30 Oct | Girlie | AMPS 437

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hope you feel better soon...I’m sorry you’re I’ll. Take care.

Many of my points were based what I’m reading off the SS. Yes....you do test a lot...in fact, you could join my Testaholics Anonymous club I started many years ago :)

However.... you only occasionally get a +1 test. And I’m only seeing LC9 being fed consistently the last three mornings with no feeding at +1. Again...no criticisms....I’m just telling you what I see in the Remarks on the SS. Because you’ve kept such great records, it helped me with suggestions for her. :)

The other thing I see, for example yesterday, is feeding her 9% at +9. That certainly put the brakes on her duration It’s best that if she is hungry after nadir, only give her some boiled chicken breast or freeze dried treats. I realize you rarely feed that many carbs that late but I’d not do it unless she is running below 68 on your AT.

Since she got into blue on the AT yesterday, let’s hold this dose a couple more cycles and see if she can do it again. Let’s work on getting her flatter first which might allow her to tolerate a 0.25u increase.

Remember that if the +2 is even the same as the PS, she’s going to drop. I would up the ante on the carbs at +2 if she’s the same or less than PS....perhaps try a MC food. Again...while the goal is to be able to feed LC, we know she’s a big diver so let’s try and prevent it. I’d actually even try your MC for all four minimeals at tomorrow’s a.m. cycle; t’s just an experiment to see what she does....so don’t be freaked if you see higher numbers. She seems to more consistently dive in the mornings so let’s start the experiment there.

Feel better and let me know if you have questions.
@Marje and Gracie : put your comments in this new post so it - hopefully - doesn't get too confusing with my different posts and the time differences. Rushing here to write this in case I can catch you before you go enjoy a real life and even get some sleep! :-)

Stall the dives food experiment underway this AM: gave her FF MC 13 with fp (fresh pumpkin). Will give her that each hour up t0 + 3.

Questions:
  • She won't eat freeze dried treats or fresh chicken; she's picky. +4 on, should I give her LLC (under 5) or try the higher LC (6 - 9) - or would it depend on whether and how much she's diving?
  • Re: LC 9 @ +9: I don't see that; do you mean at +7 on 28 Oct? Just so I understand: should I only feed the higher LC up to +3 and then lowest carb after that unless she's diving? I understood that I should be consistent and not change food carb levels (if possible) during a cycle; if it's okay to alter this depending on whether she's going up or down, that's good to know! :-)
  • PM FOOD: I assume I shouldn't do the MC13 for the start of her PMPS to +3 cycle. I can do the LC6 or lower tonight: any thoughts?

I feed her each hour up to +4, usually, then last food at +6 or +7. I only put the exact food each time if she was dropping and I was trying to stall or changing the carb levels; I was just too lazy to write that in each day, sorry! :-)

Acupuncture vet today at +3:30, so I have to leave at +3, but will do her test and give some food before I go. Acupuncture visit usually doesn't bring her BG levels up, thank goodness.

Don't worry or be hesitant to make suggestions. I don't take any of it as criticism: I take it all as wonderful help and support! As much as I'd like you to be able to read my mind and interpret what I do (or don't) put in my SS, I know that even you can do that, Marje! :bighug: It would take a LOT for you to put me off or hurt my feelings. I'm just desperate for help and some way out of this mess with Girlie, so I am incredibly grateful for all of your support and suggestions. :-)
 
AMPS 437: MC13 (stall the dive experiment)
+1: 526 (89 pt increase): MC13 + fp (fresh pumpkin): still hungry
+2: 605 (79 pt increase): same as above but no longer desperate for food
+3=551 (54 pt DROP): same as above; no longer desperate for food

Off to cat acupuncture! :)

+5= 439 (112 pt DROP in 2 hours): not interested in food; wants to lie in the sun instead
NADIR: +6= 349 (90 pt drop in 2 hours): gave 1 tsp FF Savoury Salmon LLC1: thought better to give a LC as was late in the cycle - is that right? Or should it have been a higher LC (like 4 or 6 or 8)? Not sure, but we'll see...:confused:
+7= 380 (31 pt increase): no food
NADIR: +8=295 (85 pt drop): should have given food at +7? Gave her 1/2 tsp of LLC1 food before left for physio and work
 
Last edited:
Questions:
  • She won't eat freeze dried treats or fresh chicken; she's picky. +4 on, should I give her LLC (under 5) or try the higher LC (6 - 9) - or would it depend on whether and how much she's diving?
  • Re: LC 9 @ +9: I don't see that; do you mean at +7 on 28 Oct? Just so I understand: should I only feed the higher LC up to +3 and then lowest carb after that unless she's diving? I understood that I should be consistent and not change food carb levels (if possible) during a cycle; if it's okay to alter this depending on whether she's going up or down, that's good to know! :)
  • PM FOOD: I assume I shouldn't do the MC13 for the start of her PMPS to +3 cycle. I can do the LC6 or lower tonight: any thoughts?
—anything you give her after nadir is going to potentially slow her down. If she absolutely must eat and she won’t eat any FD treats or boiled chicken, you can try a tsp of the absolute lowest carb food you have. If she’s diving, that’s a different story but remember if she’s dropping after nadir, you want to use the lowest carb food that gets the job done so you don’t impact her duration.
—yes, sorry...+7, I made a typo. While some cats don’t seem to lose duration if feeding after nadir, many do and she has an issue with duration. I would start with the MC food early in the cycle to see if we can get her to flatten out and then you’ll have to experiment but you should be able to lower the carbs for her other meals once she gets past the point where she dives. We don’t want to add to her duration issues by feeding too much MC. We just want to find out when and how to feed to slow her down and get her flatter. MC at PS, +1, +2, and +3 might be too much. Again...it’s an experiment so we have to be flexible and find what works.
—with the evening cycle, you’ll also have to experiment. Try the LC6 for the feedings and see how she does.

I was also feeding Gracie late in the cycle on Lantus and she were as totally losing duration so she got all her food by +4 and then just the zero carb treats later after nadir...around +9. If she was clearing bounce, I had to feed differently and longer because she would always want to give me a 50 at PMPS. On bounce clearing days, I would feed her a 5-6% food at +10 so she would stay above 50 and I could safely shoot.

It looks to me like she might be trying to clear a bounce today and that’s why she has continued to drop. We will have to see what she continues to do before we can determine if the way you fed her helped.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top