3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~PMPS 104+4 78

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Randi & Max (GA), Mar 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yesterday's Condo

    Happy Caturday LL

    Looks like the return of "Mad Max". He was worried that you guys were missing
    his shenagans.
    I did a stupid thing this morning. Got up, tested, thrilled to see another green PS number
    fed the 3 kitties their breffis and headed right btb.
    I did not leave extra food out and DH did not know to feed so here we are, 46 @ +3 on .5u of insulin. Yup Mad Max has returned.

    Guess Max earned a reduction today??? Other than a couple of PS numbers over 120 he has been fairly consisitent in being normal.
    Okay not normal, just normal numbers. :lol: :lol:

    Okay so what in the world do you reduce .5 to and how do you measure it?
    Max wanted to keep me busy today in between my cooking.
     
  2. Monique & Spooky

    Monique & Spooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Way to go Max! The next dose is 0.25U or a quater unit. It's tough but you can eyeball it on the 1/2 unit marked syringes. You want the plunger somewhere between the "0" line and the first 1/2 unit mark here is a picture of what it sort of looks like http://romlin.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/

    Best way to get there is draw up the amount you have been to get the .5U then do whatever you did to get the .5U, then take about 2 drops off that. That should be right around .25U, it's not exact but if you always use the same tequinique then it is consistant. Hope you won't be there long so you don't go blind!
     
  3. Kelly & Logan

    Kelly & Logan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Look at Mad Max go! So exciting to see him coming down to such a tiny dose! :mrgreen:
     
  4. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    It's exciting to see Max doing so well! I once read some good advice. Take your .5U and experiment with pushing some drops out (pay attention to drop size), and see how many of your drops are in .5U. It's amazing how many there are. If you practice that, and get your drop size consistent, you can do all sorts of doses under .5U by measuring the .5 and squeezing out the correct amount.
     
  5. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    OMG OMG OMG another dose reduction!! Mad Max you are doing wonderfully!! We Is Proud!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  6. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Nice work, Max!

    Half a unit wasn't as impossible as it sounded at first. Play around with water in the syringe to get the feeling. And keep a magnifying glass nearby. I think the most important thing is to be scrupulous about the bubbles. One small bubble can take your half unit and make it into almost nothing.

    Best of luck!
     
  7. Lynee and Max

    Lynee and Max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    YEAH!!! I picked the perfect day to drop in and see how Max is doing. Dose reduction - whoooo hooooo dancing_cat

    You'll quickly adjust to the .25u Randi. It's really not too bad once you get adjusted to it - make sure you use 1/2 u marked syringes though - if you try it with whole unit marked ones you will lose your mind. I always overdrew insulin and then held it underneath a lighted magnifying glass and it was real easy to see where I was supposed to be.

    Good luck with the new dose. WTG Max :mrgreen:
     
  8. Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

    Michelle & Scrabble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Yay for Max that is awesome!!! The return of Mad Max!!!! Great day for your two!!!! :RAHCAT
     
  9. Barb & Checkers (GA)

    Barb & Checkers (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Omigosh, that is wonderful, Randi. Gooooo Mad Max :RAHCAT
     
  10. OptOut

    OptOut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    You're kidding - Max is going to .25??? I can't believe it! :mrgreen:
     
  11. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Hey Max, old buddy! That is one fantastic +3!! Don't freak out your mammabean, now. She has cooking to do. Maybe you'll help her with measuring the ingredients! Yeah, that's what you'll do! Give her a little practice so she'll get your new dose right!

    Stu
     
  12. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46

    Congrats on the dosecrease!
     
  13. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~+5 58

    +4 54
    Max is enjoying surfing the 50's.
    Just gave him LC at the 46 as I wanted to see if Mr. P would bring him
    up with just the food.

    I am trying to get all of this cooking done, 3 girls in the house,
    a house to clean and test and feed Max.

    Never a dull moment.
    Plus I have to practice this mini dose.
    I am so glad I never threw out the old vial of Lantus so I can practice
    measuring the drops. I don't like to use water because I find the consistency not the
    same as the insulin. We shall see how it goes.
    Wish us luck.
     
  14. Amy and Six

    Amy and Six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~+5 58

    Max's new quote "Boring is so yesterday!"

    Congrats on the dosecrease!!!!
     
  15. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~+5 58

    :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    That just about sums it up. :mrgreen:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~+5 58~PMPS 104

    We shot .25u or whatever that dose is wearing reading glasses
    and holding a magnifier over the syringe.
    Plus I practised this afternoon counting drops.

    Guess it will be interesting now to see how he holds his numbers with
    about 3 drops of insulin in him, all 18.5 pounds of him.

    He had a very sleepy day but again he disappeared on me.
    Sure enough, he found his way into the dining room and decided to take
    a nap on the chair at the head of the table.
    He must have been proud of his Mama at such a nice table I set.
    I hope to relax tonight, I've been on my feet cooking all day.
     
  17. Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

    Michelle & Scrabble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~+5 58~PMPS 104

    Good job Randi, I would have been scared myself that I didn't get the right amount! LOL! Hope your dinner goes well! Way to go MaX!!!!!
     
  18. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/27 Max AMPS 99~+3 46~+5 58~PMPS 104

    Who IS this cat?!?!?! Going from 6u to .25 so quickly! Woooohooooo!!!!!
    Mad Max seems to have interest in a life of no more pokes (BIG anti jinx)!

    Amazing! No doubt Randi, you were a big part of this great progress...along with your family.

    Keep going Max! :mrgreen:
     
  19. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I could not get a test earlier because I had an 18.5 pound cat playing
    "lap cat" tonight.
    Snuggled with me on the recliner chair for an hour, purring and rubbing.
    That was the best Saturday night in a long time.

    DH goes off to bed and looks at me like I'm nuts to test him.
    I say, he has 3 drops of insulin in him, will you be happy if he is 200 now.
    Okay we both did not really think that but I guessed his number to be 80.
    Pretty close. I think I'll be the Loto ticket with Dawn.
    You know in Canada Lottery winnings are tax free. Got to love us Canadians.

    I will be anxious over the next few days to see if this tiny dose holds for Max.
    Time will tell.
    Sleep tight all.
     
  20. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Good night Randi & Max. Good job today!

    Ella & Stu
     
  21. Dawn & Nova

    Dawn & Nova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Oh so lovely Max.. better hold that reduction.. because the dose drives mom crazy and it will only get more entertaining from here!:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page