? 3/12 Arya: AMPS 411, +2 336, 3.5U, increase?

KatieBDZ

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-307-2-395-throwing-up-neg-ketones.226864/

Hi all,
I think it's time for an increase? I've been getting mid cycle tests in since I'm still home with the flu and it doesn't seem like she's dropping much at all. I will also try to venture out to get her different wet foods/freeze dried raw food to see if I can find something that is ok with her tummy so I can transition her food. She's still eating very well, and was not sick overnight/this morning other than some loose stool.

Thanks!
 
Which dosing method are you following? If SLGS or TR you're due for an increase.

I hope you don't have to physically go out if you're sick. Perhaps you can have the food delivered. Amazon can ship in a day or two. That's how I get all of my freeze dried foods - too difficult to find in the stores. Chewy.com also has plenty of freeze dried foods.
 
Please don't go shopping if you have the flu!!

Could you see if you can track down some foods that are novel proteins for Arya? You keep noting that she's vomiting and having diarrhea. She may have food sensitivities. ZiwiPeak is pricy but they have novel proteins in both canned and an air dried raw varieties. It's a very high quality food -- no gums or carrageenan. I'd encourage you to contact the manufacturer and see if they would send you samples. Telling them you have a fussy diabetic cat might help since you don't want to buy a case of something she won't eat.

I'm not sure which probiotic you're using. I'm a fan of S. boulardii to help with diarrhea.

And I agree -- it's time to increase to 3.75u.

@Sue and Luci - Arya is still eating some dry food so it's SLGS.
 
Thank you both - I'm actually much better and have been home for over a week already but with the current climate maybe I should just order to be on the safe side. I was only hesitant to order online because you have to buy a lot and if it made her sick/she didn't like it not sure what I'd do with it. It's a good idea to call and ask for a sample - maybe I'll do that :) when feeding the freeze dried raw do you mix with water/rehydrate? And how do you do the transition (since I can't exactly mix with her dry food)..I read somewhere to alternate meals with it because the dry food takes a longer time to digest than the raw and it could make her sick?

This is the probiotic I found online which says it contains Saccharomyces Boulardii:
https://www.amazon.com/DrFormulas-N...hilus/dp/B0746849T4?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Will do the increase to 3.75 for her PM shot - I've held this one for so long because of lack of testing when I've been sick :(

Thank you!!
 
Back
Top