3/9 Kit cat AMPS 93, +1 86, +2 53, +2.5 51, +3 56, +3.5 58, +4 60, +8.5 80, PMPS 104

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hey all.

So, I'm not great posting daily (or much - but new goal!). I've been working with my vet pretty closely - she's pretty great, although she doesn't usually recommend home testing (at least not as much as I do), but she doesn't tell me I shouldn't. She got concerned about some of Kit's numbers a few weeks ago, but then we realized she thought I was using a pet meter. She wanted to see how Kit reacted to no insulin, and she slowly started to go up until she had a number that hit +300. She then had me start doing a dosage of 0.25 once a day and keep her updated on numbers - she was concerned that Kit kept dropping low. She also doesn't want me to dose the next day if she goes below 70, but that's a more recent thing from her last visit on Friday.

So last week - Kit had a couple of days where she dropped below 50 (but not below 40). I fed her some MC/HC until she started going back up and stayed back up, but the whole thing got me thinking. She scarfed down the MC/HC food pretty quick, without the water that I'd been adding to the pate to get her to eat it. I think she had been filling up on the water in the pate, and not getting enough actual food, and the insulin was hitting her harder because less food. So, I tried less water in the pate, but she still wasn't eating great. So I decided to switch to Fancy Feast flaked food, because it's still a LC food. She actual eats it so much better!

Once I made the switch, her numbers went up a bit, so yesterday, when her evening number was 143, I decided to add the evening shot back in. I've been working my way towards shooting lower, and today I decided to shoot an AMPS of 93. Slightly terrifying, but gotta make the jump at some point, right?

So anyway, my goal is to do a daily update, and hopefully things go well. :)
 
Hi. Dropping under 50 on 3/6 calls for a reduction on TR as well. I’d try a drop twice a day. What are the numbers under your results? I see 0 many times and 5.
 
Yeah, I waffled on the reduction - I swapped to a newer food that was slightly more high carb, as well as her actually eating more. I can for sure reduce to 1 drop.

I'm not sure which numbers you're asking about - do you mean the spreadsheet cells that have multiple test results? Anything not on the hour (+1, +2, etc) I stack in the cell with the formula of "bg number @ however long past that hour". So if I test her at +12.5 and her number is 80, it would have 80@+30 (for 30 min). It's just the way my brain reads it. I know other folks will say at +12.5, this is just how my brain got it better.
 
Back
Top