4/1 Disco AMPS 398/+3 368–fell asleep, missed AM dose! +6 455/+8 285/+11 298/PMPS 311/+1 331/+11 269

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday 3/31: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-80-11-87-pmps-95-2-167.227758/#post-2550964

I was very happy with the day Disco head yesterday and trying the experiment of feeding HC worked! I guess his AMPS number this morning is a bounce even though he didn’t go really low.

Photo is of Disco and a Cornish Rex kitten. I used to breed and show Cornish Rex cats and Disco’s companions, Brighton and Coco, were born in my house.
 

Attachments

  • FBE89195-E039-4CC2-B6FA-0D9D621B6214.jpeg
    FBE89195-E039-4CC2-B6FA-0D9D621B6214.jpeg
    34.7 KB · Views: 43
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko
Advice needed! I messed up and tested Disco this morning at his usual 730am, fed then got his supplies ready and then laid down and fell asleep I guess immediately. It is now 1030 and he didn’t get his morning dose. I am assuming I skip this one and give the usual dose tonight but after such a good day yesterday I’ve screwed up!
 
You have two options. 1) pretend it was a fur shot. ;) 2) shoot now and live with trying to get back on schedule.
Thanks for the quick reply. I think I’m more comfortable with pretending it was a fur shot as now I’m second-guessing myself — did I give it and forgot? the syringe was not next to the pen of insulin next to my laptop, lightbox and magnifying glass and I’m wondering did I throw it away after giving it and then fall asleep? I truly don’t think that’s what I did but…
 
Oh man. I have totally done that, complete with the second-guessing about "did I shoot or not in my sleep-fuzzed state???"! I agree, call it a "furshot" and move right along. You'll get back on track.

Congrats on the extra shut-eye, anyway!
Guess the +6 455 tells me I didn’t give it, right?

Short naps always leave me groggy and disoriented and it takes me half a day to get back to feeling energized again. So today has been pretty non-productive in many ways. I haven’t been sleeping well so I have a feeling this week will be one productive day and one slug day and one productive day and one slug day
 
How far apart do you test, feed then shoot?
Usually test at 7:15-7:30am, feed right after and shoot while he’s eating, so within 10-15 min of test. Then when I spot test him which sometimes is frequently depending on what my day is like, he gets a teaspoon or two of LC, mostly in the morning but sometimes in the afternoon, too. Although often times the afternoon is when I run my errands so he doesn’t get as many spot tests then. During the night, because I’m retired and because I wake up a lot myself to use the bathroom, I will spot test him during the night and depending on his numbers, feed him a treat of LC if he’s under 300
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko
Advice needed! I messed up and tested Disco this morning at his usual 730am, fed then got his supplies ready and then laid down and fell asleep I guess immediately. It is now 1030 and he didn’t get his morning dose. I am assuming I skip this one and give the usual dose tonight but after such a good day yesterday I’ve screwed up!
Back when I was doing the sugar dance with BK, a CG missing a shot/test due to falling asleep was referred to as "being abducted by aliens";)
There are a few alien abduction incidents on BKs ss ...:cool:

Disco will get back on track and you will have collected some data on how a skipped shot currently affects him.

Like Wendy said - Better safe than sorry.
 
Back
Top