3-14 Gizmo PMPS=147; +2=175 VET UPDATE

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Chubba (GA), Mar 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Yesterday

    Back at the vet again tonight for the puppy and civvie. Gizmo’s vet (soon to be the vet we request for all our animals) was there and stopped in to talk with us. The specialist said even though his IGF-1 increased it was nothing to be concerned about. I believe the number was 329 (up from 301). Also said that as long as the cabergoline appears to be working and his clinical signs are improving to keep using it at the dose we are giving. They are concerned about hyperthyroidism again, so we are going to have that blood work done again Friday night. I told her that the Cerenia doesn’t seem to be making a difference and she prescribed an appetite stimulate (mirtz - something I believe). She has been so helpful and hasn’t even met Gizmo yet. She just kinda inherited his case because the vet who did his blood work on a Saturday is only part time and she went over his blood work at an appt for one of our other animals. Actually all of the vets at this office are pretty good, but we really like her.

    So when we returned from the vet visit, Gizmo appeared to be starving ... nothing unusual, but he typically still won’t eat ... but he devoured his PMPS meal! I guess I just needed to bring the appetite stimulant into the house. Lol

    I had pretty much given up on Monday, but maybe things are starting to look better!

    @Marje and Gracie - could you look at the latest labs when you have a chance
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Gizmo ate good for you. It sounds like you have a good vet.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  3. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    AMBG = 158
    AMPS = 191 (1 hour late) (1.25 units!:woot:)
    +2 = 144
    +4 = 81
    +5 = 72
    +6 = 84
    +9.5 = 103
     
  4. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    I remember Chris from RVC telling me early on the one kitty out of the six who was doing great on the Cabergoline trial still had a high IGF1#.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  5. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    That’s good to know. I’m so afraid that something else might be going on. Who knew he’d be in great numbers and a low dose and I would be terrified about everything under the sun being wrong. :confused: I hope he continues to eat, that makes me feel so much better about the situation.
     
  6. Alicia & Maggie (GA)

    Alicia & Maggie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Nice string of green today! Hope he continues to eat well for you. :bighug:
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    How's it going with the "micro" dosing? :cool:

    I also read somewhere that the cabergoline did not have the IGF-1 lower properties that they were hoping it would. But it must be reducing the growth hormone somewhat, cause his dose is going down. That too is good for Gizmo.

    Have you ever tried ondansetron for nausea? Sometimes it works better than Cerenia. They target different nausea receptors. Any chance you got the mirtazapine in transdermal format? Some kitties go owlie on oral mirtazapine, but the transdermal is absorbed slower and you don't get the odd side effects. I hope just having it in the house means you don't have to use it.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page