3/20 Rosa AMPS 177 +1 107 +1.5 101 +2.25 81 +3 104 +3.5 79 +4 87 +11 109 PMPS 98 +2 95 +4 91 +6 96

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is ridiculous. I'm meant to leave for work now, but with that much of a drop in an hour and no testing until tonight if I'm not here, I really can't go anywhere. I don't see how I can keep working at all like this.
 
She ate a lot right after AMPS too - where's the food spike? I had to call work and tell them I'm going to be late...possibly very late...this morning.
 
Come on Rosa, level this out and surf for me - please!! Or grab your reduction quick so I can carb you up and at least get half a day in at work - I feel bad enough about having to call and say I'll be late never mind if I have to take the whole day off.
 
:arghh: Just when I thought I might be able to leave because she was up a bit she comes right back down. And she's done this one slightly higher number followed by 3 or 4 drops before when she's trying for a reduction. :P Figure if she's still level at +4 I should be good to go? Michael can keep an eye on her, but won't be able to test.
 
I know exactly how you feel. LOL! It took me a long time to feel comfortable leaving Sammy when he was dropping quickly. This morning Sammy hit 56 just before I left for the office. I had given him a good bit of 8% carb food when I left and he ate most of it before I walked out the door so I felt pretty comfortable leaving him when he seemed to still be dropping. That comes from knowing how he reacts to food. When I checked him at +5 he was at 69, which I know was a direct result of the 8% food that I gave him before I left. If I had left him only 0-5% he probably would have surfed, but I didn't want to take the chance that he would go too low.

I hope Rosa earns a reduction before the next time you have to go to work, I know how stressful it is. Not sure how you can reduce much more other than to go back on an OTJ trial.
 
She can be an absolute horror when she decides to drop that quickly - or she can come right back up. There's no way of knowing without testing. And because I'm out from +1 to +10.5, that's way too long for me to leave her not knowing what's happening. Unfortunately, she always needs gravy and often a drop of honey to bring her back up - I can't even leave it out for her "just in case" because either she or one of the other cats would eat it immediately.

I'm really hoping she earns that last reduction over the weekend - I'm not sure how much of this my nerves can take!! We're going to try some new treats and desensitizing her on testing this weekend too so that hopefully Michael can go back to testing her while I'm not here - if he'd had to test as often as I have this morning she'd have most likely put him in the ER by biting him by now. :P There isn't anywhere else for her to go other than another trial if she does earn the reduction, but maybe that extra week on a tiny, tiny dose might have made the difference between her making the trial and failing it a couple of days in - I can only hope!!
 
Now, Rosa - surf. And that's an order!!! Momma has to go to work now so be good. If I get there and have to come right back because you're showing hypo symptoms I won't be happy! :P
 
Well, she was still alive when I got home - still not all that much higher though...I do wonder if she dropped further after I left. And apparently, the freeze-dried duck I bought is the bomb - the only problem was getting her to wait long enough to be tested before she went after another piece!! It's really meant for dogs but it was the only thing I could find quickly that didn't have anything added to it - I'll take a better look tomorrow when I have a bit more time, but I just wanted to get home to her today.
 
Good girl Rosa. Can you hold it about there for an hour or so? Just long enough for us to go get dinner - momma doesn't feel like cooking today. She really, really likes the treats - she even went to Michael (with a bit of coaxing) to take a treat from him :D He hasn't tried testing her yet - I tested, then he gave her the treat. Figure if she associates him with the treats it'll be easier for him to test her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top