3/16 Doodle has lymphoma PMPS 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

He is back home. We will be seeing regular vet tomorrow and oncologist wednesday. He was only given prednisolone 5mg, BID. His PMPS was 89. He did not get any insulin while in the ER. I gave him 0.5u. I know sometimes with presnisolone the BG's rise. Suggestions on dosing? Do you still follow same dosing guidelines? Prior to ER I was giving 0.5u or 0.75u with a BG around that number.

Thank you for all your well wishes. I have a lot of research to do so any info. is appreciated. The vet said the lymphoma is most likely from a mass not another organ.
 
We had Zener on Budesonide for a bit, after he was diagnosed with IBD. It helped for a few weeks, then we switched to Prednisolone, same pattern, helped for a bit. We did have to increase his insulin with the Prednisolone. At the end, he developed fluid in his abdomen, and our vet told us his IBD had likely converted to intestinal lymphoma. We were so grateful for all the knowledge and experience here that gave us a few extra months with our special guy. Sending you lots of hugs.

Anne
 
Sending vines and prayers for Doodle. Feel free to PM me with any specific questions about intestinal lymphoma. Remember, it's my civvie that has it, though, so I can't help as it pertains to FD.
 
I don't know if Doodle has room for extra love with you guys on hand but I'm sending some anyway - a truck load :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
More vines are on the way for Doodle. I'm sorry I don't have experience with that drug, but you are sure to get lots more good advice here from people who do. You might have to raise Doodle's dose. Thinking of you and hoping that all will work out and that Doodle will tolerate the meds well.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm very sorry for the dx, Jenn. Our GA Teddi Bear had large cell lymphoma of the upper small intestine. We started chemo and she tolerated it very, very well. However, due to her age and other issues (very early CKD, hyperT), she crossed the Bridge due to a pulmonary embolism that had nothing to do with her lymphoma or treatment. The oncologist just told us as they age and have several conditions, it makes them more fragile and very prone to having pulmonary embolisms. Doodles is in a very different situation.

I do know the oncologist (who is one of the leading oncologists in the US) told me cats tolerate chemo very well; and Teddi did. We saw a big improvement in her after two treatments and she was never sick from the chemo. She still was eating well.

Paws crossed and many prayers.
 
Healing prayers for Doodle and a big hug to you too. Like Marje said chemotherapy can be very well tolerated by cats and lymphoma can respond really well to chemotherapy so that may be an option if you wished to pursue it. More hugs and love and understanding to you too.
 
My Tiffany had intermediate cell intestinal lymphoma and early CKD. She was just ten years old. In spite of poor care from her oncologist she lived for about 10 months and would have lived longer had the oncologist not missed a UTI that made her kidneys progress to stage 4 and caused her to stop chemo. The chemo doesn't make them sick. The cancer does. I'd join the yahoo lymphoma list. A really good vet responds often and is a good second opinion. Good luck. There are many success stories.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top