3/7 TILICA PMPS 312|+2 104|+2.5 80|+3 85

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you haven't already, I would give him a snack now to try to slow down his drop-- 80's are great but he went down really fast and it is still early. Keep monitoring!

I also would hold off on an increase for now-- who knows, after tonight, he may even earn a decrease!
 
This is from the SLGS sticky for Lantus:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
Your signature says you're following SLGS so wouldn't that green 80 mean a dose reduction?
Good point, Kris, I missed that!

I am wondering if today's drop suggests that maybe the 2.5U has been doing better than you thought all along-- as others noted in yesterday's thread, it's hard to tell for sure when you can't get a lot of mid-day tests, but I'm wondering if there was a drop during the day on March 4th or 5th, and what you are seeing now is the bounce from that finally breaking.
 
If you haven't already, I would give him a snack now to try to slow down his drop-- 80's are great but he went down really fast and it is still early. Keep monitoring!

I also would hold off on an increase for now-- who knows, after tonight, he may even earn a decrease!
Hi Nan, I gave him wet food with glucose for stop this drop.
 
Good point, Kris, I missed that!

I am wondering if today's drop suggests that maybe the 2.5U has been doing better than you thought all along-- as others noted in yesterday's thread, it's hard to tell for sure when you can't get a lot of mid-day tests, but I'm wondering if there was a drop during the day on March 4th or 5th, and what you are seeing now is the bounce from that finally breaking.
I agree. I'd suggest a 0.25 u reduction in keeping with SLGS.
 
This is from the SLGS sticky for Lantus:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Kris, I know but he dopped very fast this night, 80 it's ok for e but it dropped much faster. It's a first time when it drops so fast at this dose. Yesterday I was thinking to increase.
 
Kris, I know but he dopped very fast this night, 80 it's ok for e but it dropped much faster. It's a first time when it drops so fast at this dose. Yesterday I was thinking to increase.
I don't think it matters when the below 90 happens on SLGS. It might have taken this many doses of 2.5 u for him to show you it's too much.
 
If you haven't already, I would give him a snack now to try to slow down his drop-- 80's are great but he went down really fast and it is still early. Keep monitoring!

I also would hold off on an increase for now-- who knows, after tonight, he may even earn a decrease!

Indeed very early and I can't understand why. He ate the same amount of food, the same type of food. I have chosen SLGS because I can't monitor him all the day.
 
As I said 80 it's a good numeber but not at this pace.
This is a good number if you are following TR, Andrea. That protocol is harder to follow when you're working but people do it. Have you read the sticky about doing TR when you're at work all day? Is that the protocol you're actually following? If so, I suggest you put that in your signature so we aren't confused.
 
Indeed very early and I can't understand why. He ate the same amount of food, the same type of food. I have chosen SLGS because I can't monitor him all the day.
The insulin needs can vary day by day. That's why we need to have a good testing routine. SLGS protocol says that the green 80 earns him a dose reduction. I think you wanted to increase because of those pinks you see during the day. You can't judge well by them because they could be bounce numbers after going low at night.
 
This is a good number if you are following TR, Andrea. That protocol is harder to follow when you're working but people do it. Have you read the sticky about doing TR when you're at work all day? Is that the protocol you're actually following? If so, I suggest you put that in your signature so we aren't confused.
Kris, I follow SLGS because it's risky to folloew TR when you are away about 10 hours
 
Indeed very early and I can't understand why. He ate the same amount of food, the same type of food.

It's hard because of things like bouncing, and the action of the depot-- the same cat can get the same shot and the same food every day, but have very different numbers depending on where he is in a cycle of bouncing or the status of the depot.


The insulin needs can vary day by day. That's why we need to have a good testing routine. SLGS protocol says that the green 80 earns him a dose reduction. I think you wanted to increase because of those pinks you see during the day. You can't judge well by them because they could be bounce numbers after going low at night.

Kris, I think part of the advice to increase came from yesterday's condo, too. I'm hoping some of the very experienced folks who were there yesterday will have a look at today's action and weigh in with their opinion at some point.
 
It's hard because of things like bouncing, and the action of the depot-- the same cat can get the same shot and the same food every day, but have very different numbers depending on where he is in a cycle of bouncing or the status of the depot.




Kris, I think part of the advice to increase came from yesterday's condo, too. I'm hoping some of the very experienced folks who were there yesterday will have a look at today's action and weigh in with their opinion at some point.
Thanks, Nan. My goal is always to keep it as simple as possible and reduce inconsistency. Having said that, I'm still very new in Lantus land and will certainly defer to the experts.

ETA: I've reread yesterday's thread and see why there's confusion. I was going strictly by the SLGS "rules".
 
Kris, I think part of the advice to increase came from yesterday's condo, too. I'm hoping some of the very experienced folks who were there yesterday will have a look at today's action and weigh in with their opinion at some point.

Although now as I re-read yesterday's condo, it wasn't as clear-cut a recommendation to increase as I thought at first glance, so now I'm even more inclined to say stick with SLGS as written and try decreasing to 2.25U for several cycles-- keeping in mind that, when the dust settles from tonight's dive, he'll likely bounce for several cycles.
 
Ah, cross-posted with you, Kris!

I would still like to hear if any Lantus pros have a contrary opinion, but I'm going to say follow SLGS and decrease tomorrow.

Is it time for another test yet?
 
Ah, cross-posted with you, Kris!

I would still like to hear if any Lantus pros have a contrary opinion, but I'm going to say follow SLGS and decrease tomorrow.

Is it time for another test yet?
I haven't learned the nuances of Lantus dosing so I'm defaulting to the SLGS document.
 
Yes, I already done it at +4 118, the effect of food with glucose.
Ah, cross-posted with you, Kris!

I would still like to hear if any Lantus pros have a contrary opinion, but I'm going to say follow SLGS and decrease tomorrow.

Is it time for another test yet?
It' s safe now, but tomorrow I 'm expecting to have a high number...If it is high will I have to decrease it?
Thank you Nan and Kris :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Decrease to 2.25U no matter what the numbers are tomorrow. You'll have to hold that dose for several days while the bounce clears and the depot drains before you'll be able to really see what it is doing. The only reason to change the dose before several days had passed would be if you have another night like tonight's where the numbers go below 90-- in that case, you would decrease immediately to 2.0U.
 
The SLGS rules say to hold a dose for at least a week unless you get another green that's below 90 as Nan, said. His next dose should be 2.25 u. Keep it for at least a week. I think it's better for you to follow the SLGS rules very closely because of your work schedule, Andreea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top