4/12 Boomer AMPS 146 +3 99 +6 85 PMPS 119 +3 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 146 shooting 1u
This is cycle 8 since I had to give 2 reduced dosages; if he doesn't start working it today I may fatten it up tomorrow morning.

Boomer ate most of his +3 but left about 1/3 of his +6 and +9. He did beckon me around 5:05 but I didn't get up and he stopped:smuggrin:
Allen ate a lot of his Wellness but I don't think he touched his On the Cat Wok.

I'm getting tired/annoyed at my boys with their fussy appetites; currently they both have only 1 or 2 foods that they will eat. Still thinking of switching them both back to Fancy Feast.....will have to push Dr Larry into giving us a p-binder (he refused before because the one he uses is calcium based but there are others he could give us).
 
Have you tried Wellness Complete Health Turkey? It has 1.04% phosphorus. It is a pate. It isn't as high as FF though. @CassAndGordy turned me on to it.

If you look on my (Gizmo's) SS there is a food tab. I am dealing with the same issue :banghead:. What I have been doing is mixing really low phosphorus food with those that are a bit higher. It seems to work for the most part.

Today Gizmo is getting a mixture of Instinct Grain Free 95% Rabbit (91% phos/5.73 carb) and Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites (57% phos/7.5 carb). It seems the higher phos foods taste better (of course) :rolleyes:

Just sharing/offering a suggestion. You gave been doing this longer than me ;)
 
Have you tried Wellness Complete Health Turkey? It has 1.04% phosphorus. It is a pate. It isn't as high as FF though. @CassAndGordy turned me on to it.

If you look on my (Gizmo's) SS there is a food tab. I am dealing with the same issue :banghead:. What I have been doing is mixing really low phosphorus food with those that are a bit higher. It seems to work for the most part.

Today Gizmo is getting a mixture of Instinct Grain Free 95% Rabbit (91% phos/5.73 carb) and Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites (57% phos/7.5 carb). It seems the higher phos foods taste better (of course) :rolleyes:

Just sharing/offering a suggestion. You gave been doing this longer than me ;)
Thanks @LizzieInTexas ! My main problem (other than having two fussy cats) is that most of the foods on Dr Lisa's list are not available in Canada. And I've done research on several foods that are available and the phosphorous is just too high. I have a cupboard full of food that I've tried to feed either Boomer or Allen:rolleyes: It's very frustrating! I'll look for the Wellness Complete Health turkey!
 
not available in Canada
:banghead:

Forgot that you were in Canada. I swear we could make a fortune if we could come up with a tasty, low carb, low phos food.

What I am doing probably isn't ideal but it is better than binders or him not eating. Gizmo really likes the Instinct Rabbit and Venison. I find that if I can keep the variety switched up every couple of days that helps. My problem is finding single cans to "try" before I purchased an entire case. I still throw in a can of FF every now and then (mixed with Weruva). It also helps a bit with the costs.

Gizmo's last labs had his phosphorus level down by 0.5 (from 5.5 to 5.0).

Maybe try and mix the Fowl Ball with a can of FF? I had to do 50/50 mixture when I was trying to get Gizmo off FF and switched to low(er) phos food and then just started decreasing the FF %.
 
I think the Wellness is mainly manufactured in Canada now (I could be wrong), so you may have luck finding it! I know our Whole Foods have them too, if you have store like it near you.
 
I just checked the Wellness website. It looks like the Wellness Complete Health recipes have been changed. The labels are different and the ingredients no longer list carrageenan. The 3-oz. cans of Wellness (the original formula) are made in Canada. Rusty likes both the Chicken and the Turkey. I hope he'll like the new formula, since this is his staple food.

I bought the re-formulation (in 3 oz. can) of the Wellness Core Turkey & Duck and Rusty ate it, but not with the enthusiasm he usually does for this Wellness dinner (which previously only came in 5.5 oz. cans). I am a little concerned that the new, 3-oz.cans say "made in Canada from finest world ingredients". The "old" 5.5-oz cans say "made in the USA". The original 3-oz. cans of Wellness Complete Health all say "product of Canada" (no mention of "world ingredients"). I haven't seen the new Complete Health 3-oz. cans in the stores, so haven't looked carefully at the labels. The website makes no mention of where the food is "made".

Have fun! Boomer, eat yer fuds! You, too, Allen!
 
This is what I purchased about 2 weeks ago. I have given 1 can - no impact on his BG levels. They are 12.5 oz cans.
 

Attachments

  • wellness1.jpg
    wellness1.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 59
  • wellness2.jpg
    wellness2.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 67
  • wellness3.jpg
    wellness3.jpg
    32.5 KB · Views: 60
This is what I purchased about 2 weeks ago. I have given 1 can - no impact on his BG levels. They are 12.5 oz cans.
I'm pretty sure I tried Wellness with Boomer and he didn't like it. But I've tried so many different foods with both Boomer and Allen (early CKD) that I've lost track.
 
So I have two cans of Wellness Grain Free Beef & Chicken in my "rejected" cupboard. Of course the label doesn't match the description of any of the Wellness products on Dr Lisa's list and it also doesn't match any of the products listed in an email that I received from Wellness back in November :rolleyes:
 
Liking that +3 Boomer, it's time to stay on track little buddy. The food thing is one of the most hair pulling out frustrating things ever :banghead::banghead::banghead: Eat your fuds boys and stop being finicky cats!
 
Trying to convince Moo it's great to be an only child and that she needs to learn how to play with her toys on her own sometimes. :rolleyes: Mewing excessively and keeping us up is negative attention.:banghead:
I once had a cat that would play fetch....I threw the ball and he carried it back to me. Maybe you could play fetch with Moo. :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin::joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top