4/14 Eleanor AMPS 258 +3 267 +5.5 263 PMPS 268 furshot +2 228 + 5.5 223 +8 188 +9 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-248-blue-lastnight.156146/#post-1651893

Well really, another furshot. In 4 years I had maybe 4 furshots, until now...Eleanor is not liking her shots. I could tell she was going to jump away a split second before she did, but I am so exhausted I did not react in time. I think most of the insulin went in but how do you know. AND on the 6th cycle at 4.75 too.

Took Eleanor to the vet for her second long acting penicillin shot. Her regular vet was not there, which was fine because this was not for an exam, just the injection. I was put in an exam room with her as opposed to her just being taken to the back, so I could get her out of the carrier myself etc, less stress for her. HA! This old fool vet came in and proceeded to cross examine me about her care, shouting his head off, I asked him to speak softly and he smirked. Yes, smirked. It went downhill from there.
Eleanor was scared, I was mad but staying calm for her.
When I went out the receptionist asked what was wrong, did she get an ear full!! She was sympathetic and agreed with a couple things I said. Then when I was waiting for my taxi, another vet who I have dealt with before and who I really like, came over and apologized. All of which was nice since the old fool vet is the owner of the clinic and the other vets father. Lol.
 
Grumpy old men, sounds like that one should have retired already!

With Eleanor being on a larger dose the lantus may be stinging her a little, especially if it's cold. You can try holding the syringe where the dose is for a min before shooting to warm it up for her.
 
Grumpy old men, sounds like that one should have retired already!

With Eleanor being on a larger dose the lantus may be stinging her a little, especially if it's cold. You can try holding the syringe where the dose is for a min before shooting to warm it up for her.

Ohhh, I will try that. Thank you.
 
So sorry Julie and congrats on holding it together for Eleanor. Darn grumpy old men!! Eleanor will recover fine from the FS...but know what it's like to have happen:mad: I also hold the syringe in my fingers for a minute or so especially with Doodles higher dose now.
 
My least favorite vet at the clinic we went to with Punkin was one of the owners - she was really a crab. Made me furious a couple of times. Fortunately the vet we did see was really kind and gentle. Sounds like your vet that is the son is like that too.

I also held punkin's syringe between my fingers for a couple of minutes to warm it up. Seemed like it helped a bit.

She'll recover from the furshot. Take care of yourself and since she's running a little higher tonight, get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top