? 29 Oct | Girlie | AMPS 491; 4= 304; +7= 279; PMPS 475; +6:30= 295: Dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-652-2-653-4-371-6-124.185997/#post-2066045

Cycle 6 and no progress. Should I increase her dose in the morning to 0.1 Unit? The Aloe Vera Juice doesn't seem to be bringing dives to nicer numbers, as it did with other kitties. :(

Here are her nadirs:

C1 AMPS 652; +6= 230
C2 PMPS 313; =5=387
C3 AMPS 652; (enema @ +5); +6=124
C4 PMPS 412; +6=248 (first 1/2 tsp of Aloe Vera Juice)
C5 AMPS 491; +7= 279
C5 PMPS 475; +6:30=295

Just dashing this out as need to get back to bed... any advice would be really appreciated! :)
 
@Marje and Gracie : just got to look at your wonderful and detailed post! I'll have to reply tomorrow (today your time in the PM) as have to get back to sleep. Apologise for delay: computer dramas and return of the deadly flu.

Just quickly though: I'm not seeing any progress here. I read what you said re: the dose, but there are no real good numbers here, so I was wondering whether I should increase her dose tomorrow to 1 Unit? Or should I stick to this 0.8 with the insulin ruler for a few more cycles in case this is because she's bouncing because of the dives?

Just quickly re: your post: I angle the syringe at 45 degrees; I keep it in firmly to a count of 10 and keep plunger depressed when I pull it out; I shoot on her flank in different areas (not same spot each time), and AM shot is on left flank, PM shot is on right flank. I smell the injection site afterwards: no icky Lantus smell.

I've been consistent with LC9 in AM in hopes that that would help flatten out the huge dives in the AM: no difference - still diving like the champion she is. At quick glance, interesting change for her: these 6 cycles she's going UP at +2 (atypical for her previously): the influence of the LC9 even though that doesn't stop her from diving HUGELY afterwards by way more than 50 points an hour in cycles 1 and 3?

I'm doing mini-meals and front-loading. I test like a demon already in the AM, especially, where she's so volatile with her dives. The only way I could get more tests in is if I did them on the 1/2 hour as well - should I do that? :)

We're using a pet meter (AlphaTrak2).

Will reply in more detail in my AM (your PM). Thank you again! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie : just got to look at your wonderful and detailed post! I'll have to reply tomorrow (today your time in the PM) as have to get back to sleep. Apologise for delay: computer dramas and return of the deadly flu.

Just quickly though: I'm not seeing any progress here. I read what you said re: the dose, but there are no real good numbers here, so I was wondering whether I should increase her dose tomorrow to 1 Unit? Or should I stick to this 0.8 with the insulin ruler for a few more cycles in case this is because she's bouncing because of the dives?

Just quickly re: your post: I angle the syringe at 45 degrees; I keep it in firmly to a count of 10 and keep plunger depressed when I pull it out; I shoot on her flank in different areas (not same spot each time), and AM shot is on left flank, PM shot is on right flank. I smell the injection site afterwards: no icky Lantus smell.

I've been consistent with LC9 in AM in hopes that that would help flatten out the huge dives in the AM: no difference - still diving like the champion she is. At quick glance, interesting change for her: these 6 cycles she's going UP at +2 (atypical for her previously): the influence of the LC9 even though that doesn't stop her from diving HUGELY afterwards by way more than 50 points an hour in cycles 1 and 3?

I'm doing mini-meals and front-loading. I test like a demon already in the AM, especially, where she's so volatile with her dives. The only way I could get more tests in is if I did them on the 1/2 hour as well - should I do that? :)

We're using a pet meter (AlphaTrak2).

Will reply in more detail in my AM (your PM). Thank you again! :bighug:
I hope you feel better soon...I’m sorry you’re I’ll. Take care.

Many of my points were based what I’m reading off the SS. Yes....you do test a lot...in fact, you could join my Testaholics Anonymous club I started many years ago :)

However.... you only occasionally get a +1 test. And I’m only seeing LC9 being fed consistently the last three mornings with no feeding at +1. Again...no criticisms....I’m just telling you what I see in the Remarks on the SS. Because you’ve kept such great records, it helped me with suggestions for her. :)

The other thing I see, for example yesterday, is feeding her 9% at +9. That certainly put the brakes on her duration It’s best that if she is hungry after nadir, only give her some boiled chicken breast or freeze dried treats. I realize you rarely feed that many carbs that late but I’d not do it unless she is running below 68 on your AT.

Since she got into blue on the AT yesterday, let’s hold this dose a couple more cycles and see if she can do it again. Let’s work on getting her flatter first which might allow her to tolerate a 0.25u increase.

Remember that if the +2 is even the same as the PS, she’s going to drop. I would up the ante on the carbs at +2 if she’s the same or less than PS....perhaps try a MC food. Again...while the goal is to be able to feed LC, we know she’s a big diver so let’s try and prevent it. I’d actually even try your MC for all four minimeals at tomorrow’s a.m. cycle; t’s just an experiment to see what she does....so don’t be freaked if you see higher numbers. She seems to more consistently dive in the mornings so let’s start the experiment there.

Feel better and let me know if you have questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top