3/8 Asia AMPS 115, +5 41, +10 94, PMPS 192, +4 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-7-asia-pmps-56-1-72-2-5-50.192217/

Last night went better than expected with the +2.5 50 start. She may have stayed relatively flat without Karo, but some of the numbers would inevitably be in the 40s, so it worked out pretty well that I gave her the 2 sugar boosts that I did. A nice AMPS to boot! Asia was super happy, chatty and affectionate at +6 and not sure why, maybe the Karo gave her a fun sugar rush? :joyful:

Off to our appointment, back later to drop in on other condos.
 
Nice run of numbers last night! How do you manage to test so much? When do you fit sleep into that spreadsheet?

:joyful: I sleep after the +7 test and only wake up to get one more test if I need to. One of my two daughters are usually able to test her during the day when I have to be away. Sometimes I have an hour to take a quick nap during the day if I need it. I'm lucky in that I've been a 5 to 6 hours a night sleep person long before Asia got FD. I wish it were uninterrupted, of course, but it is what it is. Asia is not to be trusted on insulin, while true for every cat, she hasn't given me much breathing room.

Asia is 21 and will be 22 sometime before August, so even if she never goes OTJ, I know this isn't going to be a terribly long term situation, sadly.
 
Daughter's procedure went well the Dr never had someone her age want to watch it and asked her if she ever thought about going in to medicine. :joyful:

Asia earned herself a reduction! And she really wanted it too, it was after 2 back to back doses of Karo (and her regular radcat food, I always give real food after the Karo). No reaction from her to the 41, not even ravenous hunger, she's alert and happy and purring. :confused:

I'm likely going to reduce her to 1 unit instead of a fat .75 and see how it goes.
 
I had to look at the SS to realize that you meant reduce from a skinny 1.25u .. is that right?

And wow, that SS is pretty after the Levemir switch! :D

Yes, I don't know what else to call them, but if it's a fat or a skinny it's either up or down exactly halfway between .25 increments. She's currently on a dose in between 1 and 1.25, measured with calipers. I think today is a case of an overfull depot. Might try to drain it a bit before decreasing, have to see how it goes.

Thanks, not only is it pretty, but I wish I could color code my anxiety level between Lantus and Levemir, that's the really impressive bit! ;) As you can see from my amount of testing, I still haven't gotten used to her being flat, but hopefully will with time if she proves to be stable.
 
Asia earned a reduction today, I have a hard time trusting a full reduction would stick and was planing on going to 1 unit, however, I just got a call that they can squeeze DD in at regular AMPS for PT at a very high demand practice that is tricky to get appointments at. If I'm around to monitor, the 1 unit is fine to try because I am confident I can watch out for whatever she may do. I don't want to do that now because I will have to give her tomorrow's am shot 30 mins - an hour early because of this appointment. This works out as for the past couple days, I pulled back her AMPS 30 mins in prep for daylight savings. If I do another 30 in the am, I will just keep it there and then it will be back to what it was come Sunday morning.

Problem is, if the shot is early, even by 30 minutes, and she does anything funny like she did today, I don't want to leave younger daughter with any craziness. Was thinking to drain depot a little tonight for safety, .75? and then start the 1 unit tomorrow am or pm, depending on numbers and go from there? Have never done an intentional depot drain, but I think today was an overfull depot issue. I'm fine with whatever she decides to do tonight, I just want to prevent a crazy morning leaving her with DD for a few hours. Will likely be gone until +4, perhaps +5 as I'm going to double up and run errands after. Thoughts? Other ideas?
 
Hi Stacy,

We're running errands in Phoenix so I got cell service. Very spotty at the track.

I agree with a BCS - .75 or even .5 since you want to drain the depot. She will still need to test, of course.

I'm so happy to see Asia looking so good! (Anti-jinx).
 
Hi Stacy,

We're running errands in Phoenix so I got cell service. Very spotty at the track.

I agree with a BCS - .75 or even .5 since you want to drain the depot. She will still need to test, of course.

I'm so happy to see Asia looking so good! (Anti-jinx).

Thanks, Tricia! She is still going to test, for sure, I just want to decrease the odds where she will be in a tricky spot since I may or may not be immediately reachable (no cell service on the train) and I'd rather not have to send Asia high with sugar as a preventative measure.
 
I have no advice. Sorry ... these low doses are so unknown and very strange to me. :joyful: I hope that whatever you decide, Asia surfs safely for you.
 
Thanks @Sandy and Black Kitty and @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey I was feeling the .5.

Her PMPS was 192? :confused: Makes no sense to me, retested, 194, so I think the +11 might have been a bad read, didn't think to retest that one as it looked plausible. Not buying 100 points up in 49 minutes, unless a mega bounce is coming. In which case, I just might get some sleep tonight and DD might have a bounce breaking cycle on her hands tomorrow. :nailbiting:
 
+4 120, so not a bounce after all. Didn't get a nap today, too many things happening. Have to wake up very early tomorrow and then busy for a good bit. Need to recharge my batteries! :facepalm: I hope this cut dose does some draining for tomorrow's cycle at least.
 
Wow - so nice to see those wonderful numbers on Levemir! Asia is looking wonderful, and it sounds like she is feeling very well too! I am so happy to hear it! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top