3/14 Chino|AMPS=443|+6=306|PMPS=366|+2=379|+4=374

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice drop, gotta love having R in the toolbox.

Definitely! It's amazing how much peace of mind it gives me to have a quick way to bring the numbers down, and a backup for fur shots or high/flat Lantus cycles. Though it's going to be difficult to develop a scale when 1.75 units drops him from 512 to 291, while 1.5 units only drops him from 443 to 307... o_O
 
Both of those examples of R you gave were different circumstances. The 1.75 was given in a possilble high before the low scenario, that black was unusual. Today was after a fur shot so there is some depot settling action going on, and NDW. It's easier to build a scale in a "normal" Lantus cycle and then adapt for circumstances.
 
Working with R on the fly is something of an art. There are other moving parts to consider when evaluating the effects, most of all the underlying L action - injected as well as any depot action.

It's a great tool but also a double edged sword. It's easy to be seduced by its power to bring down numbers quickly . One can easily get caught in a self created endless loop of shooting down an undesirable number, causing a low that results in a bounce back up.... using R to shoot that back down...the R roller coaster. It's psychologically difficult to get out of such s loop. Best to avoid it.
 
The 1.75 was given in a possilble high before the low scenario, that black was unusual. Today was after a fur shot so there is some depot settling action going on, and NDW.

That's a good point, since the last time he got 1.5 units for a BG in the 400s, it lowered the BG to the upper 200s. Though it was an approximate 150 mg/dL drop, and today's was an approximate 135 mg/dL drop, so it's still in line with his previous response.

Should I be giving a smaller dose? I'm very happy with the response, but I understand the goal is to lower the BG by no more than 50-100 mg/dL at a time. Though this didn't seem to cause a bounce yesterday, and if the 3/11 PMPS was a bounce, it lasted less than 2 hours.

I wish I had insight into the physiology behind the 512 to 291 drop. While it clearly started to act right away, the flat 3 hours he typically shows from +2 to +4 after an R injection didn't show up until +4 to +6. Sure, this is an unusual situation... but no physiological response is ever without cause or mechanism, even if it seems random or medicine can't explain it yet. I started skipping the +3 when I saw how flat he is for 3 hours, but got it for the last 4 doses to make sure he wasn't still dropping at the same rate, and on 3/11 it was justified. But it would be helpful to know (after getting the +2) when I need a +3 and when I don't.

For now, I'm basing the decision on whether the +2 is in line with previous responses, unless I don't have enough data to judge that yet, or unless I'm shooting a new dose/new highest or lowest number for the first time.
 
Adrian, I applaud your persistence and dedication with Chino. Also your knowledge of "know thy cat". After months on insulin, Ozzy is still totally unpredictable to how he reacts to any given dose of insulin. The "guessing game" is always the fun part for us. :confused: Glad with all you are dealing with, you at least understand how your kitty is going to react even if you don't yet get the why part.

Always wishing you luck with Chino's journey. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top