3/13 Carbon AMPS 377 +4 334

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by mialia, Mar 13, 2019.

1. mialia

mialia Member

Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/carbon-3-8-amps-467-3-hi-question.211670/#post-2347235

I've just increased his dose. I'm trying to follow the german method to the best I can. Because I travel for a living, though, it isn't easy and I have to modify it. Add in that I came home yesterday with my own fever and death plague... Now per the german method I should be increasing by .5 but at the level he is now, he was crashing before I did a 7 day vacation dose at .5. So I know assuming similar pancreatic function, he isn't far off. Also, next time I'm home without the fever I'm going to take him to his vet to start the treatment for hypertyroidism. The other vet wanted to wait two months but I think this month is plenty to see a trend. He's still eating WAY more and not gaining weight so I think the diagnosis is accurate.

I wish signatures allowed my space so I could put my faq in there. I fly for a living, so I'm gone for days. I have a roommate that does shots when I'm gone. She pretests but I don't have her test in between, which means dose adjustments have to be timed such that I have a day at home to do a curve, change the dose, and two days to curve after. My schedule isn't always on point. With a better roommate I could do curves but she is not that. I just got a new roommate but sadly, she's not working out well. I came home last night after being gone only two nights and his favorite water bowl was empty. (He has four other sources of water) When I told her we were increasing his dose to 1.5 (That's three of the tiny lines, I said) she replied, "that's what we've been doing!". Great. So he should have been 1.25 and now I don't know where he has been. When I clarified it should have been below that third line she said, "Oh that's what I meant"....