The 1.75 was given in a possilble high before the low scenario, that black was unusual. Today was after a fur shot so there is some depot settling action going on, and NDW.
That's a good point, since the last time he got 1.5 units for a BG in the 400s, it lowered the BG to the upper 200s. Though it was an approximate 150 mg/dL drop, and today's was an approximate 135 mg/dL drop, so it's still in line with his previous response.
Should I be giving a smaller dose? I'm very happy with the response, but I understand the goal is to lower the BG by no more than 50-100 mg/dL at a time. Though this didn't seem to cause a bounce yesterday, and if the 3/11 PMPS was a bounce, it lasted less than 2 hours.
I wish I had insight into the physiology behind the 512 to 291 drop. While it clearly started to act right away, the flat 3 hours he typically shows from +2 to +4 after an R injection didn't show up until +4 to +6. Sure, this is an unusual situation... but no physiological response is ever without cause or mechanism, even if it seems random or medicine can't explain it yet. I started skipping the +3 when I saw how flat he is for 3 hours, but got it for the last 4 doses to make sure he wasn't still dropping at the same rate, and on 3/11 it was justified. But it would be helpful to know (after getting the +2) when I need a +3 and when I don't.
For now, I'm basing the decision on whether the +2 is in line with previous responses, unless I don't have enough data to judge that yet, or unless I'm shooting a new dose/new highest or lowest number for the first time.