4/12 TR Jenks AMPS 74 +3 71 +5 80 +9 97 PMPS 85 +3.5 67 +6.5 63 +8.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/11

So Jenks for a one-time reduced dose last night to temper the very active cycles he's had recently. Because of poor head math resulting from sleepless delirium, he got 60% of a dose (2.75U) instead of the intended 50% one (2.25U). We returned to his normal 4.5U dose this morning.

I assumed, probably incorrectly, that letting the depot drain overnight would lead to raised numbers. Thus far, however, that's doesn't appear to be happening. He's still cruising in the greens.

How's this whole thing supposed to work, anyway?

Did the depot drain last night?
How can we tell?
Are these 70s the elevated result?
Should we expect him to rise or fall or stay flat?
If so, when?
If he goes down toward the end of the cycle again, and it's low, what then?
What exactly did we learn from the 2.75U dose last night?
Is his body saying he's fine at that reduced dose? Is 4.5U too much?

I'm just exhausted. I can't be up with him 24 hours a day, but I'd never forgive myself if something happened to him. So I'm only getting like 5 hours sleep a day the last few days. I've really got to get this under control.

The problem is, with Jenks most issues occur overnight, and I have to make dosing decisions during that time & before going to bed to be able to get OH's needle ready for the AM. I need to know that I'm making safe dosing decisions moving forward.

So if there's an informational link explaining the one-time reduced dose thing and all of its specifics, could someone post it so I can keep it handy? I was unable to find anything while searching. Many thanks :)
 
Something sure has changed with Jenks lately, that's for sure! He's looking great!

Sometimes we just hit a dose and everything just all the sudden "clicks" and they start working their way back down the dose ladder. That may be what's going on with Jenks.

Remember, there's more than one way to earn a reduction...staying in normal numbers for 7 days also earns a reduction

I don't remember even seeing a specific link that explains the one time reduced dose thing....it's done for several reason, like the caretaker not being able to monitor or needing to sleep. It just helps to drain the depot some....like driving your car around to burn off some of the gasoline

There's no real way to know what will happen at PMPS time since his pattern seems to really be changing....the reduced dose could eventually catch up and his numbers will start going up again, or he could continue in good numbers and keep earning reductions by either dropping below 50 or staying in normal numbers for 7 days
 
@Chris & China - He's looking great and feeling great! I really hope we're in that magic stage when everything is aligned and we're moving down the ladder.

In the meantime, it just looks like we're in a holding pattern of waiting around to see what he'll do next!

Thanks, as always, for checking in with your thoughts :)
 
Okay, I think we're starting to see the effects of the drain. We're creeping up at +9 where during the last few day's we're been going off the cliff.
 
You never can tell how long the shed, which is still representative of the old dose, will influence the new reduced dose. Everything has to settle in. I don't have any experience with a one-time reduction to "drain" the shed. I think it must be an ECID thing. It's been my experience that when a dose is reduced by the usual amount (.25 of a unit) it takes a while (a few cycles) for the new dose to settle in. If numbers creep up after a few cycles on the new dose, it is probably a failed reduction and you should go back to the previous dose. After you have more experience with how Jenks reacts, you may find it works better to reduce by less than .25 of a unit. But that takes some experimentation, too.
Best of luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
The one time reduction isn't written anywhere. It's a technique we've used with high dose cats. They have large depots, sometimes to the point you can skip a shot and not even notice.

Looks like Jenks is surfing a little higher tonight.
 
The insulin is definitely working. Nearing +4 he's come down a bit to 67.
 
Last edited:
3 hours later and he's only changed by 4 points, well within the meter variance so it is probably safely assumed to just be flat. I gave him some 9% food, and I think I'm actually going to get to go to bed early! OH couldn't sleep, so she can watch him for the remainder of the night.

Back to do it all again tomorrow! Thanks again everyone, seriously, whether you're just here to offer words of support or to lend much-needed advice, we appreciate it more than we can describe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top