3/9 Doodles AMPS 259 +3 261 +6 236 PMPS 277 +2 280 + 5 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 3/8 I cannot thank you all enough for the continued support with Mr. Flat Cat. It's been a tough couple of weeks or should I say month:bighug: Good news is Mr. Doodles hung out with me the majority of yesterday and took off his cranky pants :) I did increase him to 4 units this morning.

We may be scheduling an ultrasound in the near future. 1 to see if there has been changes in the intestinal wall thickening and 2 to examine his heart for enlargement or thickening of the walls, or for thickening of the mitral valve which could be related to HCM. Blood work for Acro & IAA is also on the table. For now the focus is to try and break his resistance.

** Please do not copy or follow any advise being offered for Doodles.**

Many prayers and vines for all the L&LL kitties to be well.
 
Heart Disease /Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy. Unfortunately it's very common in Mainecoon's and Ragdolls. It's a secondary concern considering his CPK came back triple the normal levels even though neither vet is slightly concerned as they related it to a muscle enzyme and said if he struggled during the blood draw it would drive those numbers up.
 
I am happy he is not going up.... now lets slide down Mr Doodles :bighug:
I sending lots of good vines for the vet to have answers for you... unless he suddenly breaks this pattern :cat: Wouldn't that be awesome!!
 
We may be scheduling an ultrasound in the near future. 1 to see if there has been changes in the intestinal wall thickening and 2 to examine his heart for enlargement or thickening of the walls, or for thickening of the mitral valve which could be related to HCM. Blood work for Acro & IAA is also on the table. For now the focus is to try and break his resistance.

I think this is an excellent idea. FWIW, when the steroids we gave Gracie (and I know he’s not on steroids but I’m focusing on heart actually) caused an issue with her heart and valve (which had not been present before) and her IBD/lymphoma was potentially progressing, she started seeing BGs she had never, ever seen. I didn’t want to mention this before because there were so many other things for you to try first that would be more likely and I didn’t want to draw any parallels yet. And I still don’t want to draw parallels especially because his BGs aren’t looking anything like hers did (she was still coming down into green but also getting some crazy highs) but ECID (sorry) and he may just manifest it in a different way. But what I really hope is that he just needs to keep getting more juice until he hits a breakthrough.
 
and her IBD/lymphoma was potentially progressing
It something I do have to come to terms with but he still does not many issues like most IBD kitties. Limited vomiting, hardly ever and his stools have be normal for the most part except for that major constipation which I believe was caused by the S&C (do to the ground bone) and miralax has been doing the trick.

He started slightly open mouth breathing with a tiny bit of his tongue out a while ago. When I asked the Vet she said "they smell though the little pockets in the roof of their mouth" so not to worry. I'm not wondering if that isn't HCM especially with the high CPK which they keep insisting I don't need to worry about either. Oh sigh, my poor boy. I can't tell if he sleepy more because he's been stuck in these numbers or if something else is wrong.

Our follow up with the vet is on Monday and I suspect we'll make the appointment for the CT scan with the IM specialist after that. In the meantime I just keep hoping for a break through.
 
It something I do have to come to terms with but he still does not many issues like most IBD kitties.
I agree that he does not. We had also gotten Gracie’s stools to perfection ;);) and limited vomiting but, again, I think the high BG issues were related to her heart.

He started slightly open mouth breathing with a tiny bit of his tongue out a while ago. When I asked the Vet she said "they smell though the little pockets in the roof of their mouth" so not to worry.
She is correct but there is a big difference between open mouth breathing and what she’s talking about. When they do what she is talking about, they are still breathing through their noses and you can tell that they are. It’s very different and, to me, very discernible. You know him best so stick to your guns on that if you think he’s breathing with his mouth open. And if he is doing it more than rarely, he needs to be seen.

I am also hoping for a breakthrough very soon.
 
You know him best so stick to your guns on that if you think he’s breathing with his mouth open. And if he is doing it more than rarely, he needs to be seen.
I'm just not sure!!:confused::confused: There were a few times that I posted in the last month (twice I think) where I mentioned he had a short bout of dry heaves and heavy breathing. Those 2 occasions I know he was breathing out of this mouth and heavy..it was really scary. Ok, we'll get the CT Scan lined up for the next week or two.
 
I'm just not sure!!:confused::confused: There were a few times that I posted in the last month (twice I think) where I mentioned he had a short bout of dry heaves and heavy breathing. Those 2 occasions I know he was breathing out of this mouth and heavy..it was really scary. Ok, we'll get the CT Scan lined up for the next week or two.
Do you mean an ultrasound and an echo? I don’t think I can even get a CT Scan done in Tucson....I’d have to go to Phx.
 
Oh I LOVE HIM!!! He's Tobey's cardiologist and he is so incredibly nice, down to earth, explains things, and OMG easy on the eyes ;);) Gracie had an appt with him (first one) the day she crossed. He had been really booked but he managed to move things around to see her here in Tucson. He's so awesome.
 
Last edited:
Oh I LOVE HIM!!! He's Tobey's cardiologist and he is so incredibly nice, down to earth, explains things, and OMG easy on the eyes ;);)
Well that makes me feel a whole lot better! I'll leave DH at home that day ;);) My friend is a vet tech there and it's one of the places I've been thinking about switching to. They also have an IM department and Dr. Bailey is suppose to be great. Do you know her too?
 
high BG issues were related to her heart
I've found a few "don't worry about elevated CPK levels" explanations. However was 1366 Feb. 6th. Prior to that in Dec/2015 and July 2015 the CPK was completely normal.

This is the one explanation that is concerning. It's also a problem with Dr. Google o_O

[CPK] 56-529 Is an enzyme which is very useful for diagnosing diseases of the heart and skeletal muscle. This enzyme is the first to be elevated after a heart attack (3 to 4 hours). If CPK is high in the absence of heart muscle injury, this is a strong indication of skeletal muscle disease.
 
Well that makes me feel a whole lot better! I'll leave DH at home that day ;);) My friend is a vet tech there and it's one of the places I've been thinking about switching to. They also have an IM department and Dr. Bailey is suppose to be great. Do you know her too?
I don't know Dr. Bailey but if I remember correctly, I believe our anesthesiologist here (who also works in PHX) said she thinks Dr. Bailey is, in her opinion, the best IM in AZ. If I ever need another one anti jinx that's who we will see.

I've found a few "don't worry about elevated CPK levels" explanations. However was 1366 Feb. 6th. Prior to that in Dec/2015 and July 2015 the CPK was completely normal.

This is the one explanation that is concerning. It's also a problem with Dr. Google o_O

[CPK] 56-529 Is an enzyme which is very useful for diagnosing diseases of the heart and skeletal muscle. This enzyme is the first to be elevated after a heart attack (3 to 4 hours). If CPK is high in the absence of heart muscle injury, this is a strong indication of skeletal muscle disease.
I think that's just something to discuss with Dr. C. Gracie never had elevated CPK. I always like 2nd Chance for info on these things.
 
Good plan on the echocardiogram. I know I've always felt a sense of relief after getting those done.
Oh I LOVE HIM!!! He's Tobey's cardiologist and he is so incredibly nice, down to earth, explains things, and OMG easy on the eyes ;);)
Is that latter part a job requirement for cardiologists?;) I really like Neko's cardio vetty too. Neko's got a slight thickening of the left ventricle wall. He's told me to watch for any signs of lethargy and I know my GA Maine Coon cross had some dry heaves (but perfect bloodwork before his thromboembolism). It could be nothing for Doodles but knowledge is power.:bighug:
 
I believe our anesthesiologist here (who also works in PHX) said she thinks Dr. Bailey is, in her opinion, the best IM in AZ.
If I go that route after the cardiologist I'll be switching to her and out of VCA.

knowledge is power
I just sent my vet an email with the links for Univ. Of Mich for the Acro & IAA testing too. Hopefully she'll do the blood draw on Monday when we go for our follow up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top