3/15 AMPS 361,+2 391,+4 370(went to Vet),+6 313,+8 308,PMPS 257,+1.75 212,+2.5 184,+3.5 157,+5 181

Hopefully he'll slide on down for you by tonight, you certainly nailed it on the head with what he was going to do this cycle.

During the night I have been giving Yo boiled chicken. I am very surprised that he eats it, but he is and I believe chicken has no carbs so it shouldn't raise his BG....right?
Some pieces of boiled chicken shouldn't really affect his BG, some folk use it in kitties with acid tummy who can't go long without eating, they'll use it for feeds late in the cycle because it won't usually affect BG.
 
Yo heard you, no bouncing, +2 is good, 85(human meter) and 129(Alphatrak2).

I have a question as I am always thinking ahead....what number is considered too low to shoot in the morning using the HUMAN METER? (I don't know how brave I will be when I see a low number)! I think the lowest number that I have shot was 113 on the human meter. I know that I am supposed to know my cat, but sometimes he does not follow "the rules";) of his SS and instead of going up @+1 and +2, he has dropped and that is what SCARES me the most!!

During the night I have been giving Yo boiled chicken. I am very surprised that he eats it, but he is and I believe chicken has no carbs so it shouldn't raise his BG....right? Please let me know if I am doing right by giving him chicken during the night. He cries almost every night on schedule at around 1:30. I don't need an alarm, he wakes me up!!
Tomorrow I am taking him to the vet to have his thyroid level rechecked so his BG will go up a lot, probably in the 300's. When he gets home it will drop, so I'll monitor him closely, (like I don't already....I make myself laugh).
Have a good night-I won't bother you anymore:bighug:

Sorry I didn’t see this last night. The lowest number we shoot on a human meter is 50. If you get a number like that and just need some support, then post before you feed him and see if anyone is around just to give you moral support. You’ll want to consider if the lower number is a dropping number or if it’s a lantus second dip. A dropping number usually comes from clearing a bounce and you’ll see the BG slowly dropping during the earlier part of the cycle and +12 being the lowest number (or close to it). With a second dip, you’ll see a nadir around the normal time, numbers will come up a bit, and then they’ll drop again around +12 but are not generally lower than the nadir.

The second scenario is one that you don’t normally need to get help with as we would expect numbers to rise from there until onset. The best option is to feed a good portion of his regular food and test at +1 to be sure numbers are rising.

Shooting a dropping number can be a great way to take advantage of carryover and overlap but you have to be on your toes with the testing. A lot of times, a CG who’s been around awhile but not shot a lot of green will get a 50 something number and stall only to find the BG keeps dropping to where they have to skip the shot because it’s below 50. The best way to handle this, provided you have supplies and are available for/able to test is to shoot it and perhaps feed a good meal of MC food so it stops the drop but doesn’t shoot them way up. A CG experienced with shooting dropping numbers and who has a lot of data on their cat can most likely feed LC; however, if you’ve not done this before and you want to see how he does, I’d give him MC and see if that just stops the drop or even raises it a tiny bit so he’ll stay flat green when he onsets. A little bit of cushion before onset can help a CG new at shooting dropping numbers gain a little confidence. Always test at +1 and +2.

As Gill said, feeding boiled chicken shouldn’t matter at all even late in the cycle.

You are never, ever a bother. I’m thrilled you are seeing such better numbers and you are handling it really well.

I hope all went well at the vet. Let’s hope the higher dose will help him clear bounces faster.
 
Sorry I didn’t see this last night. The lowest number we shoot on a human meter is 50. If you get a number like that and just need some support, then post before you feed him and see if anyone is around just to give you moral support. You’ll want to consider if the lower number is a dropping number or if it’s a lantus second dip. A dropping number usually comes from clearing a bounce and you’ll see the BG slowly dropping during the earlier part of the cycle and +12 being the lowest number (or close to it). With a second dip, you’ll see a nadir around the normal time, numbers will come up a bit, and then they’ll drop again around +12 but are not generally lower than the nadir.

The second scenario is one that you don’t normally need to get help with as we would expect numbers to rise from there until onset. The best option is to feed a good portion of his regular food and test at +1 to be sure numbers are rising.

Shooting a dropping number can be a great way to take advantage of carryover and overlap but you have to be on your toes with the testing. A lot of times, a CG who’s been around awhile but not shot a lot of green will get a 50 something number and stall only to find the BG keeps dropping to where they have to skip the shot because it’s below 50. The best way to handle this, provided you have supplies and are available for/able to test is to shoot it and perhaps feed a good meal of MC food so it stops the drop but doesn’t shoot them way up. A CG experienced with shooting dropping numbers and who has a lot of data on their cat can most likely feed LC; however, if you’ve not done this before and you want to see how he does, I’d give him MC and see if that just stops the drop or even raises it a tiny bit so he’ll stay flat green when he onsets. A little bit of cushion before onset can help a CG new at shooting dropping numbers gain a little confidence. Always test at +1 and +2.

As Gill said, feeding boiled chicken shouldn’t matter at all even late in the cycle.

You are never, ever a bother. I’m thrilled you are seeing such better numbers and you are handling it really well.

I hope all went well at the vet. Let’s hope the higher dose will help him clear bounces faster.

Thank you for asking......Yoyo went to the vet to have his T4 rechecked. Won't know results until tomorrow or Monday. I hope his levels are back to normal as I don't want to keep increasing with that not so nice medicine and I am unsure about the treatment to kill his thryroid functions. What can I say....always something to worry about!

Would you call tonights cycle a dropping number? I checked him at +1.75 in case this cycle was a dropping number but he didn't move much.

I want to ask you about last night's cycle. He got low with the human meter, 56@+3. I fed LC food, normal amount. Was this the correct thing to do or should I have given him MC @+3? I know he did fine but I also know he could have gone lower which of course I couldn't predict at that time. Of course now it looks like I made the right decision....but there is always "the what if" scenerio..... What would you have done?
 
Hopefully he'll slide on down for you by tonight, you certainly nailed it on the head with what he was going to do this cycle.


Some pieces of boiled chicken shouldn't really affect his BG, some folk use it in kitties with acid tummy who can't go long without eating, they'll use it for feeds late in the cycle because it won't usually affect BG.
Thank you for letting me know...much appreciated:cat:
 
Thank you for asking......Yoyo went to the vet to have his T4 rechecked. Won't know results until tomorrow or Monday. I hope his levels are back to normal as I don't want to keep increasing with that not so nice medicine and I am unsure about the treatment to kill his thryroid functions. What can I say....always something to worry about!
I hope he’s stable!

Would you call tonights cycle a dropping number? I checked him at +1.75 in case this cycle was a dropping number but he didn't move much.
He looks fairly flat today to me but his PMPS is a dropping number. It’s just not a scary one :eek::confused::cool::woot::smuggrin: His almost +2 is pretty similar to his PMPS so you might see him drop more tonight.

I want to ask you about last night's cycle. He got low with the human meter, 56@+3. I fed LC food, normal amount. Was this the correct thing to do or should I have given him MC @+3?
You did great!!! This is where ECID really comes in. He responded beautifully to the LC which is what we want. If this had been Gracie with a drop like YoYo had between PMPS and +2, I’d have had to feed HC to slow her down. He’s more responsive to LC. This is where we have to learn what works for our kitty and you got some great data last night. Could it change? Sure but you’ve got a good starting point to know he does respond to LC when he’s dropping early on.
 
Yoyo is starting to give you some really nice numbers! Pretty exciting, but nerve wracking too isn’t it! :nailbiting:
Oh my gosh.....I start to get overwhelmed but then I remember what everyone has taught me and I hear everyone telling me that I am in control with the food, but it is still scary and especially at night. During the day it doesn't seem so bad, but some how when it is dark outside and he is showing me low numbers, it sets my nerves off even more!
 
Oh my gosh.....I start to get overwhelmed but then I remember what everyone has taught me and I hear everyone telling me that I am in control with the food, but it is still scary and especially at night. During the day it doesn't seem so bad, but some how when it is dark outside and he is showing me low numbers, it sets my nerves off even more!

I’ve looked at his SS, you do a great job keeping a close eye on him. The days scare me because I have to be at work. I’ve loaded up Scooter’s feeder with MC just to be on the safe side plenty of times and then worried the whole time at work.
 
I’ve looked at his SS, you do a great job keeping a close eye on him. The days scare me because I have to be at work. I’ve loaded up Scooter’s feeder with MC just to be on the safe side plenty of times and then worried the whole time at work.

Wow, my hat goes off to you! I work from home and that is why I can keep a watch on him. But you do a fantastic job keeping track of Scooter and you go to work. I don't know how you do it!
Scooter's numbers look awesome. I want Yoyo to be in green numbers, but I don't know how I will give him his insulin dosage when he shows me low green numbers. 113 is the lowest number that I have given Yoyo his insulin dose. I am not good at predicting if he will go up or down @+2. I don't have all the understandings of his SS, I don't know how to read it at this time. It doesn't follow a pattern and that is what scares me about shooting low numbers. I never know where he will end up. I know bounces are to be taken into consideration, but I'm still at a lost. Hopefully with more time, I'll get a better understanding of his SS.
 
I hope he’s stable!


He looks fairly flat today to me but his PMPS is a dropping number. It’s just not a scary one :eek::confused::cool::woot::smuggrin: His almost +2 is pretty similar to his PMPS so you might see him drop more tonight.


You did great!!! This is where ECID really comes in. He responded beautifully to the LC which is what we want. If this had been Gracie with a drop like YoYo had between PMPS and +2, I’d have had to feed HC to slow her down. He’s more responsive to LC. This is where we have to learn what works for our kitty and you got some great data last night. Could it change? Sure but you’ve got a good starting point to know he does respond to LC when he’s dropping early on.

I'm confused again.....Last night at +3 he was responsive to the food, but other nights like for example 3/12, his +4's at AM and PM were lower numbers and he was fed the same food. This is where I am confused and I cannot predict outcomes with food.
 
I'm confused again.....Last night at +3 he was responsive to the food, but other nights like for example 3/12, his +4's at AM and PM were lower numbers and he was fed the same food. This is where I am confused and I cannot predict outcomes with food.
I’m sorry, I don’t understand the question. Do you mean that he was able to surf last night but on 3/12, he went up?

For one, his dose was different...it was less....so it’s possible he’s so carb sensitive that it sent him up a bit to surf a little higher.
 
I’m sorry, I don’t understand the question. Do you mean that he was able to surf last night but on 3/12, he went up?

For one, his dose was different...it was less....so it’s possible he’s so carb sensitive that it sent him up a bit to surf a little higher.
Sorry, I was just trying to say that sometimes food slows him down and other times he goes lower after eating. On March 12, March 11 and March 10 his nadir was at +4 and on March 10 his nadir in PM cycle was at +6. Food didn't raise his BG levels on those days. That is where I get confused how food works.
 
Sorry, I was just trying to say that sometimes food slows him down and other times he goes lower after eating. On March 12, March 11 and March 10 his nadir was at +4 and on March 10 his nadir in PM cycle was at +6. Food didn't raise his BG levels on those days. That is where I get confused how food works.
Thanks for clarifying. Nadirs move around a bit. Differences in absorption can affect duration. Also, at times, as the depot gets really full, you might see the nadir moving earlier.

Although the LC didn’t have the same exact affect, he still stayed pretty flat.
 
Back
Top