3/10 Clyde AMPS 106 PMPS 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

fun2doimpossible

Member Since 2013
Last condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...122-1-5-102-pmps-82-5-86.133346/#post-1374755

Good evening LL!

How is everyone doing? Clyde is doing well. Other then last night he has been in the green/low blues at each PS on .1u of insulin. Last night his PMPS was 147 which was the highest number I recorded in over a month. He dropped in the 60s later on that night.

Based on his number what do you think about trying an OTJ trial again when I run out of insulin? I have about 10u of insulin left and need to refill the prescription later this week.
 
wow, Will! How exciting! Clyde's doing fantastically!

Per the TR Protocol, if you have 7 days at a particular dose and all normal numbers (50-120), you can try to reduce the dose.
Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Just to be on the safe side, I'm going to ask some other experienced people to look at his ss too.
:D :D:D

I'm so glad you haven't disappeared and you're letting us share in his great progress! Thanks for that!
 
Will, have you ever tried giving a teaspoon (literally) of his regular food at +9? That's a little trick that works for some kitties near to OTJ. A bite about then can stimulate the pancreas into action and as it puts out a little insulin, it can result in the blood sugar being a little lower 3 hours later. That can bring down the preshot #s. It's not enough carbs to increase his BGs, just enough to get a little pancreas action going.

You might try that and see if his preshots come down.
 
Hi @julie & punkin (ga) and @Vyktors Mum

I haven't tried giving him a teaspoon of food at +9, only because with work I'm not home at +9 except on weekends. :(

Both he and Max are on a vet ordered diet. Needless to say they aren't happy campers and I think Max figured out how to open the autofeeder. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top