? 3/9 Sebastian PMPS 164 +5 46 +5.5 35 +6 74 +7 50 +8 36 +11 41. Dose dec for AM?

Scheduled an appt with the vet for Tuesday afternoon. Want to get a fresh superchem and CBC, also want to get his aldosterone and renin levels checked just to be safe about the Cushing's or Conn's, and he's also got a little lump in his abdomen I want to get checked out. It's right near where they did the incision for his neutering and I thought it was just scar tissue but lately I feel like it's changing size and with all the other stuff going on I want to make sure.
 
Today was cycle six since the depot reducing dose, no sign of blue or green, he's been in flat yellows, I think I would probably take him back up to 5u, you might want to wait till the morning to do the increase, some cats react strongly to a dose increase so thinking of your sleep.
 
Today was cycle six since the depot reducing dose, no sign of blue or green, he's been in flat yellows, I think I would probably take him back up to 5u, you might want to wait till the morning to do the increase, some cats react strongly to a dose increase so thinking of your sleep.
Will do.
 
Glad to hear the IGF is normal. The IAA explains his insulin needs and why he needs what he needs. Some day it will break through and you will be barreling down the doses.
 
PMPS 164. Down to blue. Might be able to hold the dose after all. I'll get a +3 and then see what things look like in the morning (unless of course +3 tanks and I'll need more readings tonight)
 
I was looking at his spreadsheet earlier and thinking his bounce could break tonight.
If his +3 is lower, I would get additional tests tonight.
 
85@+3. Yup, here we go. Gave him 1tsp HC gravy to try and slow that big drop.
I would save the HC for under 50. A little LC would probably be enough to keep him surfing. If LC proved to see him still dropping at the next test, then bring out the MC. JMHO. It is all an experiment to see how he reacts to lower numbers in the earlier part of the cycle.

It is great to see that he made his way back to some greens on the 7th cycle of this dose. :)
 
62@+4. Gave him another tsp HCG.

I would save the HC for under 50. A little LC would probably be enough to keep him surfing. If LC proved to see him still dropping at the next test, then bring out the MC. JMHO. It is all an experiment to see how he reacts to lower numbers in the earlier part of the cycle.
If it were during the day I would have played it a little more hands off to see where he goes but I have stuff to do tomorrow and need to get some sleep tonight. He also hasn't been getting really big food spikes from the LC and that quick of a drop so early in the cycle had me nervous.

Also, I really hate DST. Had just adjusted his schedule to work a little better and now we gotta work off another hour for no good reason.
 
35@+5.5. Okay buddy, time to come up. Gave him 2tsp HC G with a drop of honey.
Below 40, that earns us a dose reduction. And I'm thinking 0.25 might not be enough. I'm almost thinking we go back down to 3. We only tried it for 4 cycles and the high numbers we saw were probably a bounce.
 
74@+6. Whew. Going to get +7 just to make sure we're still good when the carbs wear off.
Edited title and add a ? to get some advice on dose for the morning. I'm still leaning towards 3u.
 
I see he is still running low at +10.

So at shot time you have a couple of options.
1) If he is above 50 shoot the new full dose (4.5u), and monitor, based on recent experience he is likely to bounce after last nights low. If you look at the cycle in the morning of march 6th when you shot the depot reducing dose, if you look at the early part of the cycle you can see he stayed level and then bounced, that early part of the cycle would have likely been just about the same as if you had shot full dose. Since the shot you gave wouldn't have onset till about +2+3(for Sebastian that seems about the norm), by onset time he was already bouncing so the reduced shot that drained the depot will have contributed to the higher numbers at the end of the cycle, and may have also contributed to the length of the bounce. Shooting the full dose in the morning might lead to another busy cycle of monitoring if he surfs around in the greens.

2) shoot a reduced dose to reduce the depot and then shoot the 4.5u tonight. The early part of the cycle will not be influenced by the reduced shot, so you will still need to monitor until you see him rise or level out.

Things that may influence your decision.
If he is rising at AMPS I'd be more inclined to shoot the 4.5u, because you may well be seeing the start of the bounce so he's going to run high regardless of what you shoot so I like the idea of not disrupting the depot.

If he's still in the low 50's, and with the high IAA, I would err towards the depot reducing dose, last time you reduced by 50%, I might try and reduce by about a 1/3rd this time to 3u.

ETA your ability to monitor if you have to do stuff later in the morning then perhaps the depot reducing dose will be a better option and if he is high and bouncing at +11(pink) then you could move the shot time forward by one hour, getting you back on schedule with the DST.

I take it all is well, ie no ketones/he's feeling and acting well.

It's amazing what the threat of a dosecrease can do to a kitties BG:rolleyes:
Congrats on the reduction.
 
I take it all is well, ie no ketones/he's feeling and acting well.
I need to check for ketones sometime today but yes he's acting fine. He was a lot more energetic yesterday.

ETA your ability to monitor if you have to do stuff later in the morning
I don't actually have to go anywhere, I just had stuff I wanted to do around the house that I wanted energy for. But that's out the window now since I've been up all night. I did at least manage to sleep a bit in between tests so I'm not completely running on E.
 
Back
Top