he went through the night cycle as most cats go lower in that cycle.

I will do my best. I work full time and am recovering from breast cancer treatment so sleep is very important to me!
 
Yep. You stick for a week and then do a curve.
Does anyone not test before every injection? I can get my hubby to stick but not to test! So when I work 12 hours I won't be home to get a test prior to his injection.
Sorry if that sounds dumb...
 
I will do my best. I work full time and am recovering from breast cancer treatment so sleep is veryI important to me!
Tammy, I understand, ultimately your heath is the most important ! Do what you can without jeopardizing your health. If you aren't in good health, you won't be any good to Glen.And just want to say I hope your road to recovery is a smooth ride.

As far as testing before shots, they are the most important. The way I will liken it is this: if you had a diabetic child or where diabetic yourself, you would not shoot without testing first to make sure that it was a safe number to shoot. Since you are new to this Feline Diabetic dance , your no shot number would be 200. So , to recap, very important to get those pre shot numbers. Get hubby on board with testing too. If you can't then it would be better for you to shoot late when you get home than for hubby to shoot blind. If he can shoot insulin, he can test. I have full confidence in him. :) Tell him how important it is to Glen's safety.
 
Tammy, I understand, ultimately your heath is the most important ! Do what you can without jeopardizing your health. If you aren't in good health, you won't be any good to Glen.And just want to say I hope your road to recovery is a smooth ride.

As far as testing before shots, they are the most important. The way I will liken it is this: if you had a diabetic child or where diabetic yourself, you would not shoot without testing first to make sure that it was a safe number to shoot. Since you are new to this Feline Diabetic dance , your no shot number would be 200. So , to recap, very important to get those pre shot numbers. Get hubby on board with testing too. If you can't then it would be better for you to shoot late when you get home than for hubby to shoot blind. If he can shoot insulin, he can test. I have full confidence in him. :) Tell him how important it is to Glen's safety.
Haha I will try my best to convince him!
BTW - I love your cat
 
It looks like you shot a 67 on 12/27. When was Glen's diagnosis? Do you have plenty of test strips and HC food to steer if needed?
 
Bounce cleared. Remember what happened the other day? Had you not tested before amps it could have been a hypo and ER visit. Hubby needs to learn to test.
 
Tammy, I just realized you are following SLGS so technically you should skip this dose. Below is taking from the SLGS guidelines.
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin
 
Tammy, I just realized you are following SLGS so technically you should skip this dose. Below is taking from the SLGS guidelines.
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4.
There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin
Hmmm I feel like if I don't give him anything he is going to be sky high again in the AM :(
I know that I am new to all of this though
 
Hmmm I feel like if I don't give him anything he is going to be sky high again in the AM :(
I know that I am new to all of this though
You did shoot 67 on the 12/27th. As long as you can monitor and feel confident to shoot . I understand you not wanting things to get out of control. Please just get a +2 to see how active the cycle is going to be and steer if needed. Post if you need help . Change the title thread to indicate that you need help ASAP
 
The concern I guess is that he might drop like the other day. Then you might be up until +6-8. You were giving 2 units then though. Can you stay up if needed? If not it's best to skip. You need to stay healthy. It might turn out his dose needs to be lower so you can shoot every 12 hours.
 
You did shoot 67 on the 12/27th. As long as you can monitor and feel confident to shoot . I understand you not wanting things to get out of control. Please just get a +2 to see how active the cycle is going to be and steer if needed. Post if you need help . Change the title thread to indicate that you need help ASAP

Thank you. Feeling overwhelmed...I did shoot 67 but he stayed low and I had to give him stuff throughout the day to bring him up.
I think my vet was trying to get me to do TR. She just said give 2 u BID and we will do another curve in 7-10 days. When I took Glen home I didn't even have a glucometer and she said that was fine.

I would do TR but I work all day and have general life. I just don't know if I can regulate him that tightly :(
 
The concern I guess is that he might drop like the other day. Then you might be up until +6-8. You were giving 2 units then though. Can you stay up if needed? If not it's best to skip. You need to stay healthy. It might turn out his dose needs to be lower so you can shoot every 12 hours.
I can't stay up. I would if I could but I can't.
I can get a +2 for sure but that's about it LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top