? 4/10 Silver AMPS 209 PMPS 239 +2=292 +4=286 Ketones 3.5!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Juliet, Apr 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sometimes there are circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines and suggestions. Please ask for guidance if any of these or other circumstances present themselves or are of concern.
    The section above is taken directly from the SLGS guidelines. I know it’s hard to do because you aren’t home week days to monitor but a 0.25 u dose increase might be worth trying sooner than later.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) and Juliet like this.
  2. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Not silly at all, completely understandable. I would be a mess too, I think most of us would. :bighug:

    Just have to take it one day at a time. Silver eating and being his wake you up in the morning self is the best indication that he is on the mend. You got this, you are doing it! We can’t always know or have answers in neat tidy boxes, maddening, but that’s the way it is sometimes. Your best defensive is a great offense. Monitoring for ketones, keeping him eating and hydrated, watching out for signs that he is off. Some cats are ketone prone and that’s just the way it is, but it’s managable and doesn’t have to lead to another DKA. You are doing what you can do, just keep it up! :bighug:
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  3. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Thanks Just has a great call with another of the vets from the emergency clinic. Sooo much nicer. She had heard of FDMB and I told her of SLGS. She says it sounds like a great approach. She'd rather I did a curve before any adjusting of dose given that she said it could take up to a week to stabilize having been off Lantus 36 hrs.

    Feel better now. Thanks everyone. This worried momma was freaking out.
     
  4. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Did you get her name? Sounds like a promising prospect if she has a practice close enough.

    Glad she verified that what we'd been saying was right and that it made you feel better! Hopefully you can get some restful sleep tonight and things will be clearer tomorrow!
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  5. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Here’s a funny but good picture which shows you where you can insert the needle....anywhere under the “saddle”.

    18FDDFDF-3650-4292-8127-F354B1E47C67.jpeg
     
  6. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    I have a friend who uses his phone to photograph everything. He has a scanner, but it takes too much time. If you photograph the pages, you can then upload them into the lab results I think.

    I hope you called the er. Those ketones would worry me, too.
     
  7. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    No, none of them have their own practice. They are the ER docs only unfortunately I as like all three of them.
     
  8. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    He could very well be his teeth then. A bad tooth is what took Bubba out of remission the first time.
     
  9. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Ok. Folks on here tho say to wait til he's recovered before doing a dental. But if his teeth are the problem his numbers won't come down until teeth done. Catch 22 situation.
     
  10. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Have you checked ketones this morning? Did you give fluids yesterday?
     
  11. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    No and yes. I'll check ketones and gone more fluids tonight. Not enough time in the am.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  12. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Juliet:

    Can you start a condo on a daily basis? The thread is getting very long and it's helpful to have the days separated (especially if you need to go back and try to find something.)
     
  13. Juliet

    Juliet Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Oh I did and always do. People just keep reposnding to yesterday's condo.
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  14. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
  15. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Not at all catch 22. They are wrong.
     
  16. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    I don't think the vets are saying that the teeth couldn't be the issue, I think the issue is they don't feel comfortable putting an unregulated cat under anesthesia. That is why they want them regulated first or to go to a specialist where they much more equipment and staff if there is an incident.
     
  17. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    The catch 22 referred to you having no choice, at least as I read it. It is my belief that the vets are incorrect in saying that Silver must be regulated before having his teeth tended to. If your vets meant he must be ketone free, then yes that must happen first. But regulation often takes months, and waiting for that to happen can put Silver in further jeopardy. I think Stacy has mentioned an alternative. Putting a cat with bad teeth on a course of antibiotics can help alleviate the damage done by infected and/or inflamed teeth. @Stacy & Asia
     
  18. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Please take this discussion to the 4/11 condo Julie posted this morning, as per @Sienne and Gabby (GA). I linked that condo in post # 114. Thank you!
     
  19. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Juliet, if you ever end up at a clinic in Miss*** on a road named after an English Prime Minister you should know this. I have my own opinions about them so I'll try and be civil. (I have to be vague to protect the board, you'll figure it out in 10 seconds)

    If you have specific concerns make sure they clearly understand you. I mean eye contact and if you have to make them write it down.
    If they offer tests you are unfamiliar with or do not feel are warranted start asking questions. They can be condescending.
    If you board an animal with specific needs, even emotional ones, demand a note be left detailing what to do and what not to do.
    They have an MRI in the basement and a payroll of well over a million dollars. They need to get that money back from somewhere.

    That's my opinion only.
    Simon, died in the lobby while I searched for the receptionist.
    Andrew, dragged from his crate at 3AM for a blood pressure check. Freaked out and had a stroke.
    Hannah, told she would not see Christmas and then lived another year. Misdiagnosis.
    Juliet, I'm trying not to make this about me. Neither of us has money to throw away and my travel is limited as well. It's something you need to know.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page