4/12 Rex AMPS 478

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-rex-amps-439.176142/#post-1937523

So far, no big changes on 2u. I plan to keep Rex on 2u until I can do a curve on Friday. Then we will see what I can do for the PM shot - 0.25 or 0.5u increase.

I have been putting up the dry food at night so I know Rex isn't sneaking anything without me seeing him until I do the AMPS. This morning, after I fed all the cats their wet food, I put down the dog's food and Rex went over and had a couple bites before I caught him. :banghead: Now I have to worry about Rex eating the dog dry food, too?!
 
images
Silly kitty that is for the dog...... Wow Rex we need to get you out of those high numbers! If he is eating dry food those numbers will be higher. Are you interested or able to switch to raw food? Your doing a great job with your fur babies!
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit. IMHO I think Rex needs more insulin especially if you can monitor. I copied this from the sticky:) Could there be another reason for the high numbers? Is Rex sick or have teeth issues or?
 
He could be bouncing from that sweet little spot of yellow last night. Paws crossed he comes back to sunny numbers again soon. It was great seeing some progress.

And Rex - dog food?! :banghead::arghh::eek: You might want a small note on the Remarks section of the SS saying he got a couple bites of dry dog food, so people will understand any numbers spike you see.
 
Wow Rex we need to get you out of those high numbers! If he is eating dry food those numbers will be higher. Are you interested or able to switch to raw food? Your doing a great job with your fur babies!
I'm trying my best. The cats would all be on wet food if it wasn't for Keena and his sensitive stomach. So I need to keep the dry food as an option for him until I hopefully can get him switched over to Friskies. He's okay with Whole Earth Farms wet food, but not always. I don't think raw food would be a feasible option with 4 cats. My husband already thinks it's crazy we need to alter our lives to accommodate Rex's insulin needs. He said Rex will become a kayaking cat this summer. We will see!
Rex has plaque on one of his molars. The vet has been trying to remove it the last 2 check-ups. Rex does not like that. I am hoping at the next check-up, it will be bigger and easier to remove. That's the only complaint besides diabetes.

He could be bouncing from that sweet little spot of yellow last night. Paws crossed he comes back to sunny numbers again soon. It was great seeing some progress.

And Rex - dog food?! :banghead::arghh::eek: You might want a small note on the Remarks section of the SS saying he got a couple bites of dry dog food, so people will understand any numbers spike you see.
I know! I was like seriously, Rex!! You just chowed down on your dish and cleaned off 2 other cats' dishes after they got their fill. I had already removed Keena's dish. I will add that remark. I hope it didn't impact him.
 
Does Rex like water?
Good question!! LOL I told my husband we need to go slow and see how he does. Every summer, we usually go camping/kayaking for a few days. This summer is up in the air due to our close friend being due with a baby close to our trip dates. Rex loves any kind of affection so I suspect he will be happy being with his people 24/7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top