Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-22-asia-amps-108.192950/
Asia had a weird am cycle yesterday, I ran out of bupe and had to go get more, her am dose was a tad short and I think that made the numbers what they were, honestly. She was being sweet and silly last night.
Obsessively reading "The Diabetes Solution" by Richard K. Bernstein, MD. He has done for human diabetics what we are trying to do for our cats (pushing a no carb/low carb diet and euglycemic numbers).
His backstory is fascinating, he was diagnosed as diabetic at age 12, suffered many complications and he became a physician after having a first career as an engineer because he made some important discoveries in regulation and wanted to publish, but nobody would listen to him without those two letters M and D after his name! Much like an engineer, he sees diabetes management as very much a science in that if you weigh your food, eat the same or similar amount of proteins and fat each day, small meals frequently, you will achieve tight regulation. He also discusses how to calculate exactly how much sugar will bring you up how many mg/dL by bodyweight. It all sounds a bit too good to be true, but he has helped many people including a lot of parents managing their children's diabetes. I'm reading with enthusiasm and hoping to apply some of this knowledge to Asia and of course share with all of you here. He has a bunch of videos on YouTube (including a great one about Somogyi being a myth) if anyone is interested.
Asia had a weird am cycle yesterday, I ran out of bupe and had to go get more, her am dose was a tad short and I think that made the numbers what they were, honestly. She was being sweet and silly last night.
Obsessively reading "The Diabetes Solution" by Richard K. Bernstein, MD. He has done for human diabetics what we are trying to do for our cats (pushing a no carb/low carb diet and euglycemic numbers).
His backstory is fascinating, he was diagnosed as diabetic at age 12, suffered many complications and he became a physician after having a first career as an engineer because he made some important discoveries in regulation and wanted to publish, but nobody would listen to him without those two letters M and D after his name! Much like an engineer, he sees diabetes management as very much a science in that if you weigh your food, eat the same or similar amount of proteins and fat each day, small meals frequently, you will achieve tight regulation. He also discusses how to calculate exactly how much sugar will bring you up how many mg/dL by bodyweight. It all sounds a bit too good to be true, but he has helped many people including a lot of parents managing their children's diabetes. I'm reading with enthusiasm and hoping to apply some of this knowledge to Asia and of course share with all of you here. He has a bunch of videos on YouTube (including a great one about Somogyi being a myth) if anyone is interested.

