4/10 Ducia +11 323, AMPS 265, +2.5 279, +4.75 275, +5.75 226 1U, underdose on top of reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
4/11 new thread is opened at
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-4-260-6-214-8-195-dosage-uncertainty.176189/


Hello,

Ducia is in her 4th cycle on the reduced dose after showing low greens and after going below 50 last week. It looks as if she bounces at night and then gives me a lot of Greens in her AM cycles. Cannot really tell if the reduction was good or if it was a failure...:confused:. I think I will keep this dose for now, at least for as long as there is Greens in a cycle.

Do you agree?

It is possible that she is got under dose today - a drop was left in the syringe.:banghead:

Most likely under dose - the +2.5 is 279:banghead::mad::banghead:

Well, maybe not so likely: BG 227 @+3.5. Will keep the SS updated.

BG 226 at +6. Energy level isn't good at all - sleeps mostly.
Spent some time sunbathing but without yesterday's happiness. Sleeps at +7, I don't want to wake up her; retest at +8, meal and then rest until +11 and/or PMPS.

Was it the under dose I keep wondering?..

History: AMPS 265, +2.5 279, +3.5 227, +4.75 275 (?! the most active time usually), + 5.75 226.


Does it mean that the depot is now drained out and the next cycle or two will be high-ish? IDK.

Wishes for a happy day at the lagoon for all our kitties
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
It dose look like she is bouncing at night. I'd hold the dose for now. Today is a flat yellow day. That could mean action tonight.
 
I am afraid I caused that flat Yellow by leaving a drop in the syringe. The drop was larger than the ones I left there in the past.
It's good if an active cycle tonight - I hate to see her again in Yellow and Pinks... I can monitor thru the night.
If today AM was like yesterday's (as I expected) I would have known the reduction was right.
Doubts...
 
Last edited:
With Lantus being a depot insulin, you've got not only the Lantus in the syringe but also the depot at work. I don't think that you leaving a drop in the syringe is having much of an impact in the current cycle. If a cat has a low preshot and one wants to interrupt the cycle and prevent low numbers that cycle, typically people will reduce the dose to 10-50% of the normal dose. I'm just wanting to relieve you of any guilt - I don't think you caused a problem. It's not uncommon for a cat to have a flat yellow cycle here or there.

See what it looks like tomorrow and we can see if it's a failed reduction or not.
 
Tanya, I am so happy to see you and Ducia doing so well! I know it was kind of a "trial by fire" initial experience for you, but you have learned so much and come so far in just a short time! Give yourself a big pat on the back (and Ducia a big hug!), you are doing a great job! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top