3/6 Chino|AMPS=355|+8=331|PMPS=375|+2=377|SDMA = 14 µg/dL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

Today is the 2nd cycle on 7 units since the fur shot on the 5th cycle yesterday morning. I gave 0.75 units of R this morning. While it didn't do a whole lot yesterday afternoon, I haven't yet seen what this dose can or can't do when given in the morning.
 
Hope Chino decides to come down a bit today. I used R with Doodles on Lantus back in March/April 2016 up to 3-4 times a day. Like Jill said yesterday...any R data is good data and monitoring is key. Work the juice buddy.
 
Thanks, Karen! It's always useful to have more examples of how R has been used. I love the new picture of Doodles :)

The impact of the Novolin R was evident at the +2 check, but the BG has remained virtually the same at +3 and +4. I'm hoping the Lantus will "kick in" soon before the numbers start climbing again.

It has been a crazy busy day and I typed this up 4 hours ago, just now getting around to posting it >_<.
 
Something to be said for keeping the numbers flat which is what R did yesterday - better than going up.

Work it Chino! Yellow soon please.
 
I JUST missed a call from Chino's vet. He left a message, saying that the T4 is now 1.5 (goal being less than 2), so that's good news. But the SDMA came back 14 µg/dL, which is the high limit of the normal range. Not good :( I'll have to wait until tomorrow to speak with him about it, and will be doing as much reading as I can in the meantime.
 
Great news on the T4 results! Acromegaly is hard on kidneys, but at least Chino isn't there quite yet. The best site to look at is www.felinecrf.org

One of the things you'll want to consider is moving to a lower phosphorus food, or at least having some in the rotation that he likes. Chino's phosphorus numbers in the bloodwork you have on the SS look good, but phosphorus numbers may eventually become a concern. I would also keep on top of Chino's urine protein numbers. Right now at +1 it's OK, but if it gets any higher you may want a urine protein/creatinine ratio test done. Proteinuria is an early sign of kidney disease, and also common with acros. And finally, at some point when convenient, it would be good to get a blood pressure test done. If nothing else, a baseline is good to have. Keeping the blood pressure at good levels can help the kidneys.
 
Right now at +1 it's OK, but if it gets any higher you may want a urine protein/creatinine ratio test done. Proteinuria is an early sign of kidney disease, and also common with acros.

Thanks. I am kind of concerned that his urine has been a little foamy lately. We would've gotten a UA when I took him to the vet on 2/23 if he hadn't peed all over the carrier on the way to the vet :facepalm:.

Weird BG readings tonight:

PMPS = 375
+2 = 377
+4 = 376

It has been 4 full days since I increased his Lantus to 7 units BID, but this is only the 3rd cycle since the last fur shot (on cycle #5 of the increase). It's hard to see solid pinks and reds again after all those PM yellows and blues from last week :(.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top