3/21 Ozzy PMPS 269 +2.5 80 +4 43 +4.15 49 +4.45 65 +5.5 85

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Ozzy Pawzbourne, Mar 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Yesterday

    Well, as predicted, Ozzy just dropped low. He is at 43 at +4 tonight. Dang.

    PMPS 269
    +2.5 = 80 - gave regular LC meal
    +4 =43 - just fed HC

    Will test again in about 15 minutes to make sure he is starting to come up. I was a little surprised he dropped so fast from the 80 to the 43.

    This stuff is fun, huh?? :eek::facepalm:
     
  2. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Should we be giving honey or karo with a 43 number? He is/was acting fine. He was sitting on my lap grooming himself when I just did the test. Not acting weird or anything. He did just scarf down his food though. I don't want to overact.
     
  3. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Btw.. he got a reduced dose last night due to a 64 ps number. Went back to his 1u for AM & PM shot today.
     
  4. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    +4.15 = 49 Just gave him a little bit of Gravy Lovers, mostly gravy to try to bring his numbers up more. He still has a few hours to go... Will test again in another 15 mins or so.
     
  5. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Oh gosh, I've had bad luck with the kitty committee the last two nights....just happen to be posting questions when not many members are on. o_O It's late here, almost 11pm.

    Will keep posting updates. Ozzy is acting fine. He is very happy to be getting gravy. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    @Barbara & Uncle Hi Barbara, I think you might be on the board, so just tagging you for your thoughts on Ozzy's 'situation' tonight. Going to grab another test right now and will post back.
     
  7. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    +4.45 =65 He has come up a little, now over 50. This test was 30 minutes since he finished the gravy lovers. Should I give him a little more?
     
  8. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hey there, for some reason the "tagging" isn't working. I noticed that last night as well.
     
  9. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Thanks for letting me know. I know sometimes this site has some wonkiness...

    Do you think I should give Ozzy more food? It's past my bedtime. Wasn't planning to stay up this late and was thinking I could stay up for another half hour. If we need to keep it up later, obviously we will for his safety..
     
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I usually save the Karo for the 30's (or the 20's!....been there, done that)

    Now that he's above 50, you could give him a teaspoon of low carb, but you'll want to test again in 30 minutes either way to make sure he stays above 50 and doesn't drop back down
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  11. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Usually people have advised me to stick with LC when they are 50 or above. So I might do that. It's good you gave him mostly gravy in case you need to feed more. I would let it ride for now.
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  12. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Ok, will do. This is the part I get a little confused on. I know to feed HC to bring him up, but I'm not really sure how much/how many more times to feed once we get him up above 50.

    Never been in the 20s/30s thankfully. Hubby gave Ozzy honey twice and it didn't go too well. Ozzy freaked out and ran all around the house trying to get it off his face. Hubby was a little barbarian and just wiped it across his lips instead of trying to put it on his gums. So... I try to do the HC first and resort to honey only if truly needed.
     
  13. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Oh good I see Chris is on!
    That doesn't surprise me when I saw the PMPS and then the +2.5. Jeez he was making some moves!
     
  14. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Thanks. Chris said the same thing about the LC for now.

    Ozzy is acting fine. Getting into trouble with Figgie right now.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  15. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    How much insulin did you give tonight? It's not on your spreadsheet

    And Congratulations on the reduction!! Tomorrow down to .75!!

    If you absolutely can't stay up any longer, you can abort the cycle and really carb him up but you'll still want to test for awhile to make sure he doesn't drop back down

    Tonight's one of those nights you may need to set an alarm just to be safe

    Welcome to your PJ party!! :coffee::coffee::coffee:
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  16. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Right! This cat is a bit dramatic sometimes!!!

    dramacat1.png
     
  17. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    1U. Thanks for letting me know I forgot to add to SS. Updated it just now. He got a half dose last night because he had a 64 preshot number. He got 1U both cycles today.
     
  18. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Uuuuggghhh.... they sound so fun, but they are NOT! lol
     
    Taffysmama likes this.
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Well he's done with that dose for now!!
     
  20. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Been waiting to post that drama cat pix for awhile. Hahah!:woot::woot:
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  21. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    SERIOUSLY!
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  22. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    nope...
     
  23. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Chris, Ozzy has been bouncing between doses for sometime. I knew when we took him back up to 1u it was just a matter of time he would drop low and need a reduction. I will put him back down to .75U in the am but will worry that he's going to stick in the yellows now. Do you believe in the rule of reduce after 3 drops below 50? I think this is a concept for long term diabetics. I'm not sure what is considered long term. And we really don't know how long Ozzy has been diabetic. I could see this coming, especially with is bounce breaking cycle yesterday.
     
  24. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Those "people" have mostly been Chris, Tricia and Gill. Thank goodness for them!
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Long term is considered diagnosed longer than a year

    Now there are times we'll suggest the "3 below 50" for other cats....cats that don't hold reductions but with Ozzy, I'd go ahead and reduce this time....if he doesn't hold this reduction, we can try the "3 below 50" next time
     
  26. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Amen to that!!! :)
     
  27. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    gonna run and get a +2 from Uncle
     
  28. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Sounds good. Will do. Thank you!!!!
     
  29. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Thanks Barbara! Have a good night!
     
  30. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Ozzy is eating another snack now. Going to get another test in 20 mins and if he's looking good, will head to bed and put his 1 am snack (which will be 1 hour from now) in auto feeder as back up.
     
    Taffysmama likes this.
  31. Taffysmama

    Taffysmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Wow, Ozzy! I think Ozzy & Taffy are trying to tell us something...they want to get into soap opera acting, perhaps.

    Nothing much over here, lately. Mainly due to mama bean being run ragged.
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  32. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Sounds like a plan

    Sorry but I can't stay any longer....it's already going on 2am and I have to be out in the morning!!

    Ozzy....this is Deputy China talking.....You hop on your surfboard and show everyone what I've been teaching you!!...and stay away from da sharks!!! [​IMG]
     
  33. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Thanks @Chris & China! We will be ok. I mostly needed guidance on what to feed after the come up to 50. I feel ok. I appreciate you coming to my rescue ((again!!)).

    Sleep well!:bighug:
     
  34. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Hope you start feeling better soon Julie!

    It rained again today out here... you know my theory with Ozzy and the rain! It's SOOO weird because it's true!! LOL!
     
    Taffysmama likes this.
  35. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    @Barbara & Uncle are getting to be real pro's too!!

    She's learned her lessons well!!
     
  36. Taffysmama

    Taffysmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    I had a feeling that Taffy would have gone low today, too, but I had to skip his AM shot due to regurgitating breakfast.
     
  37. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    OMG, remember I had some epic runs of p.j. parties for a while there?!
     
  38. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Absolutely!!

    That's one of the strengths of the message board though....Like they say in surgery "See one, Do one, Teach one".....as older members drop away, newer ones need to be willing to step up and "pay forward" what they've learned!
     
  39. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    It's really an incredible experience. My gratitude is immense :bighug:
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  40. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Oh yes! Absolutely! @Barbara & Uncle has been to my rescue many many times! Thank you too Barbara!!!!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  41. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    +5.5 = 85. Headed to bed. Hope Ozzy stays up on his surfboard and not swimming with the sharks or flying to the moon. Nighty Night Kitty Committee!! :bighug::bighug:
     
  42. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Looks like Ozzy's coming up pretty nicely. Has it been an hour and a half since the HC?
     
  43. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Just cross posted. Looking good. I'm going to get some sleep too while Uncle is in high yellows!
    Nite!
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  44. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:......hugs and prayers from the Ozarks ;). You are doing fabulous :):):):):):)
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page